Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2024, 10:49:50 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Poclbm Flags  (Read 57474 times)
mortalis (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 04, 2011, 03:37:37 PM
 #1

Just thought i'd post it for quick reference.

Options:
  --version             show program's version number and exit
  -h, --help            show this help message and exit
  -u USER, --user=USER  user name
  --pass=PASSWORD       password
  -o HOST, --host=HOST  RPC host (without 'http://')
  -p PORT, --port=PORT  RPC port
  -r RATE, --rate=RATE  hash rate display interval in seconds, default=1
  -f FRAMES, --frames=FRAMES
                        will try to bring single kernel execution to 1/frames
                        seconds, default=30, increase this for less desktop
                        lag
  -d DEVICE, --device=DEVICE
                        use device by id, by default asks for device
  -a ASKRATE, --askrate=ASKRATE
                        how many seconds between getwork requests, default 5,
                        max 10
  -w WORKSIZE, --worksize=WORKSIZE
                        work group size, default is maximum returned by opencl
  -v, --vectors         use vectors
  --verbose             verbose output, suitable for redirection to log file
  --platform=PLATFORM   use platform by id
1713912590
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713912590

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713912590
Reply with quote  #2

1713912590
Report to moderator
"Your bitcoin is secured in a way that is physically impossible for others to access, no matter for what reason, no matter how good the excuse, no matter a majority of miners, no matter what." -- Greg Maxwell
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1713912590
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713912590

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713912590
Reply with quote  #2

1713912590
Report to moderator
1713912590
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713912590

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713912590
Reply with quote  #2

1713912590
Report to moderator
1713912590
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713912590

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713912590
Reply with quote  #2

1713912590
Report to moderator
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 04, 2011, 05:11:05 PM
Last edit: March 05, 2011, 01:53:56 PM by JWU42
 #2

It seems the following is a good combo for most 5xxx and 6xxx series cards when not using the PC
Code:
-v -w128 -f 1

If you are using the PC for nothing too graphics heavy better to bump the f closer to 20 and maybe 30

Code:
-v -w128 -f 25

On my new 6950 there was no appreciable difference between w 64 and w128.  There was a difference on my 5770 where 128 yielded a sizable difference versus 64.

[Tycho]
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
March 04, 2011, 09:55:39 PM
 #3

If you are using the PC for nothing too graphics heavy better to bump the f closer to 20 and maybe 30
Code:
-v -w128 -f 30
30 is the defaulf one.

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks !
ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures (NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
polish-jack
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 05, 2011, 04:38:44 AM
 #4

Thanks for posting this.  I was looking for a list of the flags and had no idea it was as easy as using --help.
dacoinminster
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1031


Rational Exuberance


View Profile WWW
March 14, 2011, 03:31:57 PM
 #5

Thanks mortalis. Just what I was looking for. Small donation sent.

dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1855
Merit: 1016



View Profile
March 16, 2011, 06:14:32 PM
 #6

Why w128, when the card handles w256 & also putting w256 gives around 7-10Mhash/s more?

Please some one explain, coz it confuses me a lot.
Thanks.
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 16, 2011, 06:55:16 PM
 #7

For me the -w128 yields better results than -w 256 (atleast on my 5770).  I saw no difference between -w64/128/256 in my 6950.

dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1855
Merit: 1016



View Profile
March 16, 2011, 07:38:35 PM
 #8

I tried to see what difference in shares.
I ran both for 1 hour to mine deepbit in PPS & i got this.
-w128 = 232 shares.
-w256 = 221 shares.

11 shares less & no stale in both.

seems 128 mine more shares by reducing worksize.
yuancraft
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 10



View Profile
March 17, 2011, 02:07:24 PM
 #9

why i can't play -v (the pocldm just get crash)

my system 5970 @defult  win7 32bit skd 2.1 and cpu used 100%  Sad amd athlon x2 4200
TenthReality
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 17, 2011, 08:40:07 PM
 #10

Why w128, when the card handles w256 & also putting w256 gives around 7-10Mhash/s more?

Please some one explain, coz it confuses me a lot.
Thanks.

Card by card, and even card manufacturer,motherboard and many other factors in play, toss in different OS/Driver versions and it gets rather complex.  What you're setting here is basically the size of data being pushed to/from the card.  Depending on the ton of variables involved, certain settings work better for one reason or another.

There isn't and can never be a a guide where someone can say for sure "this will do better for you", you really just have to fiddle around and find the best config for your setup. 

Perfect example, I have 2 identical HP machines in terms of hardware/OS, the only thing that differs is graphics driver versions.  On one machine, "-w128" does better than "-v -w64" on the other.

Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1001


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
March 19, 2011, 06:15:34 PM
 #11

Im using a 6870 and i am LOVING -v -w 128 -f 300; i get no desktop lag, miner effiecency only went down by 2% and i can now play video games while mining (ofcourse the miner runs slower) but rthdribl went from 27 frames while mining to 129 frames while mining (438fps when not mining)

Running with 239Mh/s; Core:940mhz, Mem:1150

 i plan to buy another 6870 unless the 69xx has SOMETHING aside from power worth getting

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1855
Merit: 1016



View Profile
March 19, 2011, 06:59:38 PM
 #12

Im using a 6870 and i am LOVING -v -w 128 -f 300; i get no desktop lag, miner effiecency only went down by 2% and i can now play video games while mining (ofcourse the miner runs slower) but rthdribl went from 27 frames while mining to 129 frames while mining (438fps when not mining)

Running with 239Mh/s; Core:940mhz, Mem:1150

 i plan to buy another 6870 unless the 69xx has SOMETHING aside from power worth getting

Thats good. I am getting only 279 Mhash/s on my 6870.
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1001


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
March 20, 2011, 04:36:23 PM
 #13

Only? what's your flags and core speed?

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1855
Merit: 1016



View Profile
March 20, 2011, 05:32:38 PM
 #14

poclbm  -v -w128 -f1
core clk is 1038 & mem clk is 370, fan is 100%, temp is 65-68C
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1001


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
March 25, 2011, 06:57:19 PM
 #15

Lawl i dont see why you placed the word Only in there, your getting what appear to be 97-99% efficency But im a noob at this so dont take my info with weight

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
bitjet
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 696
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 26, 2011, 05:55:54 PM
 #16

Quote
poclbm  -v -w128 -f1

these were the optimal settings for me back when I used poclmb

what do you use now?
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1855
Merit: 1016



View Profile
March 26, 2011, 10:45:30 PM
 #17

Quote
poclbm  -v -w128 -f1

these were the optimal settings for me back when I used poclmb

what do you use now?

I use -v -w256 -f1
MonkeyThink
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 0



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 05:34:16 PM
 #18

Having blown my 450W power supply my XFX 750W PSU arrived yesterday.

Have been running the following setup for about 24 hours now:

GUIMiner (poclbm) on Windows Vista; XFX 5830, 900/300, -v -w256 -f1 = 265Mhash

If I let Afterburner handle the fan speed the GPU sits at around 61/62 degrees C, or at 100% fan 57 C.


MonkeyThink
go4gonzo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 141
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
April 29, 2013, 03:17:54 AM
 #19

Does anyone know how to set a backup pool in GUIminer? hope this is the correct thread... 

My current setting (flags) are: -v -w128 -f1 (does it matters if there are spaces i.e. -v -w 128 -f 1 ) I see some people do it like that

Thanks!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!