Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2024, 08:37:59 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Mt Gox Bitcoin Widget for Android released  (Read 6902 times)
boombox (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 09, 2011, 11:09:48 AM
 #1

I have developed a free and simple Android widget that shows the current bitcoin value in US dollars on the MT Gox bitcoin exchange.

Search on Android Market for "Mt Gox Bitcoin Widget" or visit/download from here:
https://market.android.com/details?id=st.brothas.mtgoxwidget

I'm happy to receive feedback, bug reports and Bitcoins: 13o3CTyDC1U3RrWogKxukVqWc7fXsuekmR
1713904679
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713904679

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713904679
Reply with quote  #2

1713904679
Report to moderator
Even in the event that an attacker gains more than 50% of the network's computational power, only transactions sent by the attacker could be reversed or double-spent. The network would not be destroyed.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1713904679
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713904679

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713904679
Reply with quote  #2

1713904679
Report to moderator
1713904679
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713904679

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713904679
Reply with quote  #2

1713904679
Report to moderator
1713904679
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713904679

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713904679
Reply with quote  #2

1713904679
Report to moderator
Cdecker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489
Merit: 504



View Profile WWW
February 09, 2011, 12:10:54 PM
 #2

Great work :-)
Sadly it's not available for my HTC Wildfire (Android 2.2). Would love to port it, is it open source?

Want to see what developers are chatting about? http://bitcoinstats.com/irc/bitcoin-dev/logs/
Bitcoin-OTC Rating
boombox (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 09, 2011, 12:18:36 PM
 #3

That's strange! Isn't it available if you search for it on Android Market in your phone?

It requires Android 1.5 and is accessible in all locations.
Cdecker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489
Merit: 504



View Profile WWW
February 09, 2011, 12:24:47 PM
 #4

Nope, android.com even tells me that it isn't available for my phone Smiley

Want to see what developers are chatting about? http://bitcoinstats.com/irc/bitcoin-dev/logs/
Bitcoin-OTC Rating
Mike Hearn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1128


View Profile
February 09, 2011, 12:36:31 PM
 #5

Works for me on a Nexus S.

Post your manifest here and I'll take a look at why it might not be showing up.
boombox (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 09, 2011, 01:18:00 PM
 #6

Strange! I'll post the manifest here tonight when I get home.

I can also post the .apk so you can install it manually.
Will release it as GPL later on together with .apks for those of you with problems installing it.

Mike: Will look at popping up a graph when tapping on the widget.
Drifter
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 09, 2011, 03:43:34 PM
 #7

Seems to cut half the widget off on my phone, but that might be launcherpros fault. I have the original Droid. I tried resizing but I'd need launcherpro paid version and I'm not doin that. For now I can see the price and most of the coin, so it works.

Thanks, I'll be keeping an eye on this Smiley

boombox (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 09, 2011, 05:28:31 PM
 #8

AndroidManifest.xml:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<manifest xmlns:android="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/android"
      package="st.brothas.mtgoxwidget"
      android:versionCode="1" android:versionName="0.8">

    <uses-permission android:name="android.permission.INTERNET" />

    <application android:icon="@drawable/bc_logo_60" android:label="@string/app_name">

        <receiver android:name=".MtGoxWidgetProvider">
            <meta-data android:name="android.appwidget.provider"
                    android:resource="@xml/appwidget_provider" />
            <intent-filter>
                <action android:name="android.appwidget.action.APPWIDGET_UPDATE" />
            </intent-filter>
        </receiver>

    </application>
   
    <uses-sdk android:minSdkVersion="3" />
</manifest>

Drifter: That's strange. I have declared the size of the widget as 72 x 72 dp, perhaps that could be defined in another way...
On your phone at the bottom where the widget ends (in the middle of the coin), does a new widget start there or is it just empty?
Do other widgets display normally?
Drifter
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 09, 2011, 06:33:44 PM
 #9

Well, the problem is only in landscape I found out, so no big worries. The phone was sitting on the charger while I installed it and I didn't think of changing views. If the coin is moved up a little in the widget it might even fully fit in landscape view too.

Garrett Burgwardt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 256


View Profile
February 09, 2011, 09:42:26 PM
 #10

Seems to cut half the widget off on my phone, but that might be launcherpros fault. I have the original Droid. I tried resizing but I'd need launcherpro paid version and I'm not doin that. For now I can see the price and most of the coin, so it works.

Thanks, I'll be keeping an eye on this Smiley

+1

Pretty much the same as me, Droid 1 and launcher pro cuts off the bottom of the widget in landscape. Other than that it's awesome, watched it tick up over parity today Wink
Mike Hearn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1128


View Profile
February 09, 2011, 10:33:11 PM
 #11

I think the issue may be that the Wildfire has a small screen. Try changing your uses-sdk line to

Code:
    <uses-sdk android:minSdkVersion="3" android:targetSdkVersion="4"/>
boombox (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 10, 2011, 08:33:08 AM
 #12

Ok, I'll try that and see if it works on a Wildfire.
kseistrup
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 566
Merit: 500


Unselfish actions pay back better


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2011, 07:07:14 AM
 #13

How often does it update the exchange rate?


Klaus Alexander Seistrup
boombox (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 12, 2011, 08:58:16 AM
 #14

Currently every 30 minutes.
kseistrup
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 566
Merit: 500


Unselfish actions pay back better


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2011, 09:53:40 AM
 #15

Currently every 30 minutes.
Enhancement request:  Please make the update frequency configurable.

Cheers,

Klaus Alexander Seistrup
boombox (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 12, 2011, 09:55:16 AM
 #16

Sure, I have that in mind as well as using the built in "Accounts & Sync" functionality in order to easily turn off updating if wanted.
kseistrup
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 566
Merit: 500


Unselfish actions pay back better


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2011, 10:16:26 AM
 #17

Sure, I have that in mind as well as using the built in "Accounts & Sync" functionality in order to easily turn off updating if wanted.
Sounds great!  Smiley

Klaus Alexander Seistrup
kseistrup
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 566
Merit: 500


Unselfish actions pay back better


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2011, 11:30:23 AM
 #18

If the widget can't get the current JSON at MtGox (e.g., because network has been shut down at screen blanking), it seems it just sets the three values (which I assume is last, low and high) to $0.000 and sets current time.  IMHO, the widget should keep the previous, valid, values and the previous time.

Cheers,

Klaus Alexander Seistrup
boombox (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 12, 2011, 12:50:24 PM
 #19

Quote
IMHO, the widget should keep the previous, valid, values and the previous time.
Already fixed and will be released in the next version.
nikonoel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0



View Profile
February 16, 2011, 05:04:34 PM
 #20

Great idea, will test it asap. Smiley
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!