Bitcoin Forum
August 01, 2015, 11:50:01 AM *
News: New! Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.11.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Does port 8333 have to be opened?  (Read 8901 times)
ksd5
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile

Ignore
July 12, 2010, 12:48:26 AM
 #1

I was running the "Generate Coins" feature of Bitcoin. I have not opened up port 8333. It says it has 8 connections, and the number of blocks just keeps going up and up. (It's over 50,000). It hasn't generated any coins yet.

Is it working properly, or do I have to open up port 8333?
COINROYALE BITCOIN CASINO GET UP TO 1 BTC FREE Use Code: FORUM100 PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1438429801
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1438429801

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1438429801
Reply with quote  #2

1438429801
Report to moderator
1438429801
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1438429801

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1438429801
Reply with quote  #2

1438429801
Report to moderator
1438429801
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1438429801

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1438429801
Reply with quote  #2

1438429801
Report to moderator
lachesis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile

Ignore
July 12, 2010, 01:08:22 AM
 #2

You do not have to open the port. It really just helps you get better connected to the network. If things are working, you're all good.

Bitcoin Calculator | Scallion | GPG Key | WoT Rating | 17KsWZ7BfXfeP9diDfzRJTuhCapnmgwBB4
TrafficTiger
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile

Ignore
July 12, 2010, 02:50:49 PM
 #3

I'd like to use this feature, but I'm not sure what to set in my Linksys WRT54G router. I think it's the Applications and Gaming section I want, and the following is what I entered. But I don't know about the "Port In" and "Dest. Port" difference. Should they both be 8333 like I have them here?
 
Name: Bitcoin
Port In: 8333
Dest. IP Address: 192.168.1.3
Dest. Port: 8333
Protocol: tcp

TT
SmokeTooMuch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 812


View Profile

Ignore
July 12, 2010, 04:01:13 PM
 #4

yeah, usually you just forward the inbound port to the same destination port.
that only differs if you run a service locally with a certain port, but you want people to connect to the service via another port.
this scenario wont really apply to the normal computer user.

Date Registered: 2009-12-10 | I'm using GPG, pm me for my public key. | Bitcoin on Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin
You like what I'm doing? Why don't you send me a coin: 17Pj8jpUgY6qTaKgiopL5U48zxU4rTrkuB
TrafficTiger
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile

Ignore
July 14, 2010, 01:08:47 PM
 #5

That should be exactly what you need. Do you have more than 8 connections to your client now?

Thanks. I think I got up to 15 connections a couple of days ago when I first installed bitcoin.

TT
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!