Bitcoin Forum
March 28, 2015, 09:22:28 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.10.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Does port 8333 have to be opened?  (Read 8197 times)
ksd5
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile

Ignore
July 12, 2010, 12:48:26 AM
 #1

I was running the "Generate Coins" feature of Bitcoin. I have not opened up port 8333. It says it has 8 connections, and the number of blocks just keeps going up and up. (It's over 50,000). It hasn't generated any coins yet.

Is it working properly, or do I have to open up port 8333?
1427534548
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1427534548

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1427534548
Reply with quote  #2

1427534548
Report to moderator

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1427534548
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1427534548

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1427534548
Reply with quote  #2

1427534548
Report to moderator
lachesis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile

Ignore
July 12, 2010, 01:08:22 AM
 #2

You do not have to open the port. It really just helps you get better connected to the network. If things are working, you're all good.

Bitcoin Calculator | Scallion | GPG Key | WoT Rating | 1AFTbit16o6FNg2msnAbXVR2G3EVTWefmc
Vanity .onion address service - <8 character addresses free!
TrafficTiger
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile

Ignore
July 12, 2010, 02:50:49 PM
 #3

I'd like to use this feature, but I'm not sure what to set in my Linksys WRT54G router. I think it's the Applications and Gaming section I want, and the following is what I entered. But I don't know about the "Port In" and "Dest. Port" difference. Should they both be 8333 like I have them here?
 
Name: Bitcoin
Port In: 8333
Dest. IP Address: 192.168.1.3
Dest. Port: 8333
Protocol: tcp

TT
SmokeTooMuch
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


View Profile

Ignore
July 12, 2010, 04:01:13 PM
 #4

yeah, usually you just forward the inbound port to the same destination port.
that only differs if you run a service locally with a certain port, but you want people to connect to the service via another port.
this scenario wont really apply to the normal computer user.

You like what I'm doing? Why don't you send me a coin: 17Pj8jpUgY6qTaKgiopL5U48zxU4rTrkuB
Bitcoin on Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin
TrafficTiger
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile

Ignore
July 14, 2010, 01:08:47 PM
 #5

That should be exactly what you need. Do you have more than 8 connections to your client now?

Thanks. I think I got up to 15 connections a couple of days ago when I first installed bitcoin.

TT
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!