Bitcoin Forum
April 16, 2014, 10:12:23 AM *
News: ♦♦ A bug in OpenSSL, used by Bitcoin-Qt/Bitcoin Core, could allow your bitcoins to be stolen. Immediately updating Bitcoin Core to 0.9.1 is required in some cases, especially if you're using 0.9.0. Download. More info.
The same bug also affected the forum. Changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Poclbm Flags  (Read 47187 times)
mortalis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile

Ignore
March 04, 2011, 03:37:37 PM
 #1

Just thought i'd post it for quick reference.

Options:
  --version             show program's version number and exit
  -h, --help            show this help message and exit
  -u USER, --user=USER  user name
  --pass=PASSWORD       password
  -o HOST, --host=HOST  RPC host (without 'http://')
  -p PORT, --port=PORT  RPC port
  -r RATE, --rate=RATE  hash rate display interval in seconds, default=1
  -f FRAMES, --frames=FRAMES
                        will try to bring single kernel execution to 1/frames
                        seconds, default=30, increase this for less desktop
                        lag
  -d DEVICE, --device=DEVICE
                        use device by id, by default asks for device
  -a ASKRATE, --askrate=ASKRATE
                        how many seconds between getwork requests, default 5,
                        max 10
  -w WORKSIZE, --worksize=WORKSIZE
                        work group size, default is maximum returned by opencl
  -v, --vectors         use vectors
  --verbose             verbose output, suitable for redirection to log file
  --platform=PLATFORM   use platform by id

Donations: 15426xsoTqmSNSF6Wo64S7nyx5vCALBcT7
1397643143
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397643143

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397643143
Reply with quote  #2

1397643143
Report to moderator
Pre-order Cloud Mining Power. Cheapest price.
2 Ph/s in stock.
INVEST NOW  >

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1397643143
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397643143

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397643143
Reply with quote  #2

1397643143
Report to moderator
JWU42
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile

Ignore
March 04, 2011, 05:11:05 PM
 #2

It seems the following is a good combo for most 5xxx and 6xxx series cards when not using the PC
Code:
-v -w128 -f 1

If you are using the PC for nothing too graphics heavy better to bump the f closer to 20 and maybe 30

Code:
-v -w128 -f 25

On my new 6950 there was no appreciable difference between w 64 and w128.  There was a difference on my 5770 where 128 yielded a sizable difference versus 64.

GPG PubKey | THREEMAOTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
[Tycho]
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW

Ignore
March 04, 2011, 09:55:39 PM
 #3

If you are using the PC for nothing too graphics heavy better to bump the f closer to 20 and maybe 30
Code:
-v -w128 -f 30
30 is the defaulf one.

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks !
ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures (NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
polish-jack
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile

Ignore
March 05, 2011, 04:38:44 AM
 #4

Thanks for posting this.  I was looking for a list of the flags and had no idea it was as easy as using --help.
dacoinminster
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Rational Exuberance


View Profile WWW

Ignore
March 14, 2011, 03:31:57 PM
 #5

Thanks mortalis. Just what I was looking for. Small donation sent.

dishwara
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 1162


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile

Ignore
March 16, 2011, 06:14:32 PM
 #6

Why w128, when the card handles w256 & also putting w256 gives around 7-10Mhash/s more?

Please some one explain, coz it confuses me a lot.
Thanks.
JWU42
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


View Profile

Ignore
March 16, 2011, 06:55:16 PM
 #7

For me the -w128 yields better results than -w 256 (atleast on my 5770).  I saw no difference between -w64/128/256 in my 6950.

GPG PubKey | THREEMAOTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
dishwara
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 1162


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile

Ignore
March 16, 2011, 07:38:35 PM
 #8

I tried to see what difference in shares.
I ran both for 1 hour to mine deepbit in PPS & i got this.
-w128 = 232 shares.
-w256 = 221 shares.

11 shares less & no stale in both.

seems 128 mine more shares by reducing worksize.
yuancraft
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62



View Profile

Ignore
March 17, 2011, 02:07:24 PM
 #9

why i can't play -v (the pocldm just get crash)

my system 5970 @defult  win7 32bit skd 2.1 and cpu used 100%  Sad amd athlon x2 4200
TenthReality
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76


View Profile

Ignore
March 17, 2011, 08:40:07 PM
 #10

Why w128, when the card handles w256 & also putting w256 gives around 7-10Mhash/s more?

Please some one explain, coz it confuses me a lot.
Thanks.

Card by card, and even card manufacturer,motherboard and many other factors in play, toss in different OS/Driver versions and it gets rather complex.  What you're setting here is basically the size of data being pushed to/from the card.  Depending on the ton of variables involved, certain settings work better for one reason or another.

There isn't and can never be a a guide where someone can say for sure "this will do better for you", you really just have to fiddle around and find the best config for your setup. 

Perfect example, I have 2 identical HP machines in terms of hardware/OS, the only thing that differs is graphics driver versions.  On one machine, "-w128" does better than "-v -w64" on the other.

JackRabiit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile

Ignore
March 19, 2011, 06:15:34 PM
 #11

Im using a 6870 and i am LOVING -v -w 128 -f 300; i get no desktop lag, miner effiecency only went down by 2% and i can now play video games while mining (ofcourse the miner runs slower) but rthdribl went from 27 frames while mining to 129 frames while mining (438fps when not mining)

Running with 239Mh/s; Core:940mhz, Mem:1150

 i plan to buy another 6870 unless the 69xx has SOMETHING aside from power worth getting

dishwara
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 1162


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile

Ignore
March 19, 2011, 06:59:38 PM
 #12

Im using a 6870 and i am LOVING -v -w 128 -f 300; i get no desktop lag, miner effiecency only went down by 2% and i can now play video games while mining (ofcourse the miner runs slower) but rthdribl went from 27 frames while mining to 129 frames while mining (438fps when not mining)

Running with 239Mh/s; Core:940mhz, Mem:1150

 i plan to buy another 6870 unless the 69xx has SOMETHING aside from power worth getting

Thats good. I am getting only 279 Mhash/s on my 6870.
JackRabiit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile

Ignore
March 20, 2011, 04:36:23 PM
 #13

Only? what's your flags and core speed?

dishwara
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 1162


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile

Ignore
March 20, 2011, 05:32:38 PM
 #14

poclbm  -v -w128 -f1
core clk is 1038 & mem clk is 370, fan is 100%, temp is 65-68C
JackRabiit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile

Ignore
March 25, 2011, 06:57:19 PM
 #15

Lawl i dont see why you placed the word Only in there, your getting what appear to be 97-99% efficency But im a noob at this so dont take my info with weight

bitjet
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 556


View Profile

Ignore
March 26, 2011, 05:55:54 PM
 #16

Quote
poclbm  -v -w128 -f1

these were the optimal settings for me back when I used poclmb

what do you use now?
dishwara
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 1162


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile

Ignore
March 26, 2011, 10:45:30 PM
 #17

Quote
poclbm  -v -w128 -f1

these were the optimal settings for me back when I used poclmb

what do you use now?

I use -v -w256 -f1
MonkeyThink
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32



View Profile

Ignore
June 28, 2011, 05:34:16 PM
 #18

Having blown my 450W power supply my XFX 750W PSU arrived yesterday.

Have been running the following setup for about 24 hours now:

GUIMiner (poclbm) on Windows Vista; XFX 5830, 900/300, -v -w256 -f1 = 265Mhash

If I let Afterburner handle the fan speed the GPU sits at around 61/62 degrees C, or at 100% fan 57 C.


MonkeyThink

1JywHgZGPNweVEE8V8BXMAAjMa6hc4zAky
go4gonzo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile

Ignore
April 29, 2013, 03:17:54 AM
 #19

Does anyone know how to set a backup pool in GUIminer? hope this is the correct thread... 

My current setting (flags) are: -v -w128 -f1 (does it matters if there are spaces i.e. -v -w 128 -f 1 ) I see some people do it like that

Thanks!

BTC-1Jkso6spDBD8z1Wn8ipwBzc8D237irJCSm
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!