Bitcoin Forum
April 19, 2014, 04:20:58 AM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining with GMA HD?  (Read 5637 times)
JA37
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile

Ignore
March 05, 2011, 11:13:37 AM
 #1

Hi.
I have a laptop with Intel Graphics Media Accelerator HD installed. Is it possible to use this for mining? A cpu-miner on this machine does about 4 Mhash/s. I assume GMA would do better than that.
I've searched the forum but not seen anything about it.

Ponzi me: http://fxnet.bitlex.org/?ref=588
Thanks to the anonymous person who doubled my BTC wealth by sending 0.02 BTC to: 1BSGbFq4G8r3uckpdeQMhP55ScCJwbvNnG
1397881258
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397881258

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397881258
Reply with quote  #2

1397881258
Report to moderator
1397881258
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397881258

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397881258
Reply with quote  #2

1397881258
Report to moderator
1397881258
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397881258

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397881258
Reply with quote  #2

1397881258
Report to moderator

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1397881258
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397881258

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397881258
Reply with quote  #2

1397881258
Report to moderator
Quantumboredom
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile

Ignore
March 05, 2011, 11:16:01 AM
 #2

No Intel graphics cards to date have supported OpenCL, so I don't think that will be possible.
JA37
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile

Ignore
March 05, 2011, 12:27:15 PM
 #3

Too bad, but thanks for a quick reply.

Ponzi me: http://fxnet.bitlex.org/?ref=588
Thanks to the anonymous person who doubled my BTC wealth by sending 0.02 BTC to: 1BSGbFq4G8r3uckpdeQMhP55ScCJwbvNnG
niooron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190


View Profile

Ignore
March 05, 2011, 02:52:43 PM
 #4

The sandy bridge GMA HD 3000 and 2000 have beta support for OpenCL. Someone tested the HD 2000 and posted results in the wiki, but its very slow.

14dxwuQwkQiLbZjJFfciZ26xSGdRU5mKEp
Littleshop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148



View Profile WWW

Ignore
March 05, 2011, 04:12:29 PM
 #5

The sandy bridge GMA HD 3000 and 2000 have beta support for OpenCL. Someone tested the HD 2000 and posted results in the wiki, but its very slow.

Makes sense.  High speed 3d graphics have never been a strong point for Intel.   

Quantumboredom
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile

Ignore
March 05, 2011, 04:32:52 PM
 #6

I had no idea Intel had released (beta) drivers with OpenCL support, and I even try to keep myself informed since I use OpenCL myself. Apparently Intel didn't release said drivers with much fanfare, I can't even find any information about it when searching.

Sorry for the misinformation though. Guess it is possible, but unlikely to be very effective.
khal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 536


NamecoinID: id/khal


View Profile WWW

Ignore
March 05, 2011, 06:35:52 PM
 #7

I found that recently, but only cpu support for now :
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4080.0

NMC: N1KHAL5C1CRzy58NdJwp1tbLze3XrkFxx9 | NamecoinID: id/khal | Register .bit domain
BTC: 1KHAL8bUjnkMRMg9yd2dNrYnJgZGH8Nj6T | My bitcoin Identity: send messages to bitcoin users
Free bitcoins: Surf4Bitcoin.com | Charity Ad: Make a good deed without paying a cent
BOARBEAR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77


View Profile

Ignore
March 05, 2011, 09:54:59 PM
 #8

where can I find the opencl for intel gpu?
Sawzall
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 72


View Profile WWW

Ignore
March 06, 2011, 07:18:06 AM
 #9

Intel driver downloads: http://downloadcenter.intel.com/default.aspx?iid=gg_support-EN_01+home_downloadctr
For Intel graphics, as stated above, the performance is not likely to be good, almost to the point of making it not worth the effort.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!