Bitcoin Forum
May 30, 2015, 08:27:43 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.10.2 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 0/unconfirmed for over a day  (Read 8350 times)
wootwoot
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile

Ignore
March 25, 2011, 05:55:36 PM
 #1

I have a transaction that is showing as unconfirmed and it has been stuck there for 24 hours now. I have received transactions from this person multiple times in the past with no issue. At the bottom of my bitcoin client it says "WARNING: Displayed transactions may not be correct! You may need to upgrade, or other nodes may need to upgrade." I upgraded my client to 0.3.20.2 BETA. Any help would be appreciated.
1433017663
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1433017663

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1433017663
Reply with quote  #2

1433017663
Report to moderator
FREE Bitcoin - Free 10,000 Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1433017663
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1433017663

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1433017663
Reply with quote  #2

1433017663
Report to moderator
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


View Profile
March 25, 2011, 06:17:44 PM
 #2

Try deleting everything in your Bitcoin data directory except wallet.dat (and bitcoin.conf if it exists). Your block database may have been corrupted.

wootwoot
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile

Ignore
March 25, 2011, 06:55:35 PM
 #3

I see all of the transactions but they are all 0/unconfirmed. Will it take time for these to come back?
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


View Profile
March 25, 2011, 07:10:17 PM
 #4

Yes. You need to re-download all blocks, which will take an hour or two. The number you've downloaded is displayed at the bottom of the Bitcoin window, and here is the current number.

wootwoot
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile

Ignore
March 25, 2011, 08:17:53 PM
 #5

It worked! Thank you!
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316



View Profile WWW

Ignore
March 25, 2011, 09:09:10 PM
 #6

Usually also works starting bitcoin as "bitcoin -rescan", no need to delete whole directory except wallet.dat which might be potentially dangerous (something can scare you right before pressing enter and you may suddenly delete everything including  wallet backups Wink ).


theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


View Profile
March 26, 2011, 02:18:51 AM
 #7

Usually also works starting bitcoin as "bitcoin -rescan", no need to delete whole directory except wallet.dat which might be potentially dangerous (something can scare you right before pressing enter and you may suddenly delete everything including  wallet backups Wink ).

I don't think that would have worked in this case. The warning the OP mentioned is caused by a corrupted block database, which would not be fixed with -rescan.

CryptikEnigma
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile WWW

Ignore
March 26, 2011, 02:27:08 AM
 #8

Usually also works starting bitcoin as "bitcoin -rescan", no need to delete whole directory except wallet.dat which might be potentially dangerous (something can scare you right before pressing enter and you may suddenly delete everything including  wallet backups Wink ).

I don't think that would have worked in this case. The warning the OP mentioned is caused by a corrupted block database, which would not be fixed with -rescan.

So what is the correct fix for this just to be clear? I'm having the same problem as wootwoot. Except I don't have the warning:



My Bitcoin Address: 1GG1x1Cxb5cDXZopupg87LKATFQzLgnGnf
-Get Free Bitcoins
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


View Profile
March 26, 2011, 02:40:05 AM
 #9

Those transactions aren't in blocks yet, so no action is required.

CryptikEnigma
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile WWW

Ignore
March 26, 2011, 02:42:57 AM
 #10

Those transactions aren't in blocks yet, so no action is required.

Why did the one under it(on the 25th) get 77 confirmations, when the one above it(on the 24th, the day before) still hasn't been confirmed as of right now?

My Bitcoin Address: 1GG1x1Cxb5cDXZopupg87LKATFQzLgnGnf
-Get Free Bitcoins
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


View Profile
March 26, 2011, 02:48:04 AM
 #11

Why did the one under it(on the 25th) get 77 confirmations, when the one above it(on the 24th, the day before) still hasn't been confirmed as of right now?

The unconfirmed ones are queued for inclusion. They have low priority because they are small in value, large in size, and based on recently-used coins. They will be included eventually.

BlurgyDurg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile

Ignore
May 28, 2011, 11:26:09 PM
 #12

How long does this usually take? I have tried several transfers over the past few days (1-2 coins each, not huge), and they are stuck at 0/unconfirmed. I have tried redownloading the entire block chain twice to no avail.

Are my coins lost? Will this continue forever? If so, bitcoins are essentially useless to me. Why even bother with transactions which might not arrive for a week?
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile

Ignore
May 28, 2011, 11:29:57 PM
 #13

If time is of essence, you may want to include a small fee. This will ensure that your transaction is included in the next block and you receive it in less than 10mins

Edit: it all depends on how complex your coins are and how recently it's been used. For example if you have 2 coins which are made of lots of 0.1s and you just received it, it will take ages to make a trasaction again. On the other hand if you send 1 coin which is whole and you had it for a while, you won't need a fee and it will get delivered within 10 minutes
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile

Ignore
May 28, 2011, 11:35:56 PM
 #14

Are my coins lost? Will this continue forever? If so, bitcoins are essentially useless to me. Why even bother with transactions which might not arrive for a week?
no, they're still there.

consider this: you're sending bitcoins for free, and it costs money for all the nodes to process that transaction, pretty good deal, right? now look at paypal. sure, it's instant, but you have to pay 1-2% + $0.30 fee.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
BlurgyDurg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile

Ignore
May 29, 2011, 01:29:16 AM
 #15

I thought that setting the "Pay Transaction Fee" number would be enough. Is there something else that I need to do? I set it to .02 coins per transaction, figured I'd be generous. Never again.
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile

Ignore
May 29, 2011, 01:45:33 AM
 #16

I thought that setting the "Pay Transaction Fee" number would be enough. Is there something else that I need to do? I set it to .02 coins per transaction, figured I'd be generous. Never again.

Post your transaction IDs.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
billyjoeallen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


Hide your women


View Profile WWW

Ignore
May 29, 2011, 01:53:29 AM
 #17

Try deleting everything in your Bitcoin data directory except wallet.dat (and bitcoin.conf if it exists). Your block database may have been corrupted.

where can I find this bitcoin.conf folder (in winXP)?

insert coin here:
1Ctd7Na8qE7btyueEshAJF5C7ZqFWH11Wc

Open an exchange account at CampBX: options, lowest commissions, and best security
https://campbx.com/register.php?r=0Y7YxohTV0B
BlurgyDurg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile

Ignore
May 29, 2011, 07:39:31 AM
 #18

I thought that setting the "Pay Transaction Fee" number would be enough. Is there something else that I need to do? I set it to .02 coins per transaction, figured I'd be generous. Never again.

Post your transaction IDs.

How can I find them?
organic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


simply complicated


View Profile

Ignore
May 29, 2011, 11:16:48 AM
 #19

Usually also works starting bitcoin as "bitcoin -rescan", no need to delete whole directory except wallet.dat which might be potentially dangerous (something can scare you right before pressing enter and you may suddenly delete everything including  wallet backups Wink ).

in some cases -rescan will not do. i have a .05 transaction in a kind of limbo from the client app point of view. blockchain explorer says it's been processed. -rescan did not help. i will try deleting my local blockchain and get a fresh copy as suggested in this thread earlier (client says unconfirmed but it's in the blockchain for 3 weeks at least). i was prepared to dump the key and import it in another wallet but simply deleting bitcoin service data seems easier
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile

Ignore
May 29, 2011, 03:44:30 PM
 #20

I thought that setting the "Pay Transaction Fee" number would be enough. Is there something else that I need to do? I set it to .02 coins per transaction, figured I'd be generous. Never again.

Post your transaction IDs.

How can I find them?
bitcoind listtransactions

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!