Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2014, 02:22:52 PM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: dual 5970 system vs. dual 6990 system results  (Read 5062 times)
mjsbuddha
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile

Ignore
April 19, 2011, 03:49:19 AM
 #1

I've built two systems. One with two 5970's and one with two 6990's. The systems are identical except for the cards. Thought you guys might be interested in how they compare.

5970 system poclbm /Win7 64 /Catalyst 11.3 /sdk2.1 /mem clock at 300 = 1.2Ghash/s 700 watts being pulled


6990 system poclbm /Win7 64 /Catalyst 11.3 /sdk2.4 /mem clock at 610(lowest I could go stably) = little over 1.2Ghash/s 850 watts being pulled

unless someone has a way to increase my hash rate on the 6990 system I suggest everyone sticks to used 5970's from ebay
1398262972
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398262972

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398262972
Reply with quote  #2

1398262972
Report to moderator
1398262972
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398262972

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398262972
Reply with quote  #2

1398262972
Report to moderator
1398262972
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398262972

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398262972
Reply with quote  #2

1398262972
Report to moderator
Buy a Blade, Get a 5-Chip Free!
Start Mining with GAWMiners.com
24/7 Live Phone & Tech Support
Free Hosting & Electricity for 1 Year!

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1398262972
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398262972

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398262972
Reply with quote  #2

1398262972
Report to moderator
1398262972
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398262972

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398262972
Reply with quote  #2

1398262972
Report to moderator
1398262972
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398262972

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398262972
Reply with quote  #2

1398262972
Report to moderator
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile

Ignore
April 19, 2011, 04:33:08 AM
 #2

Apparantly you can get 743 MHash/s out of a 6990: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison#AMD
mjsbuddha
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile

Ignore
April 19, 2011, 04:38:41 AM
 #3

yeah, i get no where near that. ive tried different drivers and sdk versions. at 830mhz I get about 620 Mhash/s per card and at 880mhz I get about 660 Mhash/s per card and the system draws around 1000 watts.
mrb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008

Audite me. Discite ab meam sapientiam.


View Profile WWW

Ignore
April 19, 2011, 04:49:27 AM
 #4

Yeah, as documented in the wiki, these speeds are only achievable with my hdminer.

I measured power efficiency of the 5970 vs 6990 here, my miner is able to close the perf/Watt gap between the 2 cards to within 5% (compared to your 850/700 = 21%). It is likely that, combined with memory downclocking, one can reduce that gap to 0.

kindle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile

Ignore
April 19, 2011, 08:04:11 AM
 #5

Hi I am not sure if this is actually working. You could try using Msi AB to lower the voltage to 1025 which is what I am running at. It runs cooler and seems less noisy however I dont have a watt meter to check. Could you kindly see if lowering the voltage works? Also could you share how you got your dual 6990 to run, I am having the same rig as you but my dual 6990 cards refuse to mine unless they are xfire together.

mjsbuddha
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile

Ignore
April 19, 2011, 04:07:43 PM
 #6

Hi I am not sure if this is actually working. You could try using Msi AB to lower the voltage to 1025 which is what I am running at. It runs cooler and seems less noisy however I dont have a watt meter to check. Could you kindly see if lowering the voltage works? Also could you share how you got your dual 6990 to run, I am having the same rig as you but my dual 6990 cards refuse to mine unless they are xfire together.

cant get msi AB to change the core voltage for some reason. Ive checked the box that allows it in the settings but the slider is still blank. Also i have xfire enabled.
kindle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile

Ignore
April 19, 2011, 10:58:27 PM
 #7

Did you close and reopen MSI ab? Also use the latest beta version. Btw does ur xfire give you a stable hash rate?

kindle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile

Ignore
April 20, 2011, 02:28:32 AM
 #8

Btw if the lowering of vcore works, maybe you can reevaluate the power draw and see if the hash/s/watt is more efficient.

Cheers!

Littleshop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148



View Profile WWW

Ignore
June 06, 2011, 01:32:24 AM
 #9

Hi I am not sure if this is actually working. You could try using Msi AB to lower the voltage to 1025 which is what I am running at. It runs cooler and seems less noisy however I dont have a watt meter to check. Could you kindly see if lowering the voltage works? Also could you share how you got your dual 6990 to run, I am having the same rig as you but my dual 6990 cards refuse to mine unless they are xfire together.

cant get msi AB to change the core voltage for some reason. Ive checked the box that allows it in the settings but the slider is still blank. Also i have xfire enabled.

You need afterburner 2.2 beta for it to work on the 6990.  I have beta 3 loaded and I can lower my voltage now.  I could not control it either with 2.1 on my 6990

TurdHurdur
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 208


View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2011, 01:43:22 AM
 #10

How's the hash rates on Linux?
Wepp
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2011, 02:45:14 AM
 #11

1.2Ghash/s from a dual 6990 system is low. You should have no problem getting 1.5Ghash/s from it using the latest drivers and SDK.





BTC: 1HkwwvShZWQbW4NZ8qtUBesEQxJ46je2Wa
LTC: LffG9SF9fAxA1MaSUjD2hWaGd8xuTz8H9y
mjsbuddha
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2011, 02:50:36 AM
 #12

this is an old thread from before the miners had BFI_INT. no idea why anyone resurrected it.
Maxxx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2011, 03:01:15 AM
 #13

1.2Ghash/s from a dual 6990 system is low. You should have no problem getting 1.5Ghash/s from it using the latest drivers and SDK.


Yar har, I gots yee beat. How is your cooling and case? It got HOT here today and one GPU hit 90. So I took a dremel tool to the case and fucked it's shit up and removed all sorts of random pieces that didn't need to be there. Here is the result.

I gotta portable air conditioner on the way because I might be a millionaire by the start of Winter, but they'd find my body eventually, well done.






Edit:

I see your fan speed is low, you'd prolly run cooler on all GPUs than mine with it maxed.

Time is money. This means that if you have spare time, you can use it to make money.

Modular, open, and stack-able miner case.
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2011, 06:07:58 AM
 #14

1.2Ghash/s from a dual 6990 system is low. You should have no problem getting 1.5Ghash/s from it using the latest drivers and SDK.






But how many watts would it be pulling then? Probably a lot more.
xen82
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2011, 06:21:22 AM
 #15

not as much as the portable A/C Tongue
WesleyK
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile

Ignore
June 06, 2011, 09:25:09 AM
 #16

I'm doing about 830-840 mhash with my watercooled 6990 @ 975/1250 with 11.80vcore. On air i did 810-820 mhash @950 mhz core speed.
Total power consumption is 540W with a x2 250 and 2gb ram.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!