Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Electrum => Topic started by: kaselit on November 08, 2015, 08:21:00 AM



Title: UPDATE
Post by: kaselit on November 08, 2015, 08:21:00 AM
UPDATE


Title: Re: Electrum Menu mistake?
Post by: ranochigo on November 08, 2015, 08:28:08 AM
Based on google translate, Cambio means change.

When you send a Bitcoin transaction, the amount is spent using inputs, one of the outputs will be to the destination address, transaction fees would be deducted and if there is still Bitcoins left over, the rest would be sent as change to the change address. Electrum uses change address that is different from the origin to increase privacy and reduce the address reuse. These addresses are all generated from your electrum seed.

TX basically means the number of transactions that has been done with it, either through sending or receiving.


Title: Re: Electrum Menu mistake?
Post by: RustyNomad on November 08, 2015, 08:29:44 AM
Not sure what language your Electrum is set to but that looks like the Change addresses.

If you for example have an input of say 1 btc for your transaction but you only want to send 0.5 btc then the other 0.5 btc will be sent to the Change address as the whole 1 btc needs to be spent. So as the name suggests, the 'change' of your transactions will go to those change addresses.

There is a setting in Electrum to set whether it should make use of change addresses or not.

The 'TX' column shows the number of transactions per address. So if you send say 1 btc to address 1One and later send another 0.5btc to the same address then you will see a '2' in that column indicating that there was two transactions on that address.


Title: Re: Electrum Menu mistake?
Post by: RustyNomad on November 08, 2015, 09:17:41 AM
Is possibile to generate more address in Electrum? With the same seed i mean

More addresses will be created as you use the existing addresses. If you want bulk addresses then I guess you will have to make use of the command line/console but I'm not sure what commands to use there.


Title: Re: Electrum Menu mistake?
Post by: shorena on November 08, 2015, 09:29:16 AM
Is possibile to generate more address in Electrum? With the same seed i mean

More addresses will be created as you use the existing addresses. If you want bulk addresses then I guess you will have to make use of the command line/console but I'm not sure what commands to use there.

The below will reveal 50 more addreses from the seed. Caution though, if you skip addresses the restoration from seed might not be working as you expect. When restoring a wallet the software can not know how many addresses to generate. It will keep generating addresses until it finds a number of unused ones. I dont know the exact number. Lets just say its 5. If you skip 5 addresses and use the 6th it will not be restored automatically and you might have forgotten about that when you have to restore from seed in a year or two. Its better to just use the ones shown as more will pop up the more addresses you use anyway.

Code:
for x in range(0, 50): print wallet.create_new_address()