Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Development & Technical Discussion => Topic started by: twmz on June 08, 2011, 12:23:54 AM



Title: How to rename or delete an account via the RPC interface?
Post by: twmz on June 08, 2011, 12:23:54 AM
Is there a way to delete an account (reassigning any addresses it has to the default "" account) or to rename an account?

Example sequence of events that I tried but that failed:

1. I created an address and assign it to a new account named "myacount" (with a typo in it).
2. I use the new address in transactions.
3. I use setaccount to reassign the address to a be in "myaccount" (with the typo fixed)

End result: myaccount exists and has the address from #2 in it.  myacount also still exists and has had a new address assigned to it by step #3.

Is there no way to make "myacount" go away or do I have to let it clutter up the account list forever?

I swear I have done something this before and had it work, but now I can't seem to make an account go away.  I know in the past I had created an address and assigned it to an account, but then decided I didn't want the account and reassigned the address to the "" account, and the unwanted account disappeared.  I don't know what I did differently in the past, but that doesn't work anymore.


Title: Re: How to rename or delete an account via the RPC interface?
Post by: Gavin Andresen on June 08, 2011, 12:29:41 AM
Is there a way to delete an account (reassigning any addresses it has to the default "" account) or to rename an account?
No, there's no way.



Title: Re: How to rename or delete an account via the RPC interface?
Post by: twmz on June 08, 2011, 12:52:13 AM
Is there something conceptually problematic with renaming an account? 

If it is not a bad idea in the first place, I'll look at the code and see if I can figure out how to add it and then submit a pull request.


Title: Re: How to rename or delete an account via the RPC interface?
Post by: elendir on April 20, 2013, 09:14:39 PM
Sorry for reviving this almost 2 years old thread, but I've just run into this. Why can't we rename accounts through JSON-RPC if at the same time we can do it in GUI?