Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Bitcoin Technical Support => Topic started by: mrpetem on June 09, 2011, 07:40:00 AM



Title: Difficulty Installing - Noob
Post by: mrpetem on June 09, 2011, 07:40:00 AM
Hi, I have gone through the very thorough installation guides to joining the pool and getting the rig set up.

I feel I am almost there but I have a problem:

I am able to run the bitcoin server client correctly.
I have the poclbm files extracted and put into a new folder within the directory of bitcoin folder.
I have created the .bat file to run the poclbm pool thing and used my correct username and password to connect with the server, all is set up correctly at the website as well.

However, when I try to run this the screen just flashes up and goes away instantly. It does not appear to be the command prompt because it is a white screen, at least I think so.
I have read about this could be an issue with the driver and not having OpenCL installed corectly....

So I downloaded the GPU caps viewer, which indicates OpenCL is installed.
Also I have just updated my driver for the GPU I have. But still this problem happens.

My system is:

windows 7 64bit,
GPU Nvidia GT240
Intel i5 3.20Ghz

There was at one point an issue with a file being missing, that was the poclbm.py file, but I have since installed that from gimphub. Now it has this screen flash up...

I suspect that it could be a driver issue with my GPU, but I am not sure what to do next.
I have also tried to change the driver=0 to driver=1 in the .bat file.

Any help appreciated..


Title: Re: Difficulty Installing - Noob
Post by: SomeoneWeird on June 09, 2011, 07:44:18 AM
Hi, I have gone through the very thorough installation guides to joining the pool and getting the rig set up.

I feel I am almost there but I have a problem:

I am able to run the bitcoin server client correctly.
I have the poclbm files extracted and put into a new folder within the directory of bitcoin folder.
I have created the .bat file to run the poclbm pool thing and used my correct username and password to connect with the server, all is set up correctly at the website as well.

However, when I try to run this the screen just flashes up and goes away instantly. It does not appear to be the command prompt because it is a white screen, at least I think so.
I have read about this could be an issue with the driver and not having OpenCL installed corectly....

So I downloaded the GPU caps viewer, which indicates OpenCL is installed.
Also I have just updated my driver for the GPU I have. But still this problem happens.

My system is:

windows 7 64bit,
GPU Nvidia GT240
Intel i5 3.20Ghz

There was at one point an issue with a file being missing, that was the poclbm.py file, but I have since installed that from gimphub. Now it has this screen flash up...

I suspect that it could be a driver issue with my GPU, but I am not sure what to do next.
I have also tried to change the driver=0 to driver=1 in the .bat file.

Any help appreciated..

What's in your bat file?


Title: Re: Difficulty Installing - Noob
Post by: mrpetem on June 09, 2011, 07:54:13 AM
Code:
cd C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin\poclbm\ poclbm.exe --host=mining.bitcoin.cz --port=8332 --user=*******.***** --pass=***** --device=0

I have replaced sensitive with stars **

Also I know this is not the exact code as suggested for the example, since I am not using 'start /DC:/' and instead using cd to change directory first.
I have to do this because of where I have installed bitcoin, as I believe spaces in the directory at 'Program Files (x86) causing problems.
I have also tried to seperate the lines and same issue.

Thanks for your help..


Title: Re: Difficulty Installing - Noob
Post by: SomeoneWeird on June 09, 2011, 07:58:51 AM
Code:
cd C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin\poclbm\ poclbm.exe --host=mining.bitcoin.cz --port=8332 --user=*******.***** --pass=***** --device=0

I have replaced sensitive with stars **

Also I know this is not the exact code as suggested for the example, since I am not using 'start /DC:/' and instead using cd to change directory first.
I have to do this because of where I have installed bitcoin, as I believe spaces in the directory at 'Program Files (x86) causing problems.
I have also tried to seperate the lines and same issue.

Thanks for your help..

Try:

Code:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin\poclbm\poclbm.exe" -d0 --host=mining.bitcoin.cz --port=8332 --user=*******.***** --pass=*****


Title: Re: Difficulty Installing - Noob
Post by: mapwow on June 09, 2011, 07:59:37 AM
Code:
cd C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin\poclbm\ poclbm.exe --host=mining.bitcoin.cz --port=8332 --user=*******.***** --pass=***** --device=0

Try this:
Code:
cd "C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin\poclbm\"
poclbm.exe --host=mining.bitcoin.cz --port=8332 --user=*******.***** --pass=***** --device=0
(There's a newline between the cd ... line and the poclbm.exe... line.)


Title: Re: Difficulty Installing - Noob
Post by: mrpetem on June 09, 2011, 08:08:05 AM
Ok I have tried those and others ways around, now the black screen just flash up. So I enter these into cmd direct and get this:

Import Error: No Module Names linecache
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "poclbm.py", line 3 , in <module>
Import Error: no module named pyopencl
....


Title: Re: Difficulty Installing - Noob
Post by: SomeoneWeird on June 09, 2011, 08:23:34 AM
Ok I have tried those and others ways around, now the black screen just flash up. So I enter these into cmd direct and get this:

Import Error: No Module Names linecache
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "poclbm.py", line 3 , in <module>
Import Error: no module named pyopencl
....

You need to install the AMDAPPSDK to get OpenCL support.


Title: Re: Difficulty Installing - Noob
Post by: mrpetem on June 09, 2011, 08:29:32 AM
rite... ok I am doing that now.

However on further looking into it, it also seems that because I have installed it into Program Files the spaces make it so it cannot find the poclbm.exe program...


Title: Re: Difficulty Installing - Noob
Post by: mrpetem on June 09, 2011, 08:48:53 AM
Ok I installed the AMD sdk but still the same problem.
Do you think I should un-install everything and re-install in the c:\ directory rather than program files ?


Title: Re: Difficulty Installing - Noob
Post by: SomeoneWeird on June 09, 2011, 08:52:47 AM
Ok I installed the AMD sdk but still the same problem.
Do you think I should un-install everything and re-install in the c:\ directory rather than program files ?

Do you have teamviewer or something? I can help over that.


Title: Re: Difficulty Installing - Noob
Post by: mrpetem on June 09, 2011, 08:56:31 AM
I have radmin and skype, but I wouldnt want to put you out over it.


Title: Re: Difficulty Installing - Noob
Post by: SomeoneWeird on June 09, 2011, 09:09:45 AM
I have radmin and skype, but I wouldnt want to put you out over it.

Add me on skype: TheNetWasMyIdea


Title: Re: Difficulty Installing - Noob
Post by: mrpetem on June 09, 2011, 10:23:05 AM
Hi sorry I had issue with my computer and antivirus, have just added you now.


Title: Re: Difficulty Installing - Noob
Post by: mrpetem on June 09, 2011, 11:48:02 AM
Nice work someoneweird! Thanks for your help, got it all sorted now. Thank you also mapwow.