Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Bitcoin Technical Support => Topic started by: lakzo on February 08, 2013, 06:59:55 AM



Title: Rescanning with Mac/Terminal
Post by: lakzo on February 08, 2013, 06:59:55 AM
Does anyone know the syntax for the command to rescan the block chain using OSX?  I know its something along the lines of:

open -a bitcoin-qt -rescan

but everytime I try to execute it like above I get this long menu of options.


Title: Re: Rescanning with Mac/Terminal
Post by: Stephen Gornick on February 08, 2013, 01:03:11 PM
Does anyone know the syntax for the command to rescan the block chain using OSX?  I know its something along the lines of:

open -a bitcoin-qt -rescan

but everytime I try to execute it like above I get this long menu of options.

I'm not a Mac user, but it appears you would, from the command window, go to the data directory:
 - http://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Data_directory#Mac


Code:
$ cd ~/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin/
$ ./bitcoin-qt -rescan



Title: Re: Rescanning with Mac/Terminal
Post by: lakzo on February 08, 2013, 03:23:34 PM
Does anyone know the syntax for the command to rescan the block chain using OSX?  I know its something along the lines of:

open -a bitcoin-qt -rescan

but everytime I try to execute it like above I get this long menu of options.

I'm not a Mac user, but it appears you would, from the command window, go to the data directory:
 - http://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Data_directory#Mac


Code:
$ cd ~/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin/
$ ./bitcoin-qt -rescan



Everytime I enter it into terminal it gives me the "no such file directory" message :/


Title: Re: Rescanning with Mac/Terminal
Post by: SAC on February 08, 2013, 08:05:12 PM
Does anyone know the syntax for the command to rescan the block chain using OSX?  I know its something along the lines of:

open -a bitcoin-qt -rescan

but everytime I try to execute it like above I get this long menu of options.

I'm not a Mac user, but it appears you would, from the command window, go to the data directory:
 - http://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Data_directory#Mac


Code:
$ cd ~/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin/
$ ./bitcoin-qt -rescan



Everytime I enter it into terminal it gives me the "no such file directory" message :/

No wonder binaries are always in the application bundle not the support directory.

Code:
/Applications/Bitcoin-Qt.app/Contents/MacOS/Bitcoin-Qt

Give the above a try or put the ~ in front if you put the app in your home /Applications directory.

Edit: And now I look the

Code:
cd ~/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin/


will fail every time because you have not escaped the space like so

Code:
cd ~/Library/Application\ Support/Bitcoin/

that will change you to a directory with a space in it.

Edit2: Unless you enjoy wasting your Time Machine backup space open its preferences and exclude everything in the ~/Library/Application Support/Bitcoin/ except your wallet.dat from being backed up, this saves you gb's of unnecessary backups all the time.


Title: Re: Rescanning with Mac/Terminal
Post by: gweedo on February 08, 2013, 08:37:32 PM
You need to do,
Code:
$ ./Applications/Bitcoin-Qt.app/Contents/MacOS/Bitcoin-Qt -rescan