Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Bitcoin Technical Support => Topic started by: bitcoinperson on March 25, 2013, 01:28:18 PM



Title: Using the bitcoin-qt debug window
Post by: bitcoinperson on March 25, 2013, 01:28:18 PM
I'm using bitcoin-qt v0.8.0-beta for Mac. I'm trying to send bitcoin via the debug window.

I've tried the following where <bitcoinaddress> is the address I'm sending to and <amount> is the amount.

sendtoaddress <bitcoinaddress> <amount>

But I get:

Error: This transaction requires a transaction fee of at least 0.002 because of its amount, complexity, or use of recently received funds! (code -4)

So i type settxfee .002 and try to send again, but I get the same error.

Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong? Thanks.


Title: Re: Using the bitcoin-qt debug window
Post by: bitcoinperson on March 25, 2013, 09:11:09 PM
bump


Title: Re: Using the bitcoin-qt debug window
Post by: Liam W on March 25, 2013, 09:46:12 PM
I'm using bitcoin-qt v0.8.0-beta for Mac. I'm trying to send bitcoin via the debug window.

I've tried the following where <bitcoinaddress> is the address I'm sending to and <amount> is the amount.

sendtoaddress <bitcoinaddress> <amount>

But I get:

Error: This transaction requires a transaction fee of at least 0.002 because of its amount, complexity, or use of recently received funds! (code -4)

So i type settxfee .002 and try to send again, but I get the same error.

Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong? Thanks.

Have you tried:

Code:
settxfee 0.002

and then

Code:
sendtoaddress <bitcoinaddress> <amount>

Make sure it says true when you enter the settxfee command :)


Title: Re: Using the bitcoin-qt debug window
Post by: bitcoinperson on March 25, 2013, 10:01:39 PM
Yeah, I did try that, didn't work. I think I actually figured it out though:

What did work:

Code:
sendtoaddress <bitcoinaddress> 0.17291295 paytxfee .0005

Edit:
Actually I lied. Yes, the transaction went through, but it used the recommended .002 fee, not what I had specified.