Bitcoin Forum

Other => Beginners & Help => Topic started by: IronKulak on June 15, 2011, 06:28:32 AM



Title: How to control Namecoind.exe
Post by: IronKulak on June 15, 2011, 06:28:32 AM
I nothing understand - how to view balance of earned namecoins and send and recieve namecoins with namecoind.exe under windows 7? ???


Title: Re: How to control Namecoind.exe
Post by: samr7 on June 15, 2011, 07:47:10 AM
While namecoind is running, open another window and run 'namecoind help' for a list of commands.

It's really hacky at the moment.


Title: Re: How to control Namecoind.exe
Post by: mollari on June 15, 2011, 07:59:02 AM
To control namecoind, you need to use the command line, there is no GUI yet, AFAIK.
The commands for namecoind are the same as those for the command line Bitcoin client, bitcoind. The full list of commands can be found here: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Original_Bitcoin_client/API_Calls_list (https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Original_Bitcoin_client/API_Calls_list), also see http://dot-bit.org/InstallAndConfigureNamecoin (http://dot-bit.org/InstallAndConfigureNamecoin)

I don't use Windows, so I don't know the exact syntax, but it should work like this:
Open the Command Prompt window, navigate to the folder where you saved namecoind and execute these commands:
Code:
namecoind.exe getbalance
to see your current balance,
Code:
namecoind.exe listreceivedbyaddress 0 true
to see your addresses for receiving namecoins
Code:
namecoind.exe sendtoaddress <namecoinaddress> <amount>
to send coins and
Code:
namecoind.exe help
for a list of commands.

Hope this helps!


Title: Re: How to control Namecoind.exe
Post by: tinman951 on October 11, 2011, 02:14:10 PM
So, I did all of that.  (just starting namecoin).  When it asks for the username is that the same as the username for slush's pool?
What is the deal with buying domains?  Do I need to buy a domain in order to mine name coins as well?
All I see after keeping it on for 2 hours is 0.000 balance.


Title: Re: How to control Namecoind.exe
Post by: Gabi on October 11, 2011, 03:13:57 PM
No need to buy anything.

If you want to mine namecoins you need a miner like guiminer, not the namecoin client (like for mining bitcoins, you don't need the bitcoin client!)

The namecoin client is of course required if you want to have an address to send the namecoins you mine.

As for bitcoin, you need to make sure you downloaded ALL the blocks before checking the balance.


As for domains well, that's WHY namecoins exist, it can be used to get a domain that cannot be taken down, since it exist in the blockchain. So no government, censor, or laws can obscure it. Of course you don't have to use that, just consider namecoins like bitcoin and you are fine.


Title: Re: How to control Namecoind.exe
Post by: tinman951 on October 11, 2011, 06:30:39 PM
Thanks that makes sense.  I have already been mining btc, and just wondered what needed to be done here.  I got all of the blocks updated for name coin so hopefully it will result in some balance when the accounting get implemented.


Title: Re: How to control Namecoind.exe
Post by: r-man on October 11, 2011, 07:31:18 PM
No need to buy anything.

If you want to mine namecoins you need a miner like guiminer, not the namecoin client (like for mining bitcoins, you don't need the bitcoin client!)

The namecoin client is of course required if you want to have an address to send the namecoins you mine.

As for bitcoin, you need to make sure you downloaded ALL the blocks before checking the balance.


As for domains well, that's WHY namecoins exist, it can be used to get a domain that cannot be taken down, since it exist in the blockchain. So no government, censor, or laws can obscure it. Of course you don't have to use that, just consider namecoins like bitcoin and you are fine.

Here's my:
{
    "version" : 32150,
    "balance" : 0.00000000,
    "blocks" : 19200,
    "connections" : 9,
    "proxy" : "",
    "generate" : false,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "difficulty" : 94037.96111403,
    "hashespersec" : 0,
    "testnet" : false,
    "keypoololdest" : 1318360314,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "errors" : ""
}

--it looks fine with blocks, but hashespersec is zero. Why? Is it because Slush pool is set to namecoin and bitcoin mining together? Really don't understand it enough.


Title: Re: How to control Namecoind.exe
Post by: r-man on October 11, 2011, 07:43:33 PM
  I got all of the blocks updated for name coin

How do You realize there are ALL of them updated?


Title: Re: How to control Namecoind.exe
Post by: thirdlight on October 11, 2011, 08:05:38 PM
A couple of things...

You need an updated client. You should see
    "version": 32463
You can get the current client at dot-bit.org - this will let you see blocks higher than 19200.

If you are mining at Slush's pool, you don't actually need the namecoin client, except to receive your namecoin reward when it is distributed. Just use your usual miner in the usual way.

At some point you will need to do
Code:
namecoind.exe getnewaddress
to get an address for your namecoin rewards, but that's about it.


Title: Re: How to control Namecoind.exe
Post by: r-man on October 11, 2011, 08:36:56 PM
A couple of things...

You need an updated client. You should see
    "version": 32463
You can get the current client at dot-bit.org - this will let you see blocks higher than 19200.

If you are mining at Slush's pool, you don't actually need the namecoin client, except to receive your namecoin reward when it is distributed. Just use your usual miner in the usual way.

At some point you will need to do
Code:
namecoind.exe getnewaddress
to get an address for your namecoin rewards, but that's about it.
So I don't need namecoin client to be running. Only if I want to generate a wallet number or do some transactions, right?


Title: Re: How to control Namecoind.exe
Post by: thirdlight on October 11, 2011, 08:45:44 PM
Exactly :)


Title: Re: How to control Namecoind.exe
Post by: r-man on October 11, 2011, 08:47:20 PM
Exactly :)
Bingo! Thx so much!


Title: Re: How to control Namecoind.exe
Post by: tinman951 on October 11, 2011, 10:40:50 PM
  I got all of the blocks updated for name coin

How do You realize there are ALL of them updated?

By checking slush's stats page.  This link is directly to the namecoins https://mining.bitcoin.cz/stats/nmc/
When you use getinfo it says "blocks": and some number, when that number reaches the "current namecoin block" (link above) then you have matched them all.  Then it should start mining for them. although my balance hasn't got above 0.0000000000


Title: Re: How to control Namecoind.exe
Post by: GoldenBoar on October 17, 2011, 04:55:36 PM
I've recently made a namecoin gui for Windows users. I'm hoping to post it when I get out of the newbie section. You can currently get it from reddit (http://www.reddit.com/r/namecoingui/comments/l817u/namecoingui/) though.