Bitcoin Forum

Other => Beginners & Help => Topic started by: zhangweiwu on April 14, 2013, 02:36:50 AM



Title: cgminer keep reporting "GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error"
Post by: zhangweiwu on April 14, 2013, 02:36:50 AM
I am not sure what it means, "invalid nonce"? The word "nonce" suggests this is a message that I can ignore, but perhaps it is a specific term in bitcoin?

Code:
cgminer version 2.11.4 - Started: [2013-04-14 09:20:36]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):218.1M (avg):222.1Mh/s | A:0  R:0  HW:180  U:0.0/m  WU:2.8/m
 ST: 4  SS: 0  NB: 6  LW: 0  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to localhost diff 7.67M without LP as user un
 Block: 00c6aa8eb9fde2e0...  Diff:7.67M  Started: [10:18:18]  Best share: 0
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:                | 215.9M/222.4Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:180 U:0.00/m I: 4
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2013-04-14 10:09:51] GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-04-14 10:10:12] GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-04-14 10:10:24] GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-04-14 10:10:32] GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-04-14 10:10:40] GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-04-14 10:10:46] GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-04-14 10:10:49] New block detected on network
 [2013-04-14 10:11:34] GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-04-14 10:11:42] GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error
...

Using Ubuntu Linux 12.10.



Title: Re: cgminer keep reporting "GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error"
Post by: The Mafia on May 13, 2013, 04:54:15 AM
I'm having the same problem with a pair of 5870 cards.

Did you ever find a resolution?


Title: Re: cgminer keep reporting "GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error"
Post by: Torn on May 18, 2013, 03:06:22 AM
Try adjusting your GPU Engine and or memory speeds. Do it from within CGMiner.. use <G> to adjust GPU and then <C>hange settings.. from there Engine and Memory.. adjust to within recommended settings and let it run for 30 secs before doing more. Once you have it right, you shouldn't get the nonce errors.
Hope this helps.

Torn.


Title: Re: cgminer keep reporting "GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error"
Post by: jmevz on May 18, 2013, 02:42:02 PM
I'm having the same problem with a single 7970 tried installing new drivers etc, no such luck, seems there's no easy fix?


Title: Re: cgminer keep reporting "GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error"
Post by: servicehidden on May 18, 2013, 11:04:33 PM
Try others miners, phoenix help me.


Title: Re: cgminer keep reporting "GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error"
Post by: VezZ on May 18, 2013, 11:30:48 PM
What GPU are you using?
To be able to run at optimal hashrate, CGminer needs to know how many shaders your GPU will be using.


Title: Re: cgminer keep reporting "GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error"
Post by: btcvenezuelanuser on May 18, 2013, 11:41:02 PM
Does it work with other miners?


Title: Re: cgminer keep reporting "GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error"
Post by: ajg007 on May 21, 2013, 02:35:08 PM
Ive had a the same issue.    I'm using reaper with the mining proxy.   Seems to work.

Wanting to try Pheonix but cant figure out how to set it up.

Can someone post some config help?


Title: Re: cgminer keep reporting "GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error"
Post by: jmevz on May 22, 2013, 07:24:12 AM
I've passed the invalid nonce error, now I've got some -5 error or something. I just want to mine litecoin! :(

So Phoenix you think?


Title: Re: cgminer keep reporting "GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error"
Post by: barwizi on May 22, 2013, 08:39:46 AM
post your specs, maybe i can help while i'm still roaming about.


Title: Re: cgminer keep reporting "GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error"
Post by: gorlik on May 22, 2013, 08:41:44 AM
I had thesame under Win 7 when connect by remote control. My all 4 GPU says like that. When connect via teamviewer all is OK.


Title: Re: cgminer keep reporting "GPU0: invalid nonce - HW error"
Post by: Xanthe on May 22, 2013, 09:19:11 AM
I am not sure what it means, "invalid nonce"? The word "nonce" suggests this is a message that I can ignore, but perhaps it is a specific term in bitcoin?

Notice the "HW: 180" on this line of the cgminer output:

Code:
 GPU 0:                | 215.9M/222.4Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:180 U:0.00/m I: 4

This indicates that you're getting quite a lot of hardware errors which is what the "invalid nonce" errors are about. There are three things that generally cause hardware errors:

1. Incorrect thread-concurrency setting. If your thread-concurrency is set too high or too low, hardware errors can result. Solution: Find your GPU here: https://github.com/litecoin-project/litecoin/wiki/Mining-hardware-comparison and adopt a thread-concurrency that is known to work.
2. The GPU is overclocked or undervolted too much. Solution: Reset your card back to default clockspeeds and voltages; use this as a starting point.
3. The GPU is damaged or defective (unlikely). Solution: RMA the card or order a replacement :(

My best guess is that your thread-concurrency is simply set to an incorrect value. Seek out some good cgminer settings for your particular GPU at the github page linked above.

I've passed the invalid nonce error, now I've got some -5 error or something. I just want to mine litecoin!

This is a bit of a shot in the dark but if you're getting the error that I think you might be getting you need to run this command before starting cgminer:

Code:
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100

or, on Linux:

Code:
export GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100

Hopefully you can get up and running as soon as possible, good luck!