Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Mining support => Topic started by: c1010010 on April 18, 2013, 06:16:00 PM



Title: [aticonfig] ERROR - X needs to be running to perform AMD Overdrive(TM) commands
Post by: c1010010 on April 18, 2013, 06:16:00 PM
I've been all over these forums, and it appears others have had similar issue... but all the solutions they get do not appear to work for me.

So, here is the backstory.  I'm using this guide: http://www.distrogeeks.com/install-cgminer-latest-ubuntu/

Running on Ubuntu
Code:
pickaxe@Pickaxe:~$ cat /proc/version
Linux version 3.5.0-17-generic (buildd@roseapple) (gcc version 4.7.2 (Ubuntu/Linaro 4.7.2-2ubuntu1) ) #28-Ubuntu SMP Tue Oct 9 19:32:08 UTC 2012

I have the 7950s installed
Code:
pickaxe@Pickaxe:~$ sudo aticonfig --lsa
* 0. 01:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
  1. 02:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
  2. 05:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series

They appear to be configured correctly.
Code:
pickaxe@Pickaxe:~$ sudo aticonfig --adapter=all --initial
Found fglrx primary device section
Found fglrx primary device section
Found fglrx primary device section
Using /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Saving back-up to /etc/X11/xorg.conf.fglrx-7
pickaxe@Pickaxe:~$

However...
Code:
pickaxe@Pickaxe:~$ export DISPLAY=:0
pickaxe@Pickaxe:~$ xhost +
xhost:  unable to open display ":0"
pickaxe@Pickaxe:~$ sudo aticonfig --adapter=all --odgt
ERROR - X needs to be running to perform AMD Overdrive(TM) commands
pickaxe@Pickaxe:~$

And cgminer does not see any of them.
Code:
pickaxe@Pickaxe:~$ cgminer -n
 [2013-04-18 14:16:18] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                   
 [2013-04-18 14:16:18] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                   
 [2013-04-18 14:16:18] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1016.4)                   
 [2013-04-18 14:16:18] Error -1: Getting Device IDs (num)                   
 [2013-04-18 14:16:18] clDevicesNum returned error, no GPUs usable                   
 [2013-04-18 14:16:18] 0 GPU devices max detected                   
pickaxe@Pickaxe:~$

Where did I go wrong?

Help would be appreciated.



Title: [SOLVED] [aticonfig] ERROR - X needs to be running to perform AMD
Post by: c1010010 on April 18, 2013, 07:06:36 PM
xinit

I didn't have xinit running.
Man, it has been a long day.


Title: Re: [aticonfig] ERROR - X needs to be running to perform AMD Overdrive(TM) commands
Post by: haarts on May 06, 2013, 06:25:00 PM
Well you certainly saved my day. I totally forgot about xinit, now I can at least start cgminer from the command line. Thanks a bunch!


Title: Re: [aticonfig] ERROR - X needs to be running to perform AMD Overdrive(TM) commands
Post by: tonightwefeast on May 06, 2013, 11:07:38 PM
Well you certainly saved my day. I totally forgot about xinit, now I can at least start cgminer from the command line. Thanks a bunch!

What is xinit and how do you launch it?


Title: Re: [aticonfig] ERROR - X needs to be running to perform AMD Overdrive(TM) commands
Post by: haarts on May 07, 2013, 05:37:27 AM
xinit starts X. (startx is a wrapper around xinit)
You start this by going to a command line and type 'xinit'. But I'm guessing this will only work when would do not have X running already. For example you SSH into the box (eg a headless setup).


Title: Re: [aticonfig] ERROR - X needs to be running to perform AMD Overdrive(TM) commands
Post by: Tirapon on May 07, 2013, 09:47:18 AM
Ran into the same problem, but typing xinit into a terminal yielded no joy, just the message:

Fatal server error:
Server is already active for display 0
   If this server is no longer running, remove /tmp/.X0-lock
   and start again.

I'm running Ubuntu 12.04.2 desktop (64 bit)

After a while of struggling with it I've got it to display the temperatures of my GPUs. I did the following:


sudo apt-get install fglrx-updates fglrx-amdcccle-updates fglrx-updates-dev


I then downloaded AMD-APP-SDK and followed step 12) in this guide: https://github.com/kanoi/linux-usb-cgminer/blob/master/linux-usb-cgminer#L117 to enable OpenCL.

Unfortunately Ive now got a problem with the display - the right hand side of the screen wraps back round to the left (but not he other way around) This isn't much of an issue, it just mildly irritating. I have a feeling it can be fixed by manually altering the xorg.conf but I don't wanna mess with it anymore.


Title: Re: [aticonfig] ERROR - X needs to be running to perform AMD Overdrive(TM) commands
Post by: educatedwarrior on July 04, 2013, 04:30:23 PM
Ran into the same problem, but typing xinit into a terminal yielded no joy, just the message:

Fatal server error:
Server is already active for display 0
   If this server is no longer running, remove /tmp/.X0-lock
   and start again.

I'm running Ubuntu 12.04.2 desktop (64 bit)

After a while of struggling with it I've got it to display the temperatures of my GPUs. I did the following:


sudo apt-get install fglrx-updates fglrx-amdcccle-updates fglrx-updates-dev


I then downloaded AMD-APP-SDK and followed step 12) in this guide: https://github.com/kanoi/linux-usb-cgminer/blob/master/linux-usb-cgminer#L117 to enable OpenCL.

Unfortunately Ive now got a problem with the display - the right hand side of the screen wraps back round to the left (but not he other way around) This isn't much of an issue, it just mildly irritating. I have a feeling it can be fixed by manually altering the xorg.conf but I don't wanna mess with it anymore.


I have the same problem and error message.  Anyone fix this yet?


Title: Re: [aticonfig] ERROR - X needs to be running to perform AMD Overdrive(TM) commands
Post by: Lewnatic on January 05, 2014, 11:24:33 AM
Same prob here.

cgminer only runs at 600kh/s on Linux while it was 780kh/s on windows 7. I followed the guide from cryptbadger at:
http://www.cryptobadger.com/2013/04/build-a-litecoin-mining-rig-linux/

Maybe this could be the reason for that?