Bitcoin Forum

Other => Beginners & Help => Topic started by: Yurizhai on April 22, 2013, 02:54:13 AM



Title: Cgminer 7850 Scrypt Config 300+ khash/s?
Post by: Yurizhai on April 22, 2013, 02:54:13 AM
Hello.

I have a 7850 getting about 275 khash/s. I know this card can go up to around 300-330 without overclocking too much, I'm just looking for the settings in cgminer.

This is all I have now:

cgminer.exe --scrypt -o http://feathercoin.is-a-geek.com:8341 -u Name -p pw -I 12

-I set any higher gives HW errors and a lower rate.

If people successfully getting more than 300+ without hardware errors could just copy paste their config that would be awesome.


Title: Re: Cgminer 7850 Scrypt Config 300+ khash/s?
Post by: talvivaara on April 26, 2013, 10:45:32 PM
Hi, here is my recipe for running 370KH/s stable on XFX R7850 Core edition. Providing that you can keep the gpu under 86C, after that these start resulting in errors that exceeds the speed gain percentage. 85C and below my HW-errors and rejected shares put together are under 1%.

THESE CONFIGS INCLUDE OVERCLOCKS NOT SUITABLE FOR MOST CASED COMPUTERS DUE TO HEAT ISSUES (for stock clocks set gpu-engine to 860 and gpu-memclock to 1200 at cgminer.conf)

In your .bat file (that should be located in the same dir as cgminer.exe) you should have:

cgminer.bat
Code:
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
cgminer.exe


And the cgminer.conf (also in the same dir) goes as follows:


cgminer.conf
Code:
{
"pools" : [
        {
                "url" : "stratum+tcp://pool1.com:8080",
                "user" : "worker",
                "pass" : "x"
        },
        {
                "url" : "http://you.should.always.have.backup.pools.eu:6969",
                "user" : "worker",
                "pass" : "x"
        }
]
,
"intensity" : "17",
"vectors" : "1",
"worksize" : "256",
"kernel" : "scrypt",
"lookup-gap" : "2",
"thread-concurrency" : "9984",
"shaders" : "1024",
"gpu-engine" : "0-1100",
"gpu-fan" : "0-70",
"gpu-memclock" : "1300",
"gpu-memdiff" : "0",
"gpu-powertune" : "0",
"gpu-vddc" : "0.000",
"temp-cutoff" : "95",
"temp-overheat" : "87",
"temp-target" : "85",
"api-port" : "4028",
"auto-fan" : true,
"expiry" : "120",
"gpu-dyninterval" : "7",
"gpu-platform" : "0",
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"log" : "5",
"no-pool-disable" : true,
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "60",
"scrypt" : true,
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"shares" : "0",
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}

And a screenshot of two of those cards mining away with these confs:
https://i.imgur.com/bvbgsHW.jpg (https://i.imgur.com/bvbgsHW.jpg)

That miner is on debian 6.0.7 but i have done the same with win7u. I'd recommend using ATI Catalyst 13.1 (haven't tried the brand new 13.4 yet) and AMD SDK 2.7 with that on both operating systems. And AMD ADL 5.0 if you build it from source code yourself. :D

EDIT: Forgot to mention but maybe it's worth pointing out that after these steps cgminer should be started from the .bat-file instead of .exe. Hope this helped!