Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Electrum => Topic started by: jonald_fyookball on May 13, 2017, 01:43:38 PM



Title: trouble installing PyQT4 in windows
Post by: jonald_fyookball on May 13, 2017, 01:43:38 PM
(If you're not a developer, you can safely ignore this thread, you can simply run Electrum as an .exe)

I want to install PyQt4, which is required to run electrum in windows from python.

I get this error:

C:\Users\Owner\Anaconda2>python PyQt4/configure-ng.py
Querying qmake about your Qt installation...
Determining the details of your Qt installation...
Error: Failed to determine the detail of your Qt installation. Try again using
the --verbose flag to see more detail about the problem.


Title: Re: trouble installing PyQT4 in windows
Post by: kolloh on May 13, 2017, 10:32:30 PM
Do you have SIP installed? ( https://www.riverbankcomputing.com/software/sip/download )

This looks to be a prerequisite and if you don't have it installed, it could be causing the issue.


Title: Re: trouble installing PyQT4 in windows
Post by: jonald_fyookball on May 13, 2017, 10:39:23 PM
Do you have SIP installed? ( https://www.riverbankcomputing.com/software/sip/download )

This looks to be a prerequisite and if you don't have it installed, it could be causing the issue.

Yes I do have it. SIP

maybe found a clue though:  I read on a forum it may be 32bit vs 64bit incompatibility... i will check this. thanks for looking!


Title: Re: trouble installing PyQT4 in windows
Post by: jonald_fyookball on May 14, 2017, 03:54:08 AM
I think its installed by i keep getting this when running electrum


C:\Users\Owner\Anaconda2>python Electrum/electrum
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "Electrum/electrum", line 379, in <module>
    d.init_gui(config, plugins)
  File "C:\Users\Owner\Anaconda2\Electrum\lib\daemon.py", line 281, in init_gui
    gui = __import__('electrum_gui.' + gui_name, fromlist=['electrum_gui'])
  File "C:\Users\Owner\Anaconda2\Electrum\gui\qt\__init__.py", line 35, in <module>
    from PyQt4.QtGui import *
ImportError: No module named QtGui