Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Armory => Topic started by: goatpig on August 03, 2017, 06:02:02 AM



Title: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: goatpig on August 03, 2017, 06:02:02 AM
Time to test 0.96.2:

https://github.com/goatpig/BitcoinArmory/releases/tag/v0.96.1.2

Changes:

Quote
v0.96.2
== Added ==
   - Improved DB scan speed (~80% faster) and stability.
   - Reduced DB memory usage (~20% less).
   - Supernode DB mode. This isn't optimized for consumer grade computers, use at your own risk.
   - The MAX button in the Send dialog has been changed to a checkbox, effect is now binding.
     Maximum value will be calculated on any change.
   - You can now create OP_RETURN outputs from the Send dialog. This feature is only available in Expert mode.
   - You can now pick the signer of your choosing in Expert mode.
   - Added BCH on top of the legacy and 0.96 C++ signer.

== Fixed ==
   - Fixed benchmark timers on POSIX systems.
   - Fixed several Linux build configure bugs.
   - Properly update RPC state in GUI on connect/disconnect events.

== Removed ==
   - Removed armoryd from the repository. armoryd was moved to its own repository (https://github.com/goatpig/armoryd)


BCH miner howto: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2070058.0

Happy testing =)


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC1
Post by: skyhawk on August 04, 2017, 09:04:13 AM
Can you elaborate on "Supernode DB mode"? What it does, how to enable and configure it, and a rough explanation of its resource requirements?


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC1
Post by: goatpig on August 04, 2017, 09:18:03 AM
Quote
Can you elaborate on "Supernode DB mode"?

Tracks history for all addresses on chain.

Quote
how to enable and configure it

Just create a DB with --db-type=DB_SUPER

Quote
rough explanation of its resource requirements?

minimum reqs are:
1.5~2x blockchain size of storage space
8+ Cores
1000MB/s read and 300MB/s sequential disk I/O
32GB RAM


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC1
Post by: skyhawk on August 04, 2017, 11:17:46 PM
minimum reqs are:
1.5~2x blockchain size of storage space
8+ Cores
1000MB/s read and 300MB/s sequential disk I/O
32GB RAM

 :o

With some pretty substantial VM re-allocation and re-partitioning, I've got one machine that _mostly_ meets that.

I presume the advantage of this is that you can throw any wallet or any private key at it and not have to wait to re-scan the blockchain to find any txs?


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC1
Post by: Mr.Vice on August 05, 2017, 04:44:33 PM
Bug Report

Subject: ArmoryDB loading issue

Priority level: Normal

Bug description:
ArmoryDB runs in this testing version into a state, where it doesn't load it's own database during startup. Although no exceptions are thrown and it has worked well for the first couple of times. Sometimes there is also a RPC connection loop, that causes Armory to push multiple "connection to bitcoin node established" notifications.

Work-around:
I have downgraded to Armory 0.96.1, started ArmoryQt again, quitted after initialization and upgraded again to Armory 0.96.2-RC1-testing and now Armory can load it's database again.

Armory's dbLog.txt
Code:
Log file opened at 18:10:05.000: C:\Users\***\AppData\Roaming\ArmoryBTC/dbLog.txt
-INFO  - 18:10:05.000: (..\main.cpp:32) Running on 4 threads
-INFO  - 18:10:05.000: (..\main.cpp:33) Ram usage level: 4
-INFO  - 18:10:05.000: (..\BlockUtils.cpp:914) blkfile dir: C:\Users\***\AppData\Roaming\BitcoinCore\blocks
-INFO  - 18:10:05.000: (..\BlockUtils.cpp:915) lmdb dir: C:\Users\***\AppData\Roaming\ArmoryBTC\databases
-INFO  - 18:10:05.000: (..\lmdb_wrapper.cpp:388) Opening databases...
-INFO  - 18:10:05.000: (c:\users\goat\code\armory3\cppforswig\BDM_Server.h:257) Listening on port 54717
-INFO  - 18:10:06.047: (..\BDM_Server.cpp:1114) registered bdv: ddbfb02bcbb53ceb27f0
-INFO  - 18:11:00.187: (..\nodeRPC.cpp:57) RPC connection established
-INFO  - 18:11:00.187: (..\BitcoinP2P.cpp:947) Connected to Bitcoin node
-INFO  - 18:13:46.859: (..\nodeRPC.cpp:415) Bitcoin server stopping
-ERROR - 18:13:57.906: (..\BitcoinP2P.cpp:1037) caught StopBlockingLoop in processDataStackThread
-INFO  - 18:13:57.906: (..\BitcoinP2P.cpp:969) Disconnected from Bitcoin node


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: goatpig on August 06, 2017, 11:29:46 PM
I had to spend a bunch of time on the BCH miner and I have very little time to dedicate to 0.96.2 for the next 2 weeks or so. Keep the bug reports coming, I'll be keeping an eye out for them.


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: Mr.Vice on August 07, 2017, 08:52:34 AM
I had to spend a bunch of time on the BCH miner and I have very little time to dedicate to 0.96.2 for the next 2 weeks or so. Keep the bug reports coming, I'll be keeping an eye out for them.

That's not a problem. You really don't have to hurry, there aren't any major issues so far that I've recognized.


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: shogoo9U on August 08, 2017, 06:23:44 PM
I'm new to Armory, so it's quite likely I'm mistaken, but the Wallet Properties of my OW (as seen from the online box) seem strange to me:
* It shows None in the category Addresses Used, even though there are multiple addresses that have received and sent -- doesn't get more used than that. The addresses in question are shown under Unused Addresses. They do have the correct Address Activity and balance in Address Information, and the total for Addresses Used is plausible.
* Tx Count is shown as 0 for any and all listed addresses, both in Wallet Properties and Address Information.

I could've sworn this used to work (in 0.96.1, at least).


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: goatpig on August 08, 2017, 07:00:55 PM
I'm new to Armory, so it's quite likely I'm mistaken, but the Wallet Properties of my OW (as seen from the online box) seem strange to me:
* It shows None in the category Addresses Used, even though there are multiple addresses that have received and sent -- doesn't get more used than that. The addresses in question are shown under Unused Addresses. They do have the correct Address Activity and balance in Address Information, and the total for Addresses Used is plausible.
* Tx Count is shown as 0 for any and all listed addresses, both in Wallet Properties and Address Information.

I could've sworn this used to work (in 0.96.1, at least).

I cannot reproduce this. Try to rescan your DB.


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: shogoo9U on August 08, 2017, 08:53:15 PM
I cannot reproduce this. Try to rescan your DB.
Yep, that fixed it, thank you. Sorry for the noise.


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: goatpig on August 08, 2017, 09:57:09 PM
I cannot reproduce this. Try to rescan your DB.
Yep, that fixed it, thank you. Sorry for the noise.

I'm seeing it now on another wallet. Were you using P2PKH or P2SH addresses?


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: shogoo9U on August 08, 2017, 10:30:29 PM
I'm seeing it now on another wallet. Were you using P2PKH or P2SH addresses?
P2PKH. I didn't touch the address type defaults.


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC1
Post by: naska21 on August 10, 2017, 08:56:23 AM

Just create a DB with --db-type=DB_SUPER

Quote
rough explanation of its resource requirements?

minimum reqs are:
1.5~2x blockchain size of storage space
8+ Cores
1000MB/s read and 300MB/s sequential disk I/O
32GB RAM

8+ Cores  ??? Are they real cores or do you mean 4 cores with hyper-threading?
Are the requirements lower if I will not implement DB_SUPER mode? I have only 16 RAM  and 4 core wth  hyper-threading.


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: goatpig on August 10, 2017, 10:08:08 AM
That's for supernode only, min req for fullnode is ~1GB RAM and 2c/4t on a HDD. It'll be slow, but it'll work.


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC1
Post by: Mr.Vice on August 18, 2017, 04:35:19 PM
Bug Report

Subject: ArmoryDB loading issue

Priority level: Normal

Bug description:
ArmoryDB runs in this testing version into a state, where it doesn't load it's own database during startup. Although no exceptions are thrown and it has worked well for the first couple of times. Sometimes there is also a RPC connection loop, that causes Armory to push multiple "connection to bitcoin node established" notifications.

Work-around:
I have downgraded to Armory 0.96.1, started ArmoryQt again, quitted after initialization and upgraded again to Armory 0.96.2-RC1-testing and now Armory can load it's database again.

Armory's dbLog.txt
Code:
Log file opened at 18:10:05.000: C:\Users\***\AppData\Roaming\ArmoryBTC/dbLog.txt
-INFO  - 18:10:05.000: (..\main.cpp:32) Running on 4 threads
-INFO  - 18:10:05.000: (..\main.cpp:33) Ram usage level: 4
-INFO  - 18:10:05.000: (..\BlockUtils.cpp:914) blkfile dir: C:\Users\***\AppData\Roaming\BitcoinCore\blocks
-INFO  - 18:10:05.000: (..\BlockUtils.cpp:915) lmdb dir: C:\Users\***\AppData\Roaming\ArmoryBTC\databases
-INFO  - 18:10:05.000: (..\lmdb_wrapper.cpp:388) Opening databases...
-INFO  - 18:10:05.000: (c:\users\goat\code\armory3\cppforswig\BDM_Server.h:257) Listening on port 54717
-INFO  - 18:10:06.047: (..\BDM_Server.cpp:1114) registered bdv: ddbfb02bcbb53ceb27f0
-INFO  - 18:11:00.187: (..\nodeRPC.cpp:57) RPC connection established
-INFO  - 18:11:00.187: (..\BitcoinP2P.cpp:947) Connected to Bitcoin node
-INFO  - 18:13:46.859: (..\nodeRPC.cpp:415) Bitcoin server stopping
-ERROR - 18:13:57.906: (..\BitcoinP2P.cpp:1037) caught StopBlockingLoop in processDataStackThread
-INFO  - 18:13:57.906: (..\BitcoinP2P.cpp:969) Disconnected from Bitcoin node

The above mentioned bug probably isn't a bug. Because when you are too many blocks behind, Armory seems to wait until it is nearly fully synced before it starts to initialize, now. This is good, because it can not happen anymore that Armory is loaded and Bitcoin Core isn't synched, so when you broadcast a transaction it gets rejected. But some kind of label would be nice, that indicates if Armory is waiting for Core.


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: goatpig on August 19, 2017, 01:33:47 AM
The above mentioned bug probably isn't a bug. Because when you are too many blocks behind, Armory seems to wait until it is nearly fully synced before it starts to initialize, now. This is good, because it can not happen anymore that Armory is loaded and Bitcoin Core isn't synched, so when you broadcast a transaction it gets rejected. But some kind of label would be nice, that indicates if Armory is waiting for Core.

If you have the RPC enabled, Armory will check the node status through that before initializing its DB, as you guessed. The progress GUI for that is borked however. I'll go over it at some point.


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: donut on August 20, 2017, 11:40:43 AM
Any chance for a 32-bit Debian-compatible binary?


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: goatpig on August 20, 2017, 01:53:05 PM
Any chance for a 32-bit Debian-compatible binary?

Build it yourself, fairly easy.


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: Searinox on August 20, 2017, 02:02:51 PM
Best stability and cpu usage so far. Used to have rare random crashes every few days. And even rarer, sometimes the UI'd lock up in the background eating up a full core. Never got why it was happening but it's no longer happening.

OS: Windows 10 Pro x64 Creators Update + all updates.


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: RoadStress on August 21, 2017, 09:39:08 PM
Is this the only version working with BCH chain?


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: achow101 on August 21, 2017, 09:42:05 PM
Is this the only version working with BCH chain?
Yes.


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: RoadStress on August 21, 2017, 09:48:33 PM
Is this the only version working with BCH chain?
Yes.

Thank you!


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: Mr.Vice on August 24, 2017, 09:29:35 AM
The new segwit-script address type P2SH-P2WPKH is still grayed-out in the settings dialoge window. Is this hardcoded or does ArmoryQt check for segwit activation?


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: goatpig on August 24, 2017, 11:45:05 AM
The new segwit-script address type P2SH-P2WPKH is still grayed-out in the settings dialoge window. Is this hardcoded or does ArmoryQt check for segwit activation?

Hardcoded atm, you can only use it on the testnet. Will enable in 0.96.2.


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: naska21 on August 27, 2017, 02:04:32 PM
Best stability and cpu usage so far. Used to have rare random crashes every few days. And even rarer, sometimes the UI'd lock up in the background eating up a full core. Never got why it was happening but it's no longer happening.

OS: Windows 10 Pro x64 Creators Update + all updates.

Couldn't agree more. 0.96.1.x had frozen some times while closing but the latest 0.96.2 works as it should be.


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: mondychan on August 27, 2017, 04:38:24 PM
The new segwit-script address type P2SH-P2WPKH is still grayed-out in the settings dialoge window. Is this hardcoded or does ArmoryQt check for segwit activation?

Hardcoded atm, you can only use it on the testnet. Will enable in 0.96.2.

any ETA? days/weeks/months? thanks a lot


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: goatpig on August 27, 2017, 05:27:28 PM
Doing the builds atm.


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: mondychan on August 27, 2017, 07:43:31 PM
Doing the builds atm.
awesome thx! Armory is (at least for me) most trusted wallet for years! Always on top of The game!


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: donut on August 29, 2017, 04:32:20 AM
How are the new builds coming? Itching to get started using SegWit, and compiling for windows is a pain.


Title: Re: 0.96.2 RC2
Post by: goatpig on August 29, 2017, 04:47:02 AM
How are the new builds coming? Itching to get started using SegWit, and compiling for windows is a pain.

Sometimes today maybe. Creating offline packages is a pain.