Bitcoin Forum

Alternate cryptocurrencies => Altcoin Discussion => Topic started by: peonminer on May 20, 2013, 08:13:36 PM



Title: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: peonminer on May 20, 2013, 08:13:36 PM
CGMiner 2.8.2
AMD 12.8
SDK 2.7

Seasonic Gold 80+ 1250W Modular
Corsair 4GB DDR 3 1666MHZ
ASUS M5A97 R2.0
500 GB Laptop Drive (soon to be replaced by a 60GB SSD OCZ)
Sempron 145 O/C'd to 3.6 GHz stable. MOBO has built in auto O/C features.
MICRO USB EDIMAX WIFI N

.bat looks like

setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
cgminer --scrypt -o http://binarycoins.eu:9333/ -u p -p 1 -I 13 --shaders 1792 -g 1 --gpu-threads 2 --thread-concurrency 7168 --lookup-gap 2 --worksize 256

What am I missing? I can only pull 300KH/s per card. With -I 20 I can pull 670KH/s per card with all HW errors.

I just did a fresh install of windows, turned auto updates off. If that makes any difference. I am having trouble understanding --shaders XXXX and --thread-concurrency XXXX

Cgminer let me set the TC to 25088 before I started giving mem value too high for cgminer. Had to drop it back to 7168. When I changed the value my kh/s went unaffected. Am I missing a command somewhere? Is --aggression the same as intensity? Any other commands I should try? This is mind boggling since I've ran them @600khs each no problem. I was a retard and didn't save my .bat compilation before formatting. Should I try different drivers? Different version of cgminer?

Changed settings again, same results. :/ Why is CGMiner going GIMPY on me?

http://s14.postimg.org/7s0rcze0h/IMG_20130520_145654.jpg

Suggestions please.

I can't get these cards to act right!  :'(


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: phrozenspite on May 20, 2013, 09:26:27 PM
try playing around with thread concurrency(the shaders parameter isn't necessary) and it's possible 4 gigs of ram may not be enough for 3 cards


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: peonminer on May 20, 2013, 09:34:06 PM
I thought the amount of ram was 1GB per card with CGMiner? Reaper has a bug that requires equal MB RAM to GPU RAM, correct? Well, I have an extra stick of 4GB I can try when I get home tonight. Although, my RAM monitor only shows 29% used when CGMiner is running....

Do I need to add -aggression XX argument to .bat? Or anything for that matter?


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: LostDutchman on May 20, 2013, 09:35:11 PM
try playing around with thread concurrency(the shaders parameter isn't necessary) and it's possible 4 gigs of ram may not be enough for 3 cards

I use 2gigs per card.

Works well for me.


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: peonminer on May 20, 2013, 09:44:18 PM
try playing around with thread concurrency(the shaders parameter isn't necessary) and it's possible 4 gigs of ram may not be enough for 3 cards

I use 2gigs per card.

Works well for me.

Does anyone know the maximum thread concurrency CGMiner will allow? Should I follow the rule of 'Shaders times X = Set Thread Concurrency Value' ?

Also, wouldn't my RAM usage show 100% if CGMiner was using all of it trying to run the 3 cards?


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: phrozenspite on May 21, 2013, 10:28:10 AM
that is if the ram is populated, i think with GPUs the OS usually reserves addressable space.  Also i forgot to ask, are you using a 32bit or 64 bit os? because a 32 bit one limits you at roughly 3.5 gigs, which includes GPUs, and any background programs/os


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: erk on May 21, 2013, 10:32:36 AM
You can tell when people haven't read the cgminer readme.

thread concurrency overrides shaders no point having both in the startup script.

try

Code:
@echo on
ECHO "cgminer miner startup"
ECHO.
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1

cgminer.exe --scrypt    --auto-fan --gpu-powertune 20 -w 256 -g 2 -I 13 --thread-concurrency 8192 --lookup-gap 2 --queue 0

Keep increasing I from 13 until you start getting HW errors. Don't forget to delete .bin files. I get about 615KH/s from a Gigabyte 7950 with those settings.





Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: Rubberduckie on May 21, 2013, 10:36:21 AM
CGMiner 2.8.2
AMD 12.8
SDK 2.7

Seasonic Gold 80+ 1250W Modular
Corsair 4GB DDR 3 1666MHZ
ASUS M5A97 R2.0
500 GB Laptop Drive (soon to be replaced by a 60GB SSD OCZ)
Sempron 145 O/C'd to 3.6 GHz stable. MOBO has built in auto O/C features.
MICRO USB EDIMAX WIFI N

.bat looks like

setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
cgminer --scrypt -o http://binarycoins.eu:9333/ -u p -p 1 -I 13 --shaders 1792 -g 1 --gpu-threads 2 --thread-concurrency 7168 --lookup-gap 2 --worksize 256

What am I missing? I can only pull 300KH/s per card. With -I 20 I can pull 670KH/s per card with all HW errors.

I just did a fresh install of windows, turned auto updates off. If that makes any difference. I am having trouble understanding --shaders XXXX and --thread-concurrency XXXX

Cgminer let me set the TC to 25088 before I started giving mem value too high for cgminer. Had to drop it back to 7168. When I changed the value my kh/s went unaffected. Am I missing a command somewhere? Is --aggression the same as intensity? Any other commands I should try? This is mind boggling since I've ran them @600khs each no problem. I was a retard and didn't save my .bat compilation before formatting. Should I try different drivers? Different version of cgminer?

Changed settings again, same results. :/ Why is CGMiner going GIMPY on me?

http://s14.postimg.org/7s0rcze0h/IMG_20130520_145654.jpg

Suggestions please.

I can't get these cards to act right!  :'(

With my 7950's  I leave thread concurrency up to CGMiner, shaders @ 1792 is good though

delete your CGMiner bin along with " --thread-concurrency 7168" in your Bat.file and start CGMiner again


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: stulowe on May 21, 2013, 10:40:12 AM
Thread concurrency 21792 works best for me on my sapphire 7950 with gpu threads at 1. Intensity 18 holds stable.


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: erk on May 21, 2013, 10:45:57 AM
Thread concurrency 21792 works best for me on my sapphire 7950 with gpu threads at 1. Intensity 18 holds stable.
Depending on your system cgminer may not start at high thread concurrency, there are a lot of variables, what works on one system doesn't on another.


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: jerbroch on May 21, 2013, 10:51:48 AM
CGMiner 2.8.2
AMD 12.8
SDK 2.7

Seasonic Gold 80+ 1250W Modular
Corsair 4GB DDR 3 1666MHZ
ASUS M5A97 R2.0
500 GB Laptop Drive (soon to be replaced by a 60GB SSD OCZ)
Sempron 145 O/C'd to 3.6 GHz stable. MOBO has built in auto O/C features.
MICRO USB EDIMAX WIFI N

.bat looks like

setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
cgminer --scrypt -o http://binarycoins.eu:9333/ -u p -p 1 -I 13 --shaders 1792 -g 1 --gpu-threads 2 --thread-concurrency 7168 --lookup-gap 2 --worksize 256

What am I missing? I can only pull 300KH/s per card. With -I 20 I can pull 670KH/s per card with all HW errors.

I just did a fresh install of windows, turned auto updates off. If that makes any difference. I am having trouble understanding --shaders XXXX and --thread-concurrency XXXX

Cgminer let me set the TC to 25088 before I started giving mem value too high for cgminer. Had to drop it back to 7168. When I changed the value my kh/s went unaffected. Am I missing a command somewhere? Is --aggression the same as intensity? Any other commands I should try? This is mind boggling since I've ran them @600khs each no problem. I was a retard and didn't save my .bat compilation before formatting. Should I try different drivers? Different version of cgminer?

Changed settings again, same results. :/ Why is CGMiner going GIMPY on me?

http://s14.postimg.org/7s0rcze0h/IMG_20130520_145654.jpg

Suggestions please.

I can't get these cards to act right!  :'(

I think you need to put -g 2 instead of -g 1


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: erk on May 21, 2013, 10:59:46 AM

I think you need to put -g 2 instead of -g 1
only if you run thread concurrency down at 8192.



Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: Hydroponica on May 21, 2013, 11:02:47 AM
Try a higher intensity. I have my I at 18, for my 7950, and I get around 550 KH/s, with no overclock


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: FredDag on May 21, 2013, 11:04:34 AM
Hi OP.

I wrote a detailed post on how I fixed the same problem on my setup which is almost the same as yours, only diff is I have 2 7950s & *Mb ram.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=205675.msg2152164#msg2152164

I'm not sure which of the changes I made fixed the problem, but what I would try with your setup is this...

Open a new CMD window and run the setx commands. then close that window, you don't need to run that again. The setx commands do not affect the windows they are run in, only windows opened later.
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/57485-45-setting-environment-variables

setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1

Move the .bat settings to a cgminer.conf file. The one I used is in my post I linked to. Try that.
You will need to specify 3 GPU values where I have used 2.
"thread-concurrency" : "14336,14336,14336"

Reboot & Start CGMiner

You could also try using CGMiner 3.1

Let us know how it goes.


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: digitalindustry on May 21, 2013, 11:37:28 AM
Hi OP.

I wrote a detailed post on how I fixed the same problem on my setup which is almost the same as yours, only diff is I have 2 7950s & *Mb ram.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=205675.msg2152164#msg2152164

I'm not sure which of the changes I made fixed the problem, but what I would try with your setup is this...

Open a new CMD window and run the setx commands. then close that window, you don't need to run that again. The setx commands do not affect the windows they are run in, only windows opened later.
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/57485-45-setting-environment-variables

setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1

Move the .bat settings to a cgminer.conf file. The one I used is in my post I linked to. Try that.
You will need to specify 3 GPU values where I have used 2.
"thread-concurrency" : "14336,14336,14336"

Reboot & Start CGMiner

You could also try using CGMiner 3.1

Let us know how it goes.

thread shoud be a 64 multiple of the memory bit memory bus in the 7xxx series 384-bit   384 x 64 = 24576 , but i use 24000 or 21792.

I run 4GB with 4 cards 7950 - no problem I had 8GB pulled 4GB ZERO change .

i'd set you GPU engine to 1060 - then put your I - 19, see what you get?

also google "worksize" and "lookup gap" you should make a conf file.

all cards but the display run about 620k# with 74 Deg - display about 500.


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: nightminer on May 21, 2013, 01:03:06 PM


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=117221.0 - Consolidated Litecoin Mining Guide for 5xxx, 6xxx, and 7xxx GPUs

Most importantly


7xxx series cards
Use reaper (http://wiki.solidcoin.info/wiki/Reaper) or cgminer versions 2.11.3 and up (see update below).  Set thread_concurrency to somewhere slightly below 64 * bus_width_of_card_in_bits.  So, for a 7950, that would be 64 * 384 = 24576; ideal values are 21712 or 24000.  Find your bus width here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Southern_Islands_(GPU_family) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Southern_Islands_(GPU_family))

To find the optimum thread_concurrency for your card, you will need to search above and below this estimate ideal value and see what is fastest.




Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: peonminer on May 21, 2013, 04:32:20 PM
Thank you for all of the suggestions. I will try them one by one and report back.


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: Aggrophobia on May 21, 2013, 04:39:26 PM
-g 1 --gpu-threads 2

one or two but not both ;)


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: peonminer on May 21, 2013, 05:14:28 PM
Final stats that worked are as follows:

Delete all .bin files associated with preferred version of CGMiner. I chose 3.1.1 due to recommendation and most up to date version.

Clear CGMiner .bat file.

add

cgminer --scrypt -o http://yourpooladdresshere.com:PORT# -u Miner.X -p XXX -I 7

Results were a new .bin file. The number after TC was 22400.

New .bat file.

add

cgminer --scrypt -o http://yourpooladdresshere.com:PORT# -u Miner.X -p XXX -I 13 -g 1 --thread-concurrency 22400

Results were an accepted connection, and correct hash rates in relation to O/C and -I XX command in .bat file.

Thank you for everyone's help. I'm sure this thread will help many more prospectors.  ;)




Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: ohiwastedmylif on May 21, 2013, 05:49:45 PM
I think some cards are just not as good as others.

I have the Sapphire 3gb 7950 and the most I can get regularly is 560Kh/s at i-18. People always claim to get over 600 but I have yet to get over 600 using countless settings. I think it is a matter of silicon lottery.


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: stevenlam on May 21, 2013, 06:55:57 PM
Anyone need help pm me the teamview ID.


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: nightminer on May 21, 2013, 08:33:25 PM

cgminer --scrypt -o http://yourpooladdresshere.com:PORT# -u Miner.X -p XXX -I 13 -g 1 --thread-concurrency 22400


Did you get high enough hash rates on -I 13? I have to run at -I 18 to get 450Kh on a 7950


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: peonminer on May 21, 2013, 09:17:59 PM
I think some cards are just not as good as others.

I have the Sapphire 3gb 7950 and the most I can get regularly is 560Kh/s at i-18. People always claim to get over 600 but I have yet to get over 600 using countless settings. I think it is a matter of silicon lottery.

With adequate cooling, i am able to achieve 715KH/s on the outside card.  The inside card is currently not on a riser, and doesn't have room to ventilate due to the card on the outer most 16x PCI-E slot. So I have it at -I 12 whilst the outer card is at -I 20. Both run flawlessly with out a single HW error. Thanks again for the tips everyone. Once I have all four cards mounted with risers/powered risers for both 16x, I will have each card running at 715KH/s+ for a total hashing power of  2,860KH/s.

No, my cards are not 7970s! :D They are 7950s. I have no idea why I'm able to achieve such an amazing hash rate. The only thing I can think would be the fact that I am using 12.8 AMD drivers and 2.7 SDK drivers.


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: SoulSlayerPT on May 29, 2013, 11:24:38 AM
I think some cards are just not as good as others.

I have the Sapphire 3gb 7950 and the most I can get regularly is 560Kh/s at i-18. People always claim to get over 600 but I have yet to get over 600 using countless settings. I think it is a matter of silicon lottery.

With adequate cooling, i am able to achieve 715KH/s on the outside card.  The inside card is currently not on a riser, and doesn't have room to ventilate due to the card on the outer most 16x PCI-E slot. So I have it at -I 12 whilst the outer card is at -I 20. Both run flawlessly with out a single HW error. Thanks again for the tips everyone. Once I have all four cards mounted with risers/powered risers for both 16x, I will have each card running at 715KH/s+ for a total hashing power of  2,860KH/s.

No, my cards are not 7970s! :D They are 7950s. I have no idea why I'm able to achieve such an amazing hash rate. The only thing I can think would be the fact that I am using 12.8 AMD drivers and 2.7 SDK drivers.

What is your cgminer settings for the 715KH/s card?


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: peonminer on May 29, 2013, 10:56:43 PM
I think some cards are just not as good as others.

I have the Sapphire 3gb 7950 and the most I can get regularly is 560Kh/s at i-18. People always claim to get over 600 but I have yet to get over 600 using countless settings. I think it is a matter of silicon lottery.

With adequate cooling, i am able to achieve 715KH/s on the outside card.  The inside card is currently not on a riser, and doesn't have room to ventilate due to the card on the outer most 16x PCI-E slot. So I have it at -I 12 whilst the outer card is at -I 20. Both run flawlessly with out a single HW error. Thanks again for the tips everyone. Once I have all four cards mounted with risers/powered risers for both 16x, I will have each card running at 715KH/s+ for a total hashing power of  2,860KH/s.

No, my cards are not 7970s! :D They are 7950s. I have no idea why I'm able to achieve such an amazing hash rate. The only thing I can think would be the fact that I am using 12.8 AMD drivers and 2.7 SDK drivers.

What is your cgminer settings for the 715KH/s card?
Delete all .bin files associated with preferred version of CGMiner. I chose 3.1.1 due to recommendation and most up to date version.

Clear CGMiner .bat file.

add

cgminer --scrypt -o http://yourpooladdresshere.com:PORT# -u Miner.X -p XXX -I 7

Results are a new .bin file. The number after TC was 22400.

New .bat file.

add

cgminer --scrypt -o http://yourpooladdresshere.com:PORT# -u Miner.X -p XXX -I 20 -g 1 --thread-concurrency 22400

should get a steady rate. This is what i'm pulling at the moment.

https://imageshack.us/a/img41/5884/optscreenshot2013052917.jpg


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: bitterdog on May 29, 2013, 10:58:55 PM
try this

setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
cgminer --scrypt -o http://binarycoins.eu:9333/ -u p -p 1 -I 13 --thread-concurrency 8192 --gpu-engine 1170 --gpu-memclock 1570 -w 256 -g 2 --lookup-gap 2 --expiry 5 --queue 0


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: ohiwastedmylif on May 29, 2013, 11:01:27 PM
Got mine up to 650-670 very stable.


color 40
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
cgminer.exe -o --scrypt --auto-fan --temp-target 69 --gpu-engine 1125 --gpu-memclock 1600 --gpu-powertune 5 --intensity 20 -g 1 --thread-concurrency 21712 -w 256


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: efx on May 29, 2013, 11:15:27 PM
Although there are config variations due to bios, binning and PCB construction, these are pretty hard set rules with GCN:

 With 2 (or 4 ) threads, you cannot run above intensity 13 without hw errors. If you set very high thread concurrency (optimal value is definitely highly variable) with 2/4 threads and 13 intensity, you can sometimes get decent hashrates.

Alternatively, run a single thread at high aggression and tune the thread concurrency through experimentation. Start somewhere around 240000, move by multiples of 1024/512 etc until you hone in.  


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: peonminer on May 29, 2013, 11:41:39 PM
Although there are config variations due to bios, binning and PCB construction, these are pretty hard set rules with GCN:

 With 2 (or 4 ) threads, you cannot run above intensity 13 without hw errors. If you set very high thread concurrency (optimal value is definitely highly variable) with 2/4 threads and 13 intensity, you can sometimes get decent hashrates.

Alternatively, run a single thread at high aggression and tune the thread concurrency through experimentation. Start somewhere around 240000, move by multiples of 1024/512 etc until you hone in. 
240,000??


Title: Re: CGMiner 7950 StartMining.bat - What am I missing? Only getting 300KH/s scrypt
Post by: zackclark70 on May 29, 2013, 11:47:28 PM
I think some cards are just not as good as others.

I have the Sapphire 3gb 7950 and the most I can get regularly is 560Kh/s at i-18. People always claim to get over 600 but I have yet to get over 600 using countless settings. I think it is a matter of silicon lottery.

1050 core 1250 ram 1.060v should get you 630+