Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Mining software (miners) => Topic started by: kingcoin on May 21, 2013, 05:55:30 PM



Title: Mining proxy?
Post by: kingcoin on May 21, 2013, 05:55:30 PM
Are there any simple to set up mining proxy's available?

Is it possible to use a plain web proxy like squid for mining?


Title: Re: Mining proxy?
Post by: 01BTC10 on May 21, 2013, 05:57:28 PM
https://github.com/cdhowie/Bitcoin-mining-proxy


Title: Re: Mining proxy?
Post by: kingcoin on May 21, 2013, 06:57:07 PM
https://github.com/cdhowie/Bitcoin-mining-proxy

That's what I had in mind when I said "simple to set up". Full blown Apache, MySQL and PHP is not exactly simple to set up. I was hoping for something more light weight. However, if that's the only miner proxy available then I just have to give it a try...



Title: Re: Mining proxy?
Post by: kramble on May 21, 2013, 07:28:08 PM
Hmm, from the readme at https://github.com/cdhowie/Bitcoin-mining-proxy  ...

Quote
Requirements

Apache (2.2 or newer recommended).
PHP 5.3 or newer.
MySQL (5.1 or newer recommended for best performance).

Instead I'd suggest https://github.com/slush0/stratum-mining-proxy which just needs python-dev on linux (and would appear to run stand-alone on windows according to the readme).



Title: Re: Mining proxy?
Post by: kingcoin on May 21, 2013, 08:41:37 PM
Hmm, from the readme at https://github.com/cdhowie/Bitcoin-mining-proxy  ...

Quote
Requirements

Apache (2.2 or newer recommended).
PHP 5.3 or newer.
MySQL (5.1 or newer recommended for best performance).

Instead I'd suggest https://github.com/slush0/stratum-mining-proxy which just needs python-dev on linux (and would appear to run stand-alone on windows according to the readme).



Thanks. I'll look into that, even though "python-dev" is probably some Ubuntu or other distro related package. Hopefully it should be possible to install the individual packages locally rather than changing the global installation...


Title: Re: Mining proxy?
Post by: 01BTC10 on May 21, 2013, 08:44:13 PM
https://github.com/cdhowie/Bitcoin-mining-proxy

That's what I had in mind when I said "simple to set up". Full blown Apache, MySQL and PHP is not exactly simple to set up. I was hoping for something more light weight. However, if that's the only miner proxy available then I just have to give it a try...


A LAMP setup is pretty straight forward imo but maybe I'm too geeky. There is even a WINLAMP installer for Windows fans.


Title: Re: Mining proxy?
Post by: kramble on May 21, 2013, 09:06:45 PM
Thanks. I'll look into that, even though "python-dev" is probably some Ubuntu or other distro related package. Hopefully it should be possible to install the individual packages locally rather than changing the global installation...
It just runs on python, but the setup script downloads a bunch of packages (eg twisted). There was a recent thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=194472.0;all where someone was having problems with the install due to not running apt-get update and apt-get install python-dev. This is just FYI as you're clearly pretty clued-up with linux stuff.


Title: Re: Mining proxy?
Post by: kingcoin on May 22, 2013, 09:46:35 AM
The system I have in mind is somewhat limited so I would prefer a small application. I will not use the install scripts, but rather try to install the required Python packages below a plain user $HOME directory.


Title: Re: Mining proxy?
Post by: kingcoin on May 22, 2013, 11:11:33 AM
Not simple to set up though...


Title: Re: Mining proxy?
Post by: kingcoin on May 22, 2013, 12:48:07 PM
Well, maybe not that bad: cloning a couple git repo's and adding them using sys.path.append and then it was at least running.


Title: Re: Mining proxy?
Post by: kingcoin on May 23, 2013, 09:09:31 AM

tiktoc wrote nice step by step instructions here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=162788.0 (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=162788.0)


Thanks! Looks good. I should be able to pick up some configuration examples from there.


Title: Re: Mining proxy?
Post by: kingcoin on May 26, 2013, 08:02:35 AM
Actually it was quite simple to install under a local $HOME directory. I simply added the file $HOME/.pydistutils.cfg with the following contents:

Code:
[easy_install]

install_dir = /home/proxy/python/python-libs

and all the installed files appeared under /home/proxy/python/python-libs.