Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Mining support => Topic started by: FlappySocks on June 15, 2013, 02:42:25 PM



Title: cgminer is only finding single gpu
Post by: FlappySocks on June 15, 2013, 02:42:25 PM
cgminer is only finding single gpu


Code:
#:~$ aticonfig --lsa
* 0. 01:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
  1. 07:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series


Code:
#:~$ cgminer -n
 [2013-06-15 15:35:36] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                   
 [2013-06-15 15:35:36] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                   
 [2013-06-15 15:35:36] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1113.2)                   
 [2013-06-15 15:35:36] Platform 0 devices: 1                   
 [2013-06-15 15:35:36]  0       Tahiti                   
 [2013-06-15 15:35:36] 1 GPU devices max detected 

From my research, it seems to be a known problem with OpenCL and Xinerama.  This is a 4 monitor workstation, and I need to have Xinerama switched on.

Most of the info I have found is old.  Are there any fixes?


Title: Re: cgminer is only finding single gpu
Post by: pvtbrutus on June 15, 2013, 07:57:10 PM
Think you need to plug the second 7900 card with a dvi-dummy in order to enable it. Can you see the second card in amdcccle?


Title: Re: cgminer is only finding single gpu
Post by: pvtbrutus on June 15, 2013, 07:59:50 PM
If you dont see the second card in amdcccle you could try:

Code:
sudo aticonfig --adapter=all --initial
This updates the X server settings file.


Title: Re: cgminer is only finding single gpu
Post by: FlappySocks on June 15, 2013, 08:04:54 PM
thanks.

I have four monitors plugged in, and i already tried recreating the xorg config.


Title: Re: cgminer is only finding single gpu
Post by: pvtbrutus on June 15, 2013, 08:09:14 PM
i more or less followed this guide to get it working:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Gw7YPYgMgNNU42skibULbJJUx_suP_CpjSEdSi8_z9U/edit

skip the driver part if you know your drivers are new enough.


Title: Re: cgminer is only finding single gpu
Post by: FlappySocks on June 16, 2013, 03:54:29 PM
For now, I have switched Xinerama off and switched to using RandR.  This is not ideal, but better than keeping one gpu idle.