Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Electrum => Topic started by: GnidaQubes on November 14, 2017, 02:11:50 PM



Title: Can't run Electrum (Qubes OS)
Post by: GnidaQubes on November 14, 2017, 02:11:50 PM
Hi guys! I've installed qubes + whonix and I wanna make split bitcoins
I've done everything from official tutorial (https://www.qubes-os.org/doc/split-bitcoin/) But nothing happens, when I click on shortcut of Electrum Wallet at my fedora-25-electrum VM.
What should I do with it?


Title: Re: Can't run Electrum (Qubes OS)
Post by: GnidaQubes on November 14, 2017, 04:39:08 PM
I install and updated fedora-25 VM, then I type at dom0: "qvm-clone fedora-25 fedora-25-electrum"
and then I type "qvm-start fedora-25-electrum qvm-run fedora-25-electrum xterm"
then "sudo dnf update"
dependencies resolved.
Nothing to do
sending application list and icons to dom0
then:
"sudo dnf install electrum"
Last metadata expiration check: 2:23:35 ago on ....data
No package electrum available

I don't know how I installed electrum (As I remember I type something like install dnf https://download.electrum.org/3.0.2/Electrum-3.0.2.tar.gz
It shows in AppVM at my fedora-25-electrum VM, but it doesn't open.

I think that electrum doesn't open, because I can't install python3-pyqt5

I do this: sudo apt-get install python3-setuptools python3-pyqt5 python3-pip
Reading package Lists... DOne
Building Dependency Tree... Done
l python3-setuptools is already newest version
E: couldn't find package python3-pyqt5

I have old version of python (2,7) and I can't upgrade it to 3.4 that required by Electrum.
How can I do that?


Title: Re: Can't run Electrum (Qubes OS)
Post by: pooya87 on November 15, 2017, 05:06:33 AM
i am not a linux expert but it seems to me like your pakcage manager is having trouble finding the "pyqt5" package to install. it is possible that since this is a year old operating system, it is not supporting all new python3 packages.

i couldn't find anything about it online. but you can open an issue on their Github repo: https://github.com/QubesOS/qubes-issues (nobody had this issue there either).

or you can just stick to an electrum version below 3 which was still on python 2
or just use a more popular Linux distro like Ubuntu!


Title: Re: Can't run Electrum (Qubes OS)
Post by: Abdussamad on November 15, 2017, 05:42:15 AM
fedora uses yum not apt-get. you have to install the qt5 package for python 3. search for it using yum search. you also need pip3 (python3-pip). search for that as well. then use pip3 to install electrum from the tarball.


Title: [SOLVED] Can't run Electrum (Qubes OS)
Post by: neo_crypt on March 31, 2018, 11:06:16 AM
I made simple script for execute electrum inside Qubes OS VM without dnf update.

bin/electrum.sh
Code:
#!/bin/sh
sudo dnf install python3-PyQt5 -y
sudo pip3 install --upgrade pip
sudo pip3 install https://download.electrum.org/3.1.2/Electrum-3.1.2.tar.gz
electrum