Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Bitcoin Technical Support => Topic started by: madmadmax on July 14, 2013, 01:07:34 PM



Title: Sending from address?
Post by: madmadmax on July 14, 2013, 01:07:34 PM
Is there some RPC command I'm missing that sends BTC from a specific address? It would really make life about x100 easier.


Title: Re: Sending from address?
Post by: BookLover on July 15, 2013, 01:22:12 AM
search coin control  ;)


Title: Re: Sending from address?
Post by: madmadmax on July 15, 2013, 02:56:04 AM
search coin control  ;)

Thanks!

Side question, how do you keep the debug log file from growing to 5 gigs of size? Fucking annoying, as if the blockchain isn't big enough.


Title: Re: Sending from address?
Post by: BookLover on July 15, 2013, 02:20:42 PM
Whoah, 5 Gigs? :o  My debug.log file is only 8 MB.  You have either misread the file size or there is something odd going on.  Try deleting your debug file and see if that helps.  You can just move it to the desktop if you don't want to delete it.


Title: Re: Sending from address?
Post by: grue on July 15, 2013, 02:53:32 PM
search coin control  ;)

Thanks!

Side question, how do you keep the debug log file from growing to 5 gigs of size? Fucking annoying, as if the blockchain isn't big enough.
even with timestamps, my debug files are only ~30 mb. Plus bitcoin trims them on start up by default. You probably have extra debugging stuff enabled in bitcoin.conf.


Title: Re: Sending from address?
Post by: madmadmax on July 19, 2013, 12:40:06 AM
search coin control  ;)

Thanks!

Side question, how do you keep the debug log file from growing to 5 gigs of size? Fucking annoying, as if the blockchain isn't big enough.
even with timestamps, my debug files are only ~30 mb. Plus bitcoin trims them on start up by default. You probably have extra debugging stuff enabled in bitcoin.conf.

Can you disable them altogether?


Title: Re: Sending from address?
Post by: DannyHamilton on July 19, 2013, 01:46:35 PM
Is there some RPC command I'm missing that sends BTC from a specific address?

RPC commands?

Use listunspent to get the list of available outputs to spend.

Use getrawtransaction and decoderawtransaction to find the address associated with each output.

Use createrawtransaction, signrawtransaction, and sendrawtransaction to build and transmit the transaction you would like.


Title: Re: Sending from address?
Post by: grue on July 20, 2013, 01:53:55 AM
Can you disable them altogether?
You shouldn't need to disable at all. Bitcoin automatically shrinks the log file on startup. Unless you have file system permission issues, the log file should never get this big.


Title: Re: Sending from address?
Post by: madmadmax on July 20, 2013, 02:53:43 AM
Can you disable them altogether?
You shouldn't need to disable at all. Bitcoin automatically shrinks the log file on startup. Unless you have file system permission issues, the log file should never get this big.

What if I'm having it run 24/7 and don't like restarting?


Title: Re: Sending from address?
Post by: grue on July 20, 2013, 10:34:40 PM
Can you disable them altogether?
You shouldn't need to disable at all. Bitcoin automatically shrinks the log file on startup. Unless you have file system permission issues, the log file should never get this big.

What if I'm having it run 24/7 and don't like restarting?
debug.log size: 202435849 bytes
Startup time: 2013-07-09 02:14:48


Title: Re: Sending from address?
Post by: gweedo on July 20, 2013, 10:37:06 PM
Can you disable them altogether?
You shouldn't need to disable at all. Bitcoin automatically shrinks the log file on startup. Unless you have file system permission issues, the log file should never get this big.

What if I'm having it run 24/7 and don't like restarting?

It shouldn't get that big, I run two nodes and the debug.log files never get to that size combined. Your having an issue and should look into it.


Title: Re: Sending from address?
Post by: kjj on July 27, 2013, 04:47:05 AM
logrotate.d/bitcoind

Code:
/path/to/bitcoind/debug.log {
        compress
        copytruncate
        rotate 5
        size=10M
}

Works even if you never restart.