Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Armory => Topic started by: goatpig on December 28, 2017, 11:43:09 PM



Title: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: goatpig on December 28, 2017, 11:43:09 PM
Binaries:

https://github.com/goatpig/BitcoinArmory/releases/tag/v0.96.3.991

Notes:
This is mostly fixes, notably:
   - All things RBF
   - Unsigned tx creation with a mix of P2SH and P2PKH outputs
   - Some lockbox signing issues

Also, the auto fee GUI has been updated to use the reworked estimatesmartfee method from Core 0.15. People using older nodes won't see that change.

Test away =D


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: PhoenixFire on December 29, 2017, 12:51:05 AM
Thanks, Goatpig. Grabbed the installer for Win64.

Got an error about write permissions for a log file in Armory's install dir, then ran as admin to allow that to work.
Got a fatal error at that point:
Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "ArmoryQt.py", line 38, in <module>
  File "psutil\__init__.pyc", line 139, in <module>
  File "psutil\_pswindows.pyc", line 16, in <module>
  File "psutil\_psutil_windows.pyc", line 12, in <module>
  File "psutil\_psutil_windows.pyc", line 10, in __load
ImportError: DLL load failed: The specified procedure could not be found.

I do have a (new?) file named "psutil._psutil_windows.pyd" - no similar problem with RC1.


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: goatpig on December 29, 2017, 01:06:57 AM
I have no issues running this on my machine. I'll to investigate on another setup. I'm for the new year's weekend so that may have to wait till 2018 =O


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: droark on December 29, 2017, 01:30:10 AM
Thanks, Goatpig. Grabbed the installer for Win64.

Got an error about write permissions for a log file in Armory's install dir, then ran as admin to allow that to work.
Got a fatal error at that point:
Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "ArmoryQt.py", line 38, in <module>
  File "psutil\__init__.pyc", line 139, in <module>
  File "psutil\_pswindows.pyc", line 16, in <module>
  File "psutil\_psutil_windows.pyc", line 12, in <module>
  File "psutil\_psutil_windows.pyc", line 10, in __load
ImportError: DLL load failed: The specified procedure could not be found.

I do have a (new?) file named "psutil._psutil_windows.pyd" - no similar problem with RC1.

Interesting. I took a quick peek at the commits between RC1 & RC2. Nothing jumped out at me immediately; I can't imagine why importing psutil would cause problems. I have a Windows VM and will try to install the binary a little later.


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: PhoenixFire on December 29, 2017, 02:25:12 AM
Strange... I've rolled back to RC1 for now which is still fine, so not the end of the world.
Did some digging, this could be relevant: https://github.com/giampaolo/psutil/issues/811 (I'm running Win7 so it shouldn't be the outdated OS side of the issue)
If I get desperate I'll try getting a Windows build env setup and giving that a whirl.

Have a happy new year, both of you! :)


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: goatpig on December 29, 2017, 05:52:01 AM
I can't sleep so ima setup a Win7 VM and see for myself.


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: goatpig on December 29, 2017, 07:15:00 AM
Fixed the Windows builds, should work now.


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: idoB on December 29, 2017, 06:02:40 PM
Armory 0.96.3.991(RC2)  hangs on splashscreen under Windows 10.

Reverting to 0.96.3.99 (RC1) - runs fine.


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: goatpig on December 29, 2017, 06:11:45 PM
Armory 0.96.3.991(RC2)  hangs on splashscreen under Windows 10.

Reverting to 0.96.3.99 (RC1) - runs fine.


Delete crypt32.dll and psapi.dll from the install folder and try to run it again.


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: idoB on December 29, 2017, 06:34:34 PM
Armory 0.96.3.991(RC2)  hangs on splashscreen under Windows 10.

Reverting to 0.96.3.99 (RC1) - runs fine.


Delete crypt32.dll and psapi.dll from the install folder and try to run it again.

Deleted - same result. Also no hint in log files that I could find.


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: goatpig on December 29, 2017, 06:42:20 PM
Did it create an ArmoryQt.exe.log? If not, run it with admin privilege, you should get the file.


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: PhoenixFire on December 29, 2017, 07:18:08 PM
Meant to report back on this.
I think Armory is hanging when starting the db process with with popen.
Code:
2017-12-29 19:09:36 (WARNING) -- SDM.pyc:396 - Spawning DB with command: ./ArmoryDB.exe --db-type="DB_FULL" --cookie --satoshi-datadir="L:\BC\blocks" --datadir="C:\Users\PhoenixFire\AppData\Roaming\Armory\" --dbdir="L:\ArmoryBC\databases"
2017-12-29 19:09:36 (INFO) -- ArmoryUtils.pyc:679 - Executing popen: ['./ArmoryDB.exe', '--db-type="DB_FULL"', '--cookie', u'--satoshi-datadir="L:\\BC\\blocks"', '--datadir="C:\\Users\\PhoenixFire\\AppData\\Roaming\\Armory\\"', u'--dbdir="L:\\ArmoryBC\\databases"']
Logs stops there and no DB process starts at all.

That said, I can spawn ArmoryDB manually like so:
Code:
start ArmoryDB.exe --db-type=\"DB_FULL\" --cookie --satoshi-datadir=\"L:\BC\blocks\" --datadir=\"C:\Users\PhoenixFire\AppData\Roaming\Armory\\\" --dbdir=\"L:\ArmoryBC\databases\"
And then run ArmoryQt and everything works fine. "start" not required, just a preference.


Edit: Got it to create the log in the install dir:
Code:
(ERROR) ArmoryUtils.pyc:3723 - Unsupported language  specified. Defaulting to English (en)
(WARNING) SDM.pyc:396 - Spawning DB with command: ./ArmoryDB.exe --db-type="DB_FULL" --cookie --satoshi-datadir="L:\BC\blocks" --datadir="C:\Users\PhoenixFire\AppData\Roaming\Armory\" --dbdir="L:\ArmoryBC\databases"
Exception WindowsError: (6, 'The handle is invalid') in <bound method Popen.__del__ of <subprocess_win.Popen object at 0x0000000004A5FEB8>> ignored

Edit2: I can start Qt, let it hang, then start ArmoryDB manually. Qt then wakes up and loads the wallets just fine.


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: idoB on December 29, 2017, 08:32:38 PM
Did it create an ArmoryQt.exe.log? If not, run it with admin privilege, you should get the file.

Yes, got the error in the install dir ArmoryQT.exe.log:

Code:
Exception WindowsError: (6, 'The handle is invalid') in <bound method Popen.__del__ of <subprocess_win.Popen object at 0x00000000044C8EF0>> ignored


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: idoB on December 29, 2017, 08:40:42 PM
Armory 0.96.3.991(RC2)  hangs on splashscreen under Windows 10.

Reverting to 0.96.3.99 (RC1) - runs fine.


Delete crypt32.dll and psapi.dll from the install folder and try to run it again.

Deleted - same result. Also no hint in log files that I could find.


Also verified that there is no need to delete the above two dlls.
To get RC2 running under windows 10, only need to run armorydb separately from the command prompt with the switches in the install-dir armoryqt.exe.log, and then run armoryqt RC2.



Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: alomar on December 30, 2017, 04:23:11 PM
did you do something to make Coin Control work more reliably?  i still see that ccDlgGeometry line in the settings file but everything seems to work fine with this version!


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: alomar on January 01, 2018, 12:54:57 AM

sure enough, spoke too soon.  CoinControl freezing problem still prominent.  seems to always occur after first use.  ccDLGeometry keeps coming back too after deletion.


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: goatpig on January 01, 2018, 04:18:06 PM
Meant to report back on this.
I think Armory is hanging when starting the db process with with popen.

Also verified that there is no need to delete the above two dlls.
To get RC2 running under windows 10, only need to run armorydb separately from the command prompt with the switches in the install-dir armoryqt.exe.log, and then run armoryqt RC2.

Thanks for figuring it out, I'll look into it.

sure enough, spoke too soon.  CoinControl freezing problem still prominent.  seems to always occur after first use.  ccDLGeometry keeps coming back too after deletion.

What are the values in that field when you have to delete them?


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: alomar on January 01, 2018, 06:32:18 PM
Meant to report back on this.
I think Armory is hanging when starting the db process with with popen.

Also verified that there is no need to delete the above two dlls.
To get RC2 running under windows 10, only need to run armorydb separately from the command prompt with the switches in the install-dir armoryqt.exe.log, and then run armoryqt RC2.

Thanks for figuring it out, I'll look into it.

sure enough, spoke too soon.  CoinControl freezing problem still prominent.  seems to always occur after first use.  ccDLGeometry keeps coming back too after deletion.

What are the values in that field when you have to delete them?

01d9d0cb000100000000004100000018000004ff0000031f0000000000000000fffffffefffffff e000000000200


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: dictatethepace on January 02, 2018, 11:18:25 AM
Just a quick note to say i've had success with 0.96.4 RC2 on multiple platforms.

Compiled from source with armory_0.96.3.991_src.tar.gz on Ubuntu 16.04.3 LTS. Installed onto a clean machine with a full and updated Core node behind it.

Installed from pre-package armory_0.96.3.991-gcc4.7_amd64.deb on Ubuntu 14.04 LTS. An install onto a persistent USB over the top of the existing 0.95.1. Wallet conversion successful - running Offline, no Core database. Created some new Segwit addresses.

Historically I had been unable to move past 0.95.1 on MacOS (for TX Broadcast) and kept my offline signers at 0.95.1 to match. I used a standalone copy of Bitcoin-ABC / 0.96.1 to securely claim BCH back in August.

I wanted to create some Segwit addresses to transfer the main BTC holdings. I made various attempts at getting the latest versions working on MacOS (used for watch-wallets and to broadcast offline signed transactions). None of the pre-compiled OSX versions would work with the two Mac High Sierra versions I had locally - 10.12.6 and 10.13.2.

I tried rolling my own version on Mac without initial success.
Eventually it came down to uninstalling Xcode 8 completely, removing the brew installed python and then installing Xcode 7.3.1 from the Apple Developer Site, Python 2.7.14 from python.org. Downloaded armory_0.96.3.991_src and compiled the osxbuild, running smoothly and synced to a full Core node.

Happy to offer logs or advice to anyone else needing a hand with setup/compiling.
Probably about time I offer my thanks to goatpig and droark for continued work on the project (I've been using it since 2014!).



Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: goatpig on January 02, 2018, 11:39:32 AM
Just a quick note to say i've had success with 0.96.4 RC2 on multiple platforms.

Compiled from source with armory_0.96.3.991_src.tar.gz on Ubuntu 16.04.3 LTS. Installed onto a clean machine with a full and updated Core node behind it.

Installed from pre-package armory_0.96.3.991-gcc4.7_amd64.deb on Ubuntu 14.04 LTS. An install onto a persistent USB over the top of the existing 0.95.1. Wallet conversion successful - running Offline, no Core database. Created some new Segwit addresses.

Historically I had been unable to move past 0.95.1 on MacOS (for TX Broadcast) and kept my offline signers at 0.95.1 to match. I used a standalone copy of Bitcoin-ABC / 0.96.1 to securely claim BCH back in August.

I wanted to create some Segwit addresses to transfer the main BTC holdings. I made various attempts at getting the latest versions working on MacOS (used for watch-wallets and to broadcast offline signed transactions). None of the pre-compiled OSX versions would work with the two Mac High Sierra versions I had locally - 10.12.6 and 10.13.2.

I tried rolling my own version on Mac without initial success.
Eventually it came down to uninstalling Xcode 8 completely, removing the brew installed python and then installing Xcode 7.3.1 from the Apple Developer Site, Python 2.7.14 from python.org. Downloaded armory_0.96.3.991_src and compiled the osxbuild, running smoothly and synced to a full Core node.

Happy to offer logs or advice to anyone else needing a hand with setup/compiling.
Probably about time I offer my thanks to goatpig and droark for continued work on the project (I've been using it since 2014!).



Maybe consider contributing to this PR, if anything, testing the new OSX build setup (once it congeals):

https://github.com/goatpig/BitcoinArmory/pull/403


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: idoB on January 02, 2018, 03:36:05 PM
Meant to report back on this.
I think Armory is hanging when starting the db process with with popen.

Also verified that there is no need to delete the above two dlls.
To get RC2 running under windows 10, only need to run armorydb separately from the command prompt with the switches in the install-dir armoryqt.exe.log, and then run armoryqt RC2.

Quote
Thanks for figuring it out, I'll look into it.

Simple batch file to run Armory on Windows with a single click until the splashscreen hang is resolved. Save below lines to StartArmory.bat:
Code:
cd "C:\Program Files (x86)\Armory\"
start ArmoryDB.exe --db-type=DB_FULL --cookie --satoshi-datadir=f:\bitcoin --datadir=f:\armory --dbdir=f:\armory
start ArmoryQt.exe --datadir=f:\armory
exit

Edit paths to your bitcoin data dir, Armory data dir, Armory Db dir


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: droark on January 02, 2018, 06:18:57 PM
I wanted to create some Segwit addresses to transfer the main BTC holdings. I made various attempts at getting the latest versions working on MacOS (used for watch-wallets and to broadcast offline signed transactions). None of the pre-compiled OSX versions would work with the two Mac High Sierra versions I had locally - 10.12.6 and 10.13.2.

Interesting. It compiles and runs just fine on my 10.13 machine and my VMs. If you have your logs or can recreate this, would you mind opening an issue on GitHub so that I can try to figure out what's going on? I've heard a couple of other people complain. The first guy wasn't really helpful but the second was more sane and saying similar things.

BTW, you don't need the complete Xcode suite. You just need the command line tools. This updated build guide (https://github.com/goatpig/BitcoinArmory/blob/v0.96.3.991/osxbuild/macOS_build_notes.md) is worth checking if you haven't already.

Thanks!


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: 5psrWGMxeW on January 05, 2018, 07:08:25 PM
Just confirming that RC2 hangs forever at splashscreen for me too on windows 10 x64

edit: could you please ditch the faulty captcha on this forum, drives me nuts! or at least try to improve it


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: droark on January 05, 2018, 07:56:02 PM
edit: could you please ditch the faulty captcha on this forum, drives me nuts! or at least try to improve it

You'll have to take that up with Theymos (the admin, last I checked). AFAIK, Goatpig has no control over that.


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: idoB on January 06, 2018, 05:05:42 PM
Bug report: RC2 offline computer does not recognize RC1 transaction?

When trying to sign on an offline signer, running 0.96.3.99 (RC1) a transaction created by an online computer running 0.96.3.991 (RC2), right after loading transaction from file, a red label "Unrecognized!" appears with the following in the log file:

Code:
2018-01-06 08:37:24 (INFO) -- TxFrames.pyc:2267 - Selected transaction file to load: D:/armory_SJFDgm25_.unsigned.tx
2018-01-06 08:37:24 (WARNING) -- Transaction.pyc:1263 - Unexpected nested type for TxIn 16
2018-01-06 08:37:24 (ERROR) -- Transaction.pyc:1289 - Insert list has index too big
2018-01-06 08:37:24 (ERROR) -- Transaction.pyc:1289 - Insert list has index too big


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: PhoenixFire on January 06, 2018, 05:09:17 PM
Bug report: RC2 offline computer does not recognize RC1 transaction?

When trying to sign on an offline signer, running 0.96.3.99 (RC1) a transaction created by an online computer running 0.96.3.991 (RC2), right after loading transaction from file, a red label "Unrecognized!" appears with the following in the log file:

Code:
2018-01-06 08:37:24 (INFO) -- TxFrames.pyc:2267 - Selected transaction file to load: D:/armory_SJFDgm25_.unsigned.tx
2018-01-06 08:37:24 (WARNING) -- Transaction.pyc:1263 - Unexpected nested type for TxIn 16
2018-01-06 08:37:24 (ERROR) -- Transaction.pyc:1289 - Insert list has index too big
2018-01-06 08:37:24 (ERROR) -- Transaction.pyc:1289 - Insert list has index too big

You should be running RC2 on the offline PC as well.


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: goatpig on January 07, 2018, 06:53:18 PM
01d9d0cb000100000000004100000018000004ff0000031f0000000000000000fffffffefffffff e000000000200

What OS is this on? Clearly this part is off:

Code:
fffffffefffffffe


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: alomar on January 08, 2018, 03:14:44 AM
01d9d0cb000100000000004100000018000004ff0000031f0000000000000000fffffffefffffff e000000000200

What OS is this on? Clearly this part is off:

Code:
fffffffefffffffe

Ubuntu 16.04.3 LTS

anything i can do to fix it?


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: goatpig on January 08, 2018, 11:11:25 AM
I figured something out. Wait for the next RC.


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: goatpig on January 09, 2018, 07:28:21 PM
PhoenixFire, idoB: I cannot reproduce your issue on either my setup nor fresh Win7 & Win10 VMs. Are you using the installed version or the .zip standalone? If you are using the installed version, can you try with the .zip?


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: alomar on January 09, 2018, 08:07:21 PM
I figured something out. Wait for the next RC.

you ARE the man.


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: PhoenixFire on January 09, 2018, 08:33:33 PM
PhoenixFire, idoB: I cannot reproduce your issue on either my setup nor fresh Win7 & Win10 VMs. Are you using the installed version or the .zip standalone? If you are using the installed version, can you try with the .zip?
Thanks for nudge towards the zip. So, it seems like something is possibly choking related to passing in the working directory.
Directly running ArmoryQt.exe from either the zip or installer version works perfectly: DB launches and everything works as expected.
Launching from a shortcut hangs - Except if the shortcut's "Start In" field matches the install directory.

Sooo this works fine:
Code:
Target:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Armory\ArmoryQt.exe"
Start In:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Armory"


This does not work, and I believe is the default shortcut created by the installer:
Code:
Target:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Armory\ArmoryQt.exe"
Start In:
"C:\Users\Public\Desktop"

This also does not work:
Code:
Target:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Armory\ArmoryQt.exe"
Start In:
-Leave blank-

Can't believe it was such a minor thing - but RC1 didn't care about the working directory. Hooray for not really being a code problem?


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: idoB on January 11, 2018, 12:25:35 AM
PhoenixFire, idoB: I cannot reproduce your issue on either my setup nor fresh Win7 & Win10 VMs. Are you using the installed version or the .zip standalone? If you are using the installed version, can you try with the .zip?

Can confirm PhoenixFire finding: It's the shortcut 'Start In' path field that needs to point to Armory install-dir in 0.96.3.991 where it didn't before.


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: Armory non geek on January 11, 2018, 05:36:30 PM
actions report re the update to the friend's computer:

I found the link for Armory 0.96.3.991 at the top of this thread and installed to the friend's Win 10 x 64 computer. 

The load in of 0.96.3991 successfully interfaced and upgraded the 0.96.3 already installed, retaining the watcing only "offline" security status of the wallets already installed (with non correct zero balance indicated for each of the watching only copies of those on line wallets).   

Bitcoin core 0.15.1 had already been installed and synced to itself. 

Once Armory 0.96.3991 was loaded various experiments were attempted:

1) close BC core 0.15.1, and then start 0.96.3991 - result 0.96.3991 continued to not sync to BCcore 0.15.1

2) open core 0.15.1 first and then start 0.96.3991 - same result of 0.96.3991 not syncing to Core 0.15.1

3) open 0.96.3991 first and then attempt to open CoredB 0.15.1 - result 0.15.1 opened and self synced but absent any correlation to 0.96.3991 - also missing any conflict error messages about 0.96.3991 already accessing the CoreDb (ie to the effect that only one copy of CoredB can be open at one time). 

----

Throughout all the above experiments with 0.96.3 and now with 0.96.3991 the watching only wallets are not synced to the CoreDb 0.15.1 and all indicate a zero balance.   

Thank you for your assistance. Is there a different version of Armory which should be installed beyond 0.96.3991 in order to sync Bitcoin core 0.15.1
(after the Bitcoin core 0.15.1 has self synced to itself)? 

Or is there a necessary different procedure of install (as in the older versions 0.93.3 and earlier - where Armory was first installed and then Armory needed to complete the full self sync of the BCcore database) so the wallets will sync and indicate their balances?

Again, TY for your kind assistance. 


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: goatpig on January 11, 2018, 06:07:06 PM
Armory non geek:

Maybe when you'll stop hijacking threads and show some logs someone will help you. Until then, you're not gonna get much assistance.


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: Armory non geek on January 11, 2018, 06:08:48 PM
Apologies for entering my questions to what seemed the most appropriate place thread.
where does one find the log files to post?

I will be pleased to copy them and enter them here.    

TY kindly


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: droark on January 11, 2018, 06:38:02 PM
File -> Export Log File

Upload it to Pastebin or 0bin or Cryptbin or wherever and then post the link here.


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: Armory non geek on January 11, 2018, 06:54:05 PM
File -> Export Log File

Upload it to Pastebin or 0bin or Cryptbin or wherever and then post the link here.

TY droark,

Do I upload from the open Armory command, or upload it from the win 64 exe file (linked at the top of this thread)?  

As a non geek, left brain trained in other fields, I appreciate the help along - so I can assist you folks.


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: goatpig on January 11, 2018, 07:20:15 PM
Make your own thread please.


Title: Re: 0.96.4 RC2
Post by: Armory non geek on January 11, 2018, 08:29:26 PM
Make your own thread please.

Done

I very much appreciate the assistance.