Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Mining support => Topic started by: aminkorea on August 13, 2013, 11:50:22 PM



Title: need help with cgminer
Post by: aminkorea on August 13, 2013, 11:50:22 PM
I am trying to set up a batch file for cgminer. My file looks like this

cgminer.exe -o http://mypool:8332 -u my.worker1 -p mypass --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S //./COM3 [/sup}

I have the script saved in my cgminer file folder.  when I click the bat file, the dos screen flashes for a scond but dose not stay open.  
If I remove the icarus information, cgminer starts but fails to detect any devices and then crashes.  I have looked for other examples and help, but can't get this working. Any help, please?


Title: Re: need help with cgminer
Post by: CrashX on August 14, 2013, 04:50:25 AM
Switch to BFG is Simple and its ready for Erupter USB.

Here is the how...


install it.
Unzip it, create a batch file with the command I posted below and your good to go.


Download from HERE ONLY!
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=168174.0


Create a Batch File (.bat) in your in windows.
Code:
bfgminer -o stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333 -u UserID_worker -p **** --disable-gpu -S all
This is setup for BitMinter so you need to change to your pool.
^^Make sure that the .bat file is in the same folder as BFG.

This will disable the GPU/Video Cards
Code:
--disable-gpu 


and this will detect all ASIC Erupters and to load all of them to run.
Code:
-S all

Quote
Also Make you install the driver for the erupter...


Title: Re: need help with cgminer
Post by: aminkorea on August 14, 2013, 07:24:30 AM
Thanks for your help. I got bfg installed and wrote the bat file. when I ran the file it gives the message that I don't have permission to open COM 3. I have the  drivers installed and can find the devise in the device manager and there are no settings for admin. any ideas?

Thanks


Title: Re: need help with cgminer
Post by: CrashX on August 14, 2013, 07:33:18 AM
Thanks for your help. I got bfg installed and wrote the bat file. when I ran the file it gives the message that I don't have permission to open COM 3. I have the  drivers installed and can find the devise in the device manager and there are no settings for admin. any ideas?

Thanks

How are you connected? Direct to the Computer ? USB Hub? Windows or OS?

Make sure its a HUB its a Powered Hub.

The Driver are this "CP210x_VCP_Windows"
http://www.silabs.com/products/mcu/pages/usbtouartbridgevcpdrivers.aspx


Title: Re: need help with cgminer
Post by: aminkorea on August 14, 2013, 07:54:07 AM
Yes, I have the CP210x_VCP driver and the device is plugged directly into the computer's USB port. Only one devise so I don't need a hub.


Title: Re: need help with cgminer
Post by: aminkorea on August 14, 2013, 09:54:01 AM
I got it working.  Don't know why it didn't work the first few times I tried, but just tried again and now it is working, so alls good. Thanks for your help.