Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Bitcoin Technical Support => Topic started by: Gimberg on February 07, 2018, 08:08:42 PM



Title: bitcoin-qt data directory is only a few gigabytes
Post by: Gimberg on February 07, 2018, 08:08:42 PM
Hi, I'm running a qt node and I recently took it apart and noticed that the qt data folder was only 4-5 gigabytes and I previously remember that I used to have the whole blockchain, which is no above ~150GB.

I started the node and it had some blocks that it needed to download but other than than it seems 100% normal, so my question is why is it only 5GB? I should have the whole blockchain or do I but it's compressed?

Thanks in advance for any help! :)


Title: Re: bitcoin-qt data directory is only a few gigabytes
Post by: LoyceV on February 07, 2018, 08:18:38 PM
It sounds like you've enabled pruning:

Code:
  -prune=<n>
       Reduce storage requirements by enabling pruning (deleting) of old
       blocks. This allows the pruneblockchain RPC to be called to
       delete specific blocks, and enables automatic pruning of old
       blocks if a target size in MiB is provided. This mode is
       incompatible with -txindex and -rescan. Warning: Reverting this
       setting requires re-downloading the entire blockchain. (default:
       0 = disable pruning blocks, 1 = allow manual pruning via RPC,
       >550 = automatically prune block files to stay under the
       specified target size in MiB)


Title: Re: bitcoin-qt data directory is only a few gigabytes
Post by: Gimberg on February 07, 2018, 09:06:20 PM
It sounds like you've enabled pruning:

Code:
  -prune=<n>
       Reduce storage requirements by enabling pruning (deleting) of old
       blocks. This allows the pruneblockchain RPC to be called to
       delete specific blocks, and enables automatic pruning of old
       blocks if a target size in MiB is provided. This mode is
       incompatible with -txindex and -rescan. Warning: Reverting this
       setting requires re-downloading the entire blockchain. (default:
       0 = disable pruning blocks, 1 = allow manual pruning via RPC,
       >550 = automatically prune block files to stay under the
       specified target size in MiB)

Haha yep, maybe I should've checked the config file before posting  ::)