Title: How can I tell if Bitcoind is working? Post by: NothinG on August 06, 2011, 05:38:04 PM http://gyazo.com/c3e5a24e0d10fa9dfd0aa916790f1f9f.png
It just sits there. I'm trying to get a script to talk to via WAN but wont return any data. I've made sure my firewalls are open (tcp/udp 8332 & 8333). How can I tell where the script stops responding? Also, the site error Code: Fatal error: Uncaught exception 'Exception' with message 'Incorrect response id (request id: 1, response id: )' in /home***/public_html/bitcoin/classes/jsonRPCClient.php:152 Stack trace: #0 /home/***/public_html/bitcoin/html/main.php(50): jsonRPCClient->__call('getblockcount', Array) #1 /home/***/public_html/bitcoin/html/main.php(50): jsonRPCClient->getblockcount() #2 /home/***/public_html/bitcoin/index.php(40): include('/home/***/...') #3 {main} thrown in /home/***/public_html/bitcoin/classes/jsonRPCClient.php on line 152 Title: Re: How can I tell if Bitcoind is working? Post by: jackjack on August 06, 2011, 05:40:16 PM Open another cmd and run 'bitcoind help'
Title: Re: How can I tell if Bitcoind is working? Post by: NothinG on August 06, 2011, 05:42:13 PM Open another cmd and run 'bitcoind help' Looks like it's running. Thanks :)Now...to figure out why it wont connect to the script. Title: Re: How can I tell if Bitcoind is working? Post by: BCEmporium on August 06, 2011, 05:43:56 PM Had you create a bitcoin.conf file within your data dir?
Also make sure there's a line server=1 and rpcallowip=0.0.0.0 at bitcoin.conf Title: Re: How can I tell if Bitcoind is working? Post by: Remember remember the 5th of November on August 06, 2011, 05:45:26 PM Had you create a bitcoin.conf file within your data dir? Why do you want him to enable server mode. That should only be enabled if he plans to solo mine.Also make sure there's a line server=1 and rpcallowip=0.0.0.0 at bitcoin.conf Title: Re: How can I tell if Bitcoind is working? Post by: NothinG on August 06, 2011, 05:46:15 PM Had you create a bitcoin.conf file within your data dir? Also make sure there's a line server=1 and rpcallowip=0.0.0.0 at bitcoin.conf Quote # bitcoin.conf configuration file. Lines beginning with # are comments. # Network-related settings: # Run on the test network instead of the real bitcoin network. #testnet=1 # Connect via a socks4 proxy #proxy=127.0.0.1:9050 ############################################################## ## Quick Primer on addnode vs connect ## ## Let's say for instance you use addnode=4.2.2.4 ## ## addnode will connect you to and tell you about the ## ## nodes connected to 4.2.2.4. In addition it will tell ## ## the other nodes connected to it that you exist so ## ## they can connect to you. ## ## connect will not do the above when you 'connect' to it. ## ## It will *only* connect you to 4.2.2.4 and no one else.## ## ## ## So if you're behind a firewall, or have other problems ## ## finding nodes, add some using 'addnode'. ## ## ## ## If you want to stay private, use 'connect' to only ## ## connect to "trusted" nodes. ## ## ## ## If you run multiple nodes on a LAN, there's no need for ## ## all of them to open lots of connections. Instead ## ## 'connect' them all to one node that is port forwarded ## ## and has lots of connections. ## ## Thanks goes to [Noodle] on Freenode. ## ############################################################## # Use as many addnode= settings as you like to connect to specific peers #addnode=69.164.218.197 #addnode=10.0.0.2:8333 # ... or use as many connect= settings as you like to connect ONLY # to specific peers: #connect=69.164.218.197 #connect=10.0.0.1:8333 # Do not use Internet Relay Chat (irc.lfnet.org #bitcoin channel) to # find other peers. #noirc=1 # Maximum number of inbound+outbound connections. #maxconnections= # JSON-RPC options (for controlling a running Bitcoin/bitcoind process) # server=1 tells Bitcoin to accept JSON-RPC commands. server=1 # You must set rpcuser and rpcpassword to secure the JSON-RPC api rpcuser=--hidden-- rpcpassword=--hidden-- # How many seconds bitcoin will wait for a complete RPC HTTP request. # after the HTTP connection is established. rpctimeout=30 # By default, only RPC connections from localhost are allowed. Specify # as many rpcallowip= settings as you like to allow connections from # other hosts (and you may use * as a wildcard character): rpcallowip=173.237.234.100 # Listen for RPC connections on this TCP port: rpcport=8332 # You can use Bitcoin or bitcoind to send commands to Bitcoin/bitcoind # running on another host using this option: rpcconnect=127.0.0.1 # Use Secure Sockets Layer (also known as TLS or HTTPS) to communicate # with Bitcoin -server or bitcoind #rpcssl=1 # OpenSSL settings used when rpcssl=1 rpcsslciphers=TLSv1+HIGH:!SSLv2:!aNULL:!eNULL:!AH:!3DES:@STRENGTH rpcsslcertificatechainfile=server.cert rpcsslprivatekeyfile=server.pem # Miscellaneous options # Set gen=1 to attempt to generate bitcoins gen=0 # Use SSE instructions to try to generate bitcoins faster. #4way=1 # Pre-generate this many public/private key pairs, so wallet backups will be valid for # both prior transactions and several dozen future transactions. keypool=100 # Pay an optional transaction fee every time you send bitcoins. Transactions with fees # are more likely than free transactions to be included in generated blocks, so may # be validated sooner. paytxfee=0.00 # Allow direct connections for the 'pay via IP address' feature. #allowreceivebyip=1 # User interface options # Start Bitcoin minimized #min=1 # Minimize to the system tray #minimizetotray=1 Title: Re: How can I tell if Bitcoind is working? Post by: BCEmporium on August 06, 2011, 05:49:53 PM try changing this:
rpcallowip=173.237.234.100 to this: rpcallowip=* (it opens your bitcoind to the world [provinding the correct user/pass], so use it with a wallet.dat empty or nearly empty) Title: Re: How can I tell if Bitcoind is working? Post by: NothinG on August 06, 2011, 05:52:13 PM HORRIBLE fail on my part xD
I forgot to check the cPanel firewall. |