Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Development & Technical Discussion => Topic started by: martin on July 14, 2010, 10:57:00 PM



Title: RPC Api with client?
Post by: martin on July 14, 2010, 10:57:00 PM
A simple question which I can't find the answer to, and I'm not at a computer with a bitcoin client at the moment so I can't test - does the windows bitcoin client (with GUI) run the Json Rpc Api, or is that only run from the headless client?


Title: Re: RPC Api with client?
Post by: theymos on July 14, 2010, 11:00:46 PM
You can run it with the "-server" switch to have it run the RPC server.


Title: Re: RPC Api with client?
Post by: martin on July 14, 2010, 11:17:23 PM
Ah, that sounds promising, and it still shows the normal UI etc?


Title: Re: RPC Api with client?
Post by: theymos on July 14, 2010, 11:38:51 PM
Yes.


Title: Re: RPC Api with client?
Post by: martin on July 15, 2010, 12:31:14 AM
Thanks theymos.

I'm back at my development machine now, and I've successfully got a java applet communicating with the client via the Json Rpc. I wonder if you could help me with some specifics of the API?

Sending a string like this to the server:

{"jsonrpc": "2.0", "id":"json test", "method": "getinfo", "params": [] }

Returns a response like this:

{"result":{"balance": 0.00000000000000,"blocks":67486,"connections":8,"proxy":"","generate":true,"genproclimit":4,"difficulty":45.38582234101263},"error":null,"id":"json test"}

All well and good. However, sending a string like this:

{"jsonrpc": "2.0", "id":"send money to testaddress from web ui", "method": "sendtoaddress", "params": [1DoMXge6kToHZN8m4B2my43anCPbD4rJgE, 0.25] }

Gets me a http 500 error, which isn't great. Is my string malformed in some way?

EDIT:: Fixed, of course the bitcoin address is a string, and I wasn't enclosing it in quotes, silly me.