Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Bitcoin Technical Support => Topic started by: Ginsley on December 23, 2013, 10:21:04 PM



Title: How to get the latest difficulty?
Post by: Ginsley on December 23, 2013, 10:21:04 PM
As i realized now, there are differences between "getdifficulty" and the real actual difficulty needed to solve the next block.

So if i do getdifficulty and get a value of 1 (it seems diff 1 was needed to solve the last found block) it does not mean, i need to find a share with a value of 65535, if the coin updates its difficulty every single block. So it could be, that the needed difficulty for the next block is at 1.5 or at 0.75 or something else i do not know, i only see difficulty 1 at this moment.

cgminer seems to know, which share value is needed to solve the next block - but where does it get it from?

If i have several daemons installed to my system, where can i get the actually needed difficulty for the various chains from? Is there any solution for this? Or am i wrong with my assumptions?


Title: Re: How to get the latest difficulty?
Post by: bitpop on December 25, 2013, 02:03:59 AM
Getmininginfo?


Title: Re: How to get the latest difficulty?
Post by: Ginsley on December 25, 2013, 12:20:12 PM
Getmininginfo?

I tried this too (as well as getinfo) - but it anytime gives the same difficulty value as getdifficulty.

Code:
13:07:03 getinfo

13:07:03
{
"version" : "v1.5.0.0",
"protocolversion" : 60006,
"walletversion" : 60000,
"balance" : 56620.01000000,
"newmint" : 0.00000000,
"stake" : 0.00000000,
"blocks" : 377680,
"moneysupply" : 28043882.93443700,
"connections" : 5,
"proxy" : "",
"ip" : "178.5.80.82",
"difficulty" : 0.01380882,
"testnet" : false,
"keypoololdest" : 1387453236,
"keypoolsize" : 102,
"paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
"errors" : ""
}

Code:
13:07:06 getdifficulty

13:07:06
{
"proof-of-work" : 0.01380882,
"proof-of-stake" : 0.00024414,
"search-interval" : 1
}

Code:
13:07:08 getmininginfo

13:07:08
{
"blocks" : 377680,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"difficulty" : 0.01380882,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : false,
"genproclimit" : -1,
"hashespersec" : 0,
"networkhashps" : 1872897,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"testnet" : false
}