Bitcoin Forum

Other => Beginners & Help => Topic started by: barisdad on December 29, 2013, 08:22:55 AM



Title: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: barisdad on December 29, 2013, 08:22:55 AM
Hi,
I am trying to mine on a machine with 2 r9 290 cards. I run cgminer and it starts without any errors, but after a few seconds of work my computer crashes and I have to restart it using the power button on the back.
I tried ubuntu 12.04 server 64 bit with xdm, then installed xubuntu on the server and also tried running batm from a usb stick. Same results.
I am using catalyst 13.12 linux drivers.
I am currently running the pre-built cgminer 3.7.2. I also tried building it from source but it segfaulted when I tried to start it.
I also installed app sdk 2.9 and adl sdk 6.0 when I tried to build cgminer.

I tried these cgminer configurations:
1. --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://gigahash.wemineltc.com:3333 -u <username>.1 -p <password> -g 1 -w 512 --lookup-gap 2 --thread-concurrency 24500 -I 20 --gpu-fan 70 --gpu-engine 947 --gpu-memclock 1250 --gpu-powertune 20

2.
{
"pools" : [
{
"url" : "stratum+tcp://gigahash.wemineltc.com:3333",
"user" : "<myuser>.1",
"pass" : "<mypassword>"
},
{
"url" : "stratum+tcp://usa2.wemineltc.com:3334",
"user" : "<myuser>",
"pass" : "<mypassword>"
}
],
"api-allow" : "W:127.0.0.1",
"api-listen" : true,
"scrypt" : true,
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"gpu-engine" : "1000",
"gpu-fan" : "75-100",
"gpu-memclock" : "1500",
"gpu-powertune" : "20",
"intensity" : "20",
"vectors" : "1",
"worksize" : "512",
"lookup-gap" : "2",
"thread-concurrency" : "24550"
}

3.
{
"pools" : [
{
"url" : "stratum+tcp://gigahash.wemineltc.com:3333",
"user" : "<myuser>.1",
"pass" : "<mypassword>"
},
{
"url" : "stratum+tcp://usa2.wemineltc.com:3334",
"user" : "<myuser>",
"pass" : "<mypassword>"
}
],

"intensity" : "20",
"vectors" : "1",
"worksize" : "256",
"lookup-gap" : "2",
"thread-concurrency" : "32765",
"gpu-engine" : "1000",
"gpu-fan" : "40-100",
"gpu-memclock" : "1350",
"gpu-powertune" : "20",
"temp-cutoff" : "99",
"temp-overheat" : "95",
"temp-target" : "90",

"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "120",
"failover-only" : true,
"gpu-threads" : "1",

"log" : "5",
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "60",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",

"scrypt" : true,
"kernel" : "scrypt",
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}


I also tried with a 947 clock instead of 1000. same results.

This is my hardware configuration:

2 X Radeon R9 290 GPU - 4GB 512 bit DDR5 mem 21227-00-40G -Sapphire
GA-870A-UD3 Rev 2.0 - AMD 870 Chipset - GA-870A-UD3 -Gigabyte
AMD Athlon II X2 270 - 3200 MHz - 45nm -ADX270OCK23GM -AMD    
Gamma 50 Intel LGA775 and AMD socket AM2 Gamma-50 -DEEPCOOL    
4GB DDR3-1600MHz, PC3-12800, CL11-11-11- F3-1600C11S-4GNS -G-Skill    
500gb - 3.5 inch - 7200 RPM - SATA3 6Gb/    DT01ACA050 -Toshiba    
Cougar Solution Middle Tower Case - Dime    67M3-NPS -Cougar    
120mm Low Noise Sleeve bearing fans - 4-   R4-S2S-124K-GP -Coolermaster    
OCZ850GXSSLI - 850W PSU - OCZ

Thanks.


Title: Re: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: Lazerballz on December 29, 2013, 08:33:08 AM
Did you check https://litecoin.info/Mining_hardware_comparison?

In the list I do not see any 290 running on  --gpu-engine 947 or "gpu-engine" : "1000", which you stated below (unless you flashed the bios)

What does it do when you try 830 for GPU engine and 1500 for mem?

Have you ever been able to run longer than an hour?


Title: Re: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: barisdad on December 29, 2013, 09:18:04 AM
I based it on this reddit thread and another one which I can't find.
http://www.reddit.com/r/litecoinmining/comments/1rurj5/what_are_your_r9_290_and_290x_settings/

running with 830 and 1500 doesn't crash the computer, but my x session freezes so I can't tell the hash rate. When i remote login via ssh the cgminer process seems to be running. Is there any way to tell the hashrate via ssh?
Am I supposed to run cgminer from within an x session?

These are my first tests with this rig, I never ran it for more than a minute.


Title: Re: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: Lazerballz on December 29, 2013, 09:42:41 AM
mmmm.

Well the way you should be able to see the hashrate via ssh is either via a monitor tool or run cgminer from ssh. In BAMT (Debian Linux distro, special made for mining) there is an application called GPUMON which allows me to see the current hashrate.

This is how it looks

https://images.weserv.nl/?url=i45.tinypic.com/ww18gm.jpg (https://images.weserv.nl/?url=i45.tinypic.com/ww18gm.jpg)

About the settings. Basically it's taking one of the midrange settings and go from there. I've seen people with same cards and different settings.


Title: Re: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: Lazerballz on December 29, 2013, 09:57:44 AM
Also, with 2 290's running at 100% you might need to check your PSU set up.

Getting too much power from the same +12v lane would exhaust the psu. (normally your system should reboot then)
Getting too much temp should reboot the system also

Like I said in my previous post, use a mid range setting (like you have now) and work from there untill you have a stable good working mining config.

Next to that.

Make an .sh file with the following:

export DISPLAY=:0
export GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100
export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECT=1
cd <location of cgminer>
./cgminer <settings or use config file>



Title: Re: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: barisdad on December 29, 2013, 10:06:32 AM
I can't run cgminer via ssh. When I try to run it says "no device detected". I tried adding export DISPLAY=:0 before running and it didn't help.


Title: Re: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: Lazerballz on December 29, 2013, 10:17:30 AM
Mmmm  :( ??? :-\
 

Have you tried running BAMT (latest version because of the drivers) from USB directly or with 1 card only?


Title: Re: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: barisdad on December 29, 2013, 10:32:45 AM
going to try this for ssh:
http://wiki.tiker.net/OpenCLHowTo#Running_OpenCL_code_remotely_on_AMD_GPUs_.28via_SSH.29

I am not sure I understand your question. I ran BAMT from USB, is there another way? I didn't try with one card only.


Title: Re: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: barisdad on December 29, 2013, 10:55:29 AM
I tried booting with bamt 1.2 on a USB stick, but the computer shuts down after a minute before I have a chance to do anything. I didn't even start the miner.


Title: Re: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: infinitybo on December 29, 2013, 11:19:08 AM
@Barisdad Yes it's sure you can fix the config quickly furthermore you should use the "mining" section.


Title: Re: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: Lazerballz on December 29, 2013, 03:39:50 PM
BAMT starts the miner right away. go to Start menu button -> SMOS Control -> Stop mining sessions.


Title: Re: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: barisdad on January 01, 2014, 04:07:07 PM
https://www.dropbox.com/s/xspwzrxnnaqnk2t/13885927386020.jpg
The same power cable seems to be connected to both cards. Is this what you meant?


Title: Re: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: goldenarmZ on January 01, 2014, 04:27:05 PM
Have you tried just running a very basic cgminer command with none of the gpu settings? It's best to eliminate all variables when testing a problem then bring them back one at a time.

I would remove all config files and just run cgminer with nothing but -o -u and -p specified. Then once you have it stable, try configuring from there.


Title: Re: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: barisdad on January 01, 2014, 04:32:51 PM
I did. It ran without any problems at about 20k per card.


Title: Re: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: nick_a on January 01, 2014, 04:47:49 PM
I am using these config for my 7970 in desktop shortcut.
C:\cgminer372\cgminer.exe --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://xxxx -u xxxx -p 123 --failover-only -o stratum+tcp://xxxx -u xxx -p 123 -w 256 --thread-concurrency 8192 --auto-fan -I 13 -g 2


Title: Re: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: truthanddelusion on January 01, 2014, 08:14:59 PM
I am almost curious if your power supply is not giving the system enough power. Are you using any logging software for power usage and heat to see if they correlate with the shut down?

You could also try

-I 20
--thread-concurrency 24550
--gpu-engine 1000
--gpu-memclock 1500

Either way I am curious. Let me know if you get them working. :)


Title: Re: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: goldenarmZ on January 01, 2014, 08:27:01 PM
I did. It ran without any problems at about 20k per card.

That probably suggests some issues with your overclocking settings imo. Try adding back things like shader number and thread concurrency but the leave the overclocking/fan/power control out for now.


Title: Re: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: barisdad on January 01, 2014, 08:28:52 PM
Can you see the picture i put above? It says "invalid picture" in my phone.


Title: Re: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: goldenarmZ on January 01, 2014, 08:42:33 PM
Can you see the picture i put above? It says "invalid picture" in my phone.

No, it doesn't show up.


Title: Re: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: barisdad on January 01, 2014, 09:50:08 PM
http://imageshack.com/a/img20/8417/qp4h.jpg


Title: Re: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: barisdad on January 02, 2014, 01:52:05 PM
I made some progress.
First of all, the crash was probably some compatibility problem between the pre-built cgminer version and xubuntu 12.04. I installed xubuntu 13.04 and managed to run cgminer.
Second, the remote running via ssh problem was solved (I think) using this guide:
http://devgurus.amd.com/thread/159566

Now I have a problem with the second card. This is the output from cgminer:
Code:
 cgminer version 3.7.2 - Started: [2014-01-02 15:49:38]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):704.6K (avg):750.0Kh/s | A:896  R:0  HW:2  WU:659.8/m
 ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 1  LW: 12  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to gigahash.wemineltc.com diff 128 with stratum as user myuser.1
 Block: a87d75d0...  Diff:3.17K  Started: [15:49:39]  Best share: 1.17K
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:  61.0C 5205RPM | 745.5K/736.6Kh/s | A:896 R:0 HW:0 WU: 659.8/m I:20
 GPU 1:  41.0C 5166RPM | 29.82K/13.39Kh/s | A:  0 R:0 HW:2 WU:   0.0/m I:20
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2014-01-02 15:49:39] Network diff set to 3.17K
 [2014-01-02 15:49:40] GPU1: invalid nonce count - HW error
 [2014-01-02 15:49:44] API running in IP access mode on port 4028 (17)
 [2014-01-02 15:49:49] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 128
 [2014-01-02 15:49:49] Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
 [2014-01-02 15:49:49] Accepted 48dd41c2 Diff 899/256 GPU 0 pool 0
 [2014-01-02 15:49:54] Accepted 01ecd9ad Diff 133/128 GPU 0 pool 0
 [2014-01-02 15:50:07] Accepted 0180d290 Diff 170/128 GPU 0 pool 0
 [2014-01-02 15:50:14] Accepted 01b9faf3 Diff 148/128 GPU 0 pool 0
 [2014-01-02 15:50:48] Accepted 37d37e25 Diff 1.17K/128 GPU 0 pool 0
 [2014-01-02 15:50:52] Accepted 012ef071 Diff 216/128 GPU 0 pool 0


Title: Re: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: nick_a on January 02, 2014, 05:40:46 PM
try this OS https://www.ltcrabbit.com/index.php?page=os and you can use it on any pool. I am not sure whether it can solve your config problem.


Title: Re: dual r9 290, computer crashes after a few seconds
Post by: barisdad on January 02, 2014, 09:02:22 PM
I don't think it's the OS any more, since there are no more errors. I am starting to think it's the power supplier. Even when running with power tune 15 and intensity 15 it shuts down after a few minutes when temps are around 50.
Seems to me that a 850W suppliers should support 2 cards drawing around 300W... Is there any app I can use to show how much power is drawn from the supplier?