Bitcoin Forum

Alternate cryptocurrencies => Altcoin Discussion => Topic started by: aliens on December 29, 2013, 08:27:24 PM



Title: [SOLVED] First-time miner, can't get Gridcoin mining to work
Post by: aliens on December 29, 2013, 08:27:24 PM
Ohai!

Post title pretty much sums it up. Read up some stuff on bitcoins and altcoins, and decided to give it a try with Gridcoin.

Got BOINC installed, got the latest gridcoin-qt.msi, installed it, then tried to configure it to the best of my ability.

Problem is the miner won't start. I've added the gridcoin.conf file, server settings, used the 7870-Pitcairn profile, then created the CG Miner instance. I try (re)starting the miner from the Gridcoin module, however I only get a quick flash of a cmd window opening then closing again within a second.

Here's my gridcoin.conf:

Code:
server=1
rpcuser=username
rpcpassword=password
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
rpcport=9332
server=1
poolmining=false
gen=0
dev0_gpu_thread_concurrency=8192
dev0_worksize=256
dev0_intensity=13
dev0_lookup_gap=2
dev0_enabled=True
dev0_name=0 - Pitcairn - Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
dev0_gpu_thread_concurrency=8192

And here's my cgm0:

Code:
{
  "pools" : [
      {
          "url" : "http://127.0.0.1:9332/",
          "user" : "username",
          "pass" : "password"
   }
],
"api-listen" : true,
"api-port" : "4000",
"api-allow" : "W:127.0.0.1",
"intensity" : "13",
"vectors" : "1",
"worksize" : "256",
"scantime" : "7",
"kernel" : "scrypt",
"scrypt" : true,
"lookup-gap" : "2",
"thread-concurrency" : "8192",
"gpu-engine" : "0",
"temp-cutoff" : "80",
"temp-overheat" : "70",
"temp-target" : "60",
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"gpu-platform" : "0",
"device" : "0"
}

Any idea how to proceed? :D

Such cheers, very holidays, wow! (during my research I stumbled over dogecoin, and thus the doge meme)

EDIT: Solved by changing the gpu-platform setting in cgm0 from 0 to 1.


Title: Re: First-time miner, can't get Gridcoin mining to work
Post by: lemfuture on December 29, 2013, 08:29:02 PM
my first favorite coin to mine cause of boinc. but ive had issues with wallet so i got in dime coin which is noob friendly  ;D


Title: Re: First-time miner, can't get Gridcoin mining to work
Post by: aliens on December 29, 2013, 08:49:20 PM
What issues did you have?


Title: Re: First-time miner, can't get Gridcoin mining to work
Post by: aliens on December 29, 2013, 09:38:01 PM
Apparently this is a problem:

Code:
cgminer.exe -c cgm0 -T
 [2013-12-29 23:33:00] Started cgminer 3.4.0
 [2013-12-29 23:33:00] Loaded configuration file cgm0
 [2013-12-29 23:33:00] clDevicesNum returned error, no GPUs usable

 [2013-12-29 23:33:00] Command line options set a device that doesn't exist

Also, if this helps:

Code:
cgminer.exe -n
 [2013-12-29 23:33:22] CL Platform 0 vendor: Intel(R) Corporation

 [2013-12-29 23:33:22] CL Platform 0 name: Intel(R) OpenCL
 [2013-12-29 23:33:22] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.1
 [2013-12-29 23:33:22] Error -1: Getting Device IDs (num)
 [2013-12-29 23:33:22] CL Platform 1 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.

 [2013-12-29 23:33:22] CL Platform 1 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing

 [2013-12-29 23:33:22] CL Platform 1 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1348.5)

 [2013-12-29 23:33:22] Platform 1 devices: 1
 [2013-12-29 23:33:22]  0       Pitcairn
 [2013-12-29 23:33:23] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -1

 [2013-12-29 23:33:23] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -1

 [2013-12-29 23:33:23] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -1

 [2013-12-29 23:33:23] GPU 0 AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series hardware monitoring enabl
ed
 [2013-12-29 23:33:23] 1 GPU devices max detected
 [2013-12-29 23:33:23] USB all: found 6 devices - listing known devices

 [2013-12-29 23:33:23] No known USB devices

EDIT: Solved by changing the gpu-platform setting in cgm0 from 0 to 1.