Bitcoin Forum

Alternate cryptocurrencies => Mining (Altcoins) => Topic started by: bitbyebit on January 20, 2014, 03:26:14 PM



Title: How Do I Set UP A Backup Pool on CGMiner?
Post by: bitbyebit on January 20, 2014, 03:26:14 PM
Hi: I had a problem with a pool today.  How can I set up CGMIner to switch to another pool in case the first pool goes down?  My current .bat is like this:

cgminer.exe --scrypt -I 20,20,20,20 -o stratum+tcp://us-west.multipool.us:3352 -u XXX.1 -p XX --thread-concurrency 22400 --gpu-threads 1 --worksize 256 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-engine 905,905,905,905 --gpu-memclock 1250,1250,1250,1250 --auto-fan --config C:\XXX\xxx\xxx\cgminer-3.1.1-windows\cgminer.conf

Thanks for any replies.


Title: Re: How Do I Set UP A Backup Pool on CGMiner?
Post by: os2sam on January 20, 2014, 04:14:02 PM
Put all of your command line arguments towards the beginning with the pool at the end.  The just put a space and start your next pool another -o set of parameters.  Add as many pools and/or servers as you want.


Title: Re: How Do I Set UP A Backup Pool on CGMiner?
Post by: bitbyebit on January 20, 2014, 04:39:58 PM
Put all of your command line arguments towards the beginning with the pool at the end.  The just put a space and start your next pool another -o set of parameters.  Add as many pools and/or servers as you want.

Hello:  I tried this, but I did it wrong.  What do I need to correct?


cgminer-3.1.1-windows\cgminer.exe --scrypt -I 20,20,20,20 -o -u xxx.1 -p x --thread-concurrency 22400 --gpu-threads 1 --worksize 256 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-engine 905,905,905,905 --gpu-memclock 1250,1250,1250,1250 --auto-fan --config C:\xxx\x\x\cgminer-3.1.1-windows\cgminer.conf stratum+tcp://us-west.multipool.us:3352 -o stratum+tcp://us-east.multipool.us:3352 -u xx.1 -p x --thread-concurrency 22400 --gpu-threads 1 --worksize 256 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-engine 905,905,905,905 --gpu-memclock 1250,1250,1250,1250 --auto-fan --config C:\x\x\x\cgminer-3.1.1-windows\cgminer.conf


Title: Re: How Do I Set UP A Backup Pool on CGMiner?
Post by: os2sam on January 20, 2014, 04:48:15 PM
Put all of your command line arguments towards the beginning with the pool at the end.  The just put a space and start your next pool another -o set of parameters.  Add as many pools and/or servers as you want.

Hello:  I tried this, but I did it wrong.  What do I need to correct?


cgminer-3.1.1-windows\cgminer.exe --scrypt -I 20,20,20,20 -o -u xxx.1 -p x --thread-concurrency 22400 --gpu-threads 1 --worksize 256 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-engine 905,905,905,905 --gpu-memclock 1250,1250,1250,1250 --auto-fan --config C:\xxx\x\x\cgminer-3.1.1-windows\cgminer.conf stratum+tcp://us-west.multipool.us:3352 -o stratum+tcp://us-east.multipool.us:3352 -u xx.1 -p x --thread-concurrency 22400 --gpu-threads 1 --worksize 256 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-engine 905,905,905,905 --gpu-memclock 1250,1250,1250,1250 --auto-fan --config C:\x\x\x\cgminer-3.1.1-windows\cgminer.conf

Uh, OK, Lets go back to your original post's command line

cgminer.exe --scrypt -I 20,20,20,20 -o stratum+tcp://us-west.multipool.us:3352 -u XXX.1 -p XX --thread-concurrency 22400 --gpu-threads 1 --worksize 256 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-engine 905,905,905,905 --gpu-memclock 1250,1250,1250,1250 --auto-fan --config C:\XXX\xxx\xxx\cgminer-3.1.1-windows\cgminer.conf

I would change it to

cgminer.exe --scrypt -I 20,20,20,20 --thread-concurrency 22400 --gpu-threads 1 --worksize 256 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-engine 905,905,905,905 --gpu-memclock 1250,1250,1250,1250 --auto-fan --config C:\XXX\xxx\xxx\cgminer-3.1.1-windows\cgminer.conf -o stratum+tcp://us-west.multipool.us:3352 -u XXX.1 -p XX -o "failover pool stuff here"

I've never used the .conf file so I don't know what the ramifications are with combining that with command line options.  I would recommend using one or the other and not both.
Sam


Title: Re: How Do I Set UP A Backup Pool on CGMiner?
Post by: bitbyebit on January 20, 2014, 05:12:42 PM
Thank you buddy.  That worked!


Title: Re: How Do I Set UP A Backup Pool on CGMiner?
Post by: os2sam on January 20, 2014, 05:16:35 PM
Thank you buddy.  That worked!

Glad to hear it.

Keep in mind that this is the Bitcoin section.  The altcoin section has some very knowledgeable folks that are very helpful, probably more so now that there isn't much GPU mining on Bitcoin anymore.

Take Care,
Sam