Bitcoin Forum

Other => Beginners & Help => Topic started by: jay1111 on March 21, 2014, 07:01:08 AM



Title: had cudaminer running on 5870 but now nothing
Post by: jay1111 on March 21, 2014, 07:01:08 AM
So I finally got cudaminer up and running for a day and i was getting a whopping 7-20kb/s using this formula that i found somewhere for dogecoin:

cudaminer -r 10 -R 30 -T 30 -H 1 -i 0 -C 2 -1 auto -- url stratum+tcp://pool:port -u username -p password

setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100





So i thought i would try another thing I found:

cudaminer --script -o stratum+tcp://pool:port -u username -p password -i 20 -g 1 -W 256 --thread-concurrency 8000


It gave me an error that I have now forgotten
so I switched back to the first one and now I get this error no matter what I try: "the application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b)


Thanks
~J


Title: Re: had cudaminer running on 5870 but now nothing
Post by: sudoku on March 21, 2014, 08:12:53 AM
Is that an ATI HD 5870? If so you may want to try using cgminer or bfgminer instead. Cudaminer is useful for NVIDIA cards.


Title: Re: cgminer running on 5870 but super slow
Post by: jay1111 on March 23, 2014, 07:16:35 AM
Alright so I got it working on cgminer but at startup it flashes a speed of 400 or so kh/s but then it drops down to about 20.

It said that the "-i" was not recognized though so that had to go.

Is there a legend somewhere for what these letters mean?

Thanks, J




Title: Re: had cudaminer running on 5870 but now nothing
Post by: Lamber on March 23, 2014, 09:43:17 AM
cgminer is the way to go, you may try sgminer too.


Title: Re: had cudaminer running on 5870 but now nothing
Post by: anon4250158 on March 23, 2014, 10:14:58 AM
So I finally got cudaminer up and running for a day and i was getting a whopping 7-20kb/s using this formula that i found somewhere for dogecoin:

cudaminer -r 10 -R 30 -T 30 -H 1 -i 0 -C 2 -1 auto -- url stratum+tcp://pool:port -u username -p password

setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100





So i thought i would try another thing I found:

cudaminer --script -o stratum+tcp://pool:port -u username -p password -i 20 -g 1 -W 256 --thread-concurrency 8000


It gave me an error that I have now forgotten
so I switched back to the first one and now I get this error no matter what I try: "the application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b)


Thanks
~J

Try

Code:
cudaminer.exe -R 1 -C 0 -a scrypt -o "URL" -u username -p pw

I suggest you don't mess with GPU settings; just let cudaminer pick the best settings.


*EDIT* Now that I read your post more closely, are you saying you're trying to run cudaminer on an ATI Radeon 5870?  Cudaminer is for nVidia cards.  Use cgminer.  Entering
Code:
cgminer -help
will show all options.


Title: Re: had cudaminer running on 5870 but now nothing
Post by: Flashman on March 23, 2014, 12:20:49 PM
Follow this guide...

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=117221.0

Mentally substitute dogecoin for litecoin and put dogecoin pools in where litecoin pools go.

Though it's not a bad idea, to set up on litecoin first, on a large litecoin pool, this stops you chasing your tail should the scrypt coin you are trying to mine be behaving oddly, or the pool be behaving oddly etc... In other words, litecoin is the "reference implementation" as it were of scrypt coins, so if you get it fast and stable on that, you should have no problems on another scrypt coin, and if you do, it's probably external to your machine. Changing to your preferred coin should be as simple as changing the pool on cgminer.