Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Development & Technical Discussion => Topic started by: almightyruler on March 24, 2014, 12:47:38 PM



Title: gitian build (Windows client): vm asks for root password when compiling protobuf
Post by: almightyruler on March 24, 2014, 12:47:38 PM
I've been running the several steps leading up to the point of being able to compile the Windows Bitcoin client with Gitian, but there's one final stumbling block: the vm (KVM) is asking for a root password when trying to compile protobuf. This is the only step so far where it has done this; I presume escalated privileges are needed to update the apt-get repository.

Code:
miner@miner-G31M-ES2L:~/gitian/gitian-builder$ ./bin/gbuild ../bitcoin/contrib/gitian-descriptors/protobuf-win.yml
--- Building for precise amd64 ---
Stopping target if it is up
Making a new image copy
Formatting 'target-precise-amd64.qcow2', fmt=qcow2 size=11811160064 backing_file='base-precise-amd64.qcow2' encryption=off cluster_size=65536 lazy_refcounts=off
Starting target
Checking if target is up
Preparing build environment
protobuf-2.5.0.tar.bz2                                                                                                                                                       100% 1823KB   1.8MB/s   00:00
Updating apt-get repository (log in var/install.log)
root@localhost's password:

I was hoping it may have just cloned the root or user password from the parent system, but no go. Default guesses like "root" or "ubuntu" also fail. I also tried on-target -u root passwd but this prompts for the root password.

Is there a default root password or do I need to do something silly like hax0r the VM to be able to change it? I've been using *nix for nearly 20 years but I've had very little experience with Linux, so I'm still pretty awkward when it comes to the lower level stuff.

Thanks in advance.


Title: Re: gitian build (Windows client): vm asks for root password when compiling protobuf
Post by: Gavin Andresen on March 24, 2014, 01:04:22 PM
Sounds familiar...

... I think I ran into a similar problem that turned out to be ssh being upset that the file permissions on the id_dsa file used to login to the virtual machine were too permissive (because I was running from a FAT32-formatted USB stick that didn't support file permissions at all, if I recall correctly, which I probably don't).



Title: Re: gitian build (Windows client): vm asks for root password when compiling protobuf
Post by: xploited on March 24, 2014, 09:38:30 PM
I had this problem as well when I was compiling using gitian. I'm confident theres a better solution but restarting the vm instance that I was running kvm in solved the issue. Likely something to do with residuals left from the previous dependency builds that werent removed correctly wjem they completed.

I stopped digging after the reboot solved the issue.


Title: Re: gitian build (Windows client): vm asks for root password when compiling protobuf
Post by: victormx on March 24, 2014, 11:53:08 PM
I had this problem as well when I was compiling using gitian. I'm confident theres a better solution but restarting the vm instance that I was running kvm in solved the issue. Likely something to do with residuals left from the previous dependency builds that werent removed correctly wjem they completed.

I stopped digging after the reboot solved the issue.
Same solution here.


Title: Re: gitian build (Windows client): vm asks for root password when compiling protobuf
Post by: almightyruler on March 25, 2014, 03:25:15 AM
I ended up restarting the build from scratch (including a fresh VM) and building of protobuf has completed.

Couple of reasons I can think the first try may have failed:

1. I ran out of disk space on the host when building earlier dependencies. The build didn't exit or show an error, it just seemed to pause indefinitely, so I tried a few times before I realised.

2. I ran at least one of the dependency build steps as root. Can't remember why.

3. Gremlins