Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Bitcoin Technical Support => Topic started by: Mailbox1403 on June 06, 2022, 03:14:00 AM



Title: Need to access Bitcoincore testnet externally
Post by: Mailbox1403 on June 06, 2022, 03:14:00 AM
Hello
I am a newbie and need some help.
I am running the "Bitcoin core testnet" on my ubuntu machine, I wanted to call testnet externally to "sign the message" and to pass a "raw transaction".
My Idea is to make supplier payments from ERP by calling the BItcoincore testnet first and then later on the mainnet. Any idea/documentation/thread/input is highly appreciated.


Title: Re: Need to access Bitcoincore testnet externally
Post by: ranochigo on June 06, 2022, 04:06:36 AM
You can use the RPC in Bitcoin Core to do so: https://developer.bitcoin.org/reference/rpc/.

You will need to have a tunnelling or VPN because the RPC connections are not encrypted.


Title: Re: Need to access Bitcoincore testnet externally
Post by: NeuroticFish on June 06, 2022, 09:20:55 AM
Maybe you already know, but I want to be sure:
You will probably have to run bitcoind (i.e. the daemon, not the wallet UI).
Also, if what I've read here is correct (https://bitcoin.stackexchange.com/questions/54986/to-run-bitcoin-core-testnet-on-ubuntu-16-04), you may have to add -testnet as parameter to your calls.


Title: Re: Need to access Bitcoincore testnet externally
Post by: ABCbits on June 06, 2022, 12:01:19 PM
My Idea is to make supplier payments from ERP by calling the BItcoincore testnet first and then later on the mainnet. Any idea/documentation/thread/input is highly appreciated.

Are you aware of this Bitcoin Core limitation?

I would not recommend doing that. Bitcoin Core is not well equipped to handle both large wallets, and a large number of wallets. Either it will perform very poorly or it will consume more memory than you have.

It is not possible to get a wallet's balance without loading it. Loading a wallet can take a lot of time, and constantly loading and unloading wallets will waste a lot of time. When a wallet is loaded, it is entirely loaded into memory and the entire wallet is iterated at least once.



Maybe you already know, but I want to be sure:
You will probably have to run bitcoind (i.e. the daemon, not the wallet UI).

When you start wallet UI (Bitcoin Qt), the daemon (bitcoind) also running on background. But OP should use bitcoind directly for server.


Title: Re: Need to access Bitcoincore testnet externally
Post by: Mailbox1403 on June 06, 2022, 08:18:41 PM
@ETFbitcoin
I don't know about the Bitcoind limitation to perform a smooth proof of concept. Thank you for the heads-up.
Do you recommend any other setup to integrate ERP & Bitcoin Payments?
My idea is to use Bitcoin core without any wrapper. (i am thinking to run umbrel on a side project, not sure if it works
for my proof of concept idea)


Title: Re: Need to access Bitcoincore testnet externally
Post by: BitMaxz on June 06, 2022, 10:59:04 PM
~snip~
Do you recommend any other setup to integrate ERP & Bitcoin Payments?
My idea is to use Bitcoin core without any wrapper. (i am thinking to run umbrel on a side project, not sure if it works
for my proof of concept idea)


If it's all about Bitcoin payments then I think you can check BTCpayserver.
I don't know what do you mean without any wrapper but I guess you don't want to use any 3rd party? BTCpatserver can be self-hosted it doesn't have any 3rd party and all payments are direct to/from your wallet, and I think you can integrate it into ERP.

Check it here https://btcpayserver.org/ You can start playing it with testnet and then later switch to mainnet.


Title: Re: Need to access Bitcoincore testnet externally
Post by: Mailbox1403 on June 06, 2022, 11:08:31 PM
@BitMaxz
Thank you for the Idea, I will try BTCPay Server.
I may have to find a way to expose it to the outside world securely and then I can call BTCPay Server from ERP.
I am still learning, Yes, you are right about the wrapper.


Title: Re: Need to access Bitcoincore testnet externally
Post by: ABCbits on June 07, 2022, 09:45:30 AM
@ETFbitcoin
I don't know about the Bitcoind limitation to perform a smooth proof of concept. Thank you for the heads-up.
Do you recommend any other setup to integrate ERP & Bitcoin Payments?
My idea is to use Bitcoin core without any wrapper. (i am thinking to run umbrel on a side project, not sure if it works
for my proof of concept idea)


BTCPay usually is best option. But if you're looking for cheaper/easier setup and don't mind reduced privacy, consider Mycelium Gear[1]. While it's 3rd party service, only you have access to your Bitcoin since they only ask your xpub/master public key. And there's no fee when your monthly volume is 0.1BTC or less[3].

[1] https://gear.mycelium.com/
[2] https://gear.mycelium.com/docs/creating_a_new_gateway
[3] https://gear.mycelium.com/pricing


Title: Re: Need to access Bitcoincore testnet externally
Post by: NotATether on June 08, 2022, 03:55:39 AM
@BitMaxz
Thank you for the Idea, I will try BTCPay Server.
I may have to find a way to expose it to the outside world securely and then I can call BTCPay Server from ERP.
I am still learning, Yes, you are right about the wrapper.

If you are going to use BTCPayServer on Testnet, you have to cofigure that manually. The docker image sets up mainnet transactions by default.

That is, not only will you have to run bitcoind in testnet, you also need to run NBXplorer (a BTCPayServer progam) in testnet mode as well.


Title: Re: Need to access Bitcoincore testnet externally
Post by: seoincorporation on June 15, 2022, 02:43:10 PM
I am running the "Bitcoin core testnet" on my ubuntu machine, I wanted to call testnet externally to "sign the message" and to pass a "raw transaction".

My idea is to use Bitcoin core without any wrapper. (i am thinking to run umbrel on a side project, not sure if it works

How externally do you want to call it?, if you want to work only on your LAN then it's simple as opening the ports on ubuntu, but if you want to call it from the WAN then you will have to take down your modem firewall, set the machine on DMZ and set up a no-ip.

You could create a page to call those functions, but since you don't want to use any wrapper, then SSH could be the right tool to connect directly to the machine and use the bitcoin-cli tool to work with the transaction.


Title: Re: Need to access Bitcoincore testnet externally
Post by: Mailbox1403 on June 19, 2022, 08:19:27 PM
Thank you for your replies, i am trying in SSH direction.