Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Bitcoin Technical Support => Topic started by: animalroam on April 26, 2014, 01:08:34 AM



Title: Run two bitcoind at once?
Post by: animalroam on April 26, 2014, 01:08:34 AM
How would you run two bitcoind at once?  I want to run two different websites, but I only have one wallet running.  Is it possible to get another one to run on the same VPS?  If so, how?


Title: Re: Run two bitcoind at once?
Post by: BookLover on April 26, 2014, 02:09:35 AM
I believe you can run two instances of bitcoind by using the -port= and -datadir= commands.


Title: Re: Run two bitcoind at once?
Post by: animalroam on April 26, 2014, 02:49:44 AM
I believe you can run two instances of bitcoind by using the -port= and -datadir= commands.
Mind explaining or giving a link?  Can't find it on Google.


Title: Re: Run two bitcoind at once?
Post by: grue on April 26, 2014, 03:05:45 AM
I believe you can run two instances of bitcoind by using the -port= and -datadir= commands.
Mind explaining or giving a link?  Can't find it on Google.
either you didn't search at all or your keywords are terrible.
Code:
bitcoind -port=1234 -datadir=coin1 &
bitcoind -port=12345 -datadir=coin2 &


Title: Re: Run two bitcoind at once?
Post by: shorena on April 26, 2014, 06:40:22 AM
I believe you can run two instances of bitcoind by using the -port= and -datadir= commands.
Mind explaining or giving a link?  Can't find it on Google.
either you didn't search at all or your keywords are terrible.
Code:
bitcoind -port=1234 -datadir=coin1 &
bitcoind -port=12345 -datadir=coin2 &

Google still uses "-" as indicator that what comes next should not be in the results ;)

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin


Title: Re: Run two bitcoind at once?
Post by: animalroam on April 26, 2014, 02:08:38 PM
I believe you can run two instances of bitcoind by using the -port= and -datadir= commands.
Mind explaining or giving a link?  Can't find it on Google.
either you didn't search at all or your keywords are terrible.
Code:
bitcoind -port=1234 -datadir=coin1 &
bitcoind -port=12345 -datadir=coin2 &

Thanks, but would they use the same RPC file?

I believe you can run two instances of bitcoind by using the -port= and -datadir= commands.
Mind explaining or giving a link?  Can't find it on Google.
either you didn't search at all or your keywords are terrible.
Code:
bitcoind -port=1234 -datadir=coin1 &
bitcoind -port=12345 -datadir=coin2 &

Google still uses "-" as indicator that what comes next should not be in the results ;)

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin

Probably :P


Title: Re: Run two bitcoind at once?
Post by: BookLover on April 26, 2014, 09:56:06 PM
You may also find the -rpcport= and the -conf= commands helpful.

https://bitcointalk.org/?topic=589.0 (https://bitcointalk.org/?topic=589.0)