Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Electrum => Topic started by: marat22 on June 20, 2014, 04:49:13 PM



Title: Issues with Electrum bash commands
Post by: marat22 on June 20, 2014, 04:49:13 PM
I'm talking about terminal/bash, not the Electrum console.

If I navigate to the Electrum executable file on Mac (/Applications/Electrum.app/Contents/MacOS) and type:

Code:
./electrum listaddresses

I get a perfectly good response with a list of my addresses.

But if I want to send some Bitcoins to some address using the "payto" command:

Code:
./electrum payto 1CM6v8N9ZST5koc8g7W2So6hKyADQYvi8B 0.001

It first asks me for my password (so it recognised my command) and when I input my password it starts a deamon (Starting deamon [some node]) and then... nothing. It doesn't send the coins neither does anything else. It's just... idle.

It's the same if I include the fee into transaction:

Code:
./electrum payto 1CM6v8N9ZST5koc8g7W2So6hKyADQYvi8B 0.001 --fee=0.0002

Has anyone tried to send bitcoins through the unix terminal? Am I doing something wrong?


Title: Re: Issues with Electrum bash commands
Post by: dabura667 on June 20, 2014, 05:40:40 PM
I'm talking about terminal/bash, not the Electrum console.

If I navigate to the Electrum executable file on Mac (/Applications/Electrum.app/Contents/MacOS) and type:

Code:
./electrum listaddresses

I get a perfectly good response with a list of my addresses.

But if I want to send some Bitcoins to some address using the "payto" command:

Code:
./electrum payto 1CM6v8N9ZST5koc8g7W2So6hKyADQYvi8B 0.001

It first asks me for my password (so it recognised my command) and when I input my password it starts a deamon (Starting deamon [some node]) and then... nothing. It doesn't send the coins neither does anything else. It's just... idle.

It's the same if I include the fee into transaction:

Code:
./electrum payto 1CM6v8N9ZST5koc8g7W2So6hKyADQYvi8B 0.001 --fee=0.0002

Has anyone tried to send bitcoins through the unix terminal? Am I doing something wrong?

Are you 100% sure about your password being correct? You might want to check that.


Title: Re: Issues with Electrum bash commands
Post by: marat22 on June 20, 2014, 06:13:38 PM
Yes, 100% sure. If I type a wrong password I get this Error: This password does not decode this wallet. but if I type the right one the daemon starts and then goes idle... weird.


Title: Re: Issues with Electrum bash commands
Post by: dabura667 on June 20, 2014, 06:30:14 PM
Yes, 100% sure. If I type a wrong password I get this Error: This password does not decode this wallet. but if I type the right one the daemon starts and then goes idle... weird.

Did you try mktx and see if the signed tx comes back alright? If it does, then that means the problem is in the network interface.


Title: Re: Issues with Electrum bash commands
Post by: marat22 on June 20, 2014, 07:47:53 PM
Yes, 100% sure. If I type a wrong password I get this Error: This password does not decode this wallet. but if I type the right one the daemon starts and then goes idle... weird.

Did you try mktx and see if the signed tx comes back alright? If it does, then that means the problem is in the network interface.

Thanks, I tried it now and a signed tx goes thru. So what kind of problem can be in the network interface? Like firewall?