Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Hardware => Topic started by: volosator on August 25, 2014, 03:27:11 PM



Title: Multiple SPI chains from RPi
Post by: volosator on August 25, 2014, 03:27:11 PM
Guys,

I have multiple boards with SPI connection. Boards are populated with BFY chips.
How do I use more than 2 with RPi? I can not chain them together - there has to a way to reassign GPIO pins to use as CS.


Any ideas?


Title: Re: Multiple SPI chains from RPi
Post by: richardamullens on August 25, 2014, 11:19:02 PM

I have multiple boards with SPI connection. Boards are populated with BFY chips.
How do I use more than 2 with RPi? I can not chain them together - there has to a way to reassign GPIO pins to use as CS.

You could implement SPI in software and allocate a different GPIO pin for each chip select.  Doing SPI in software isn't difficult per se.



Title: Re: Multiple SPI chains from RPi
Post by: Taugeran on August 26, 2014, 01:57:57 AM
From the sounds of it you have some BLackarrow bitfury boards sitting around and don't have a controller. Or similar product


Pictures or confirmation would help


Title: Re: Multiple SPI chains from RPi
Post by: Dexter770221 on August 26, 2014, 10:46:32 AM
Three of these:
http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/SN74CBTLV3251PWR/296-9129-1-ND/378104
and you good to go. You can split one SPI to eight. Of course you need to add some additional piece of code to driver.


Title: Re: Multiple SPI chains from RPi
Post by: Taugeran on August 26, 2014, 02:14:42 PM
Three of these:
http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/SN74CBTLV3251PWR/296-9129-1-ND/378104
and you good to go. You can split one SPI to eight. Of course you need to add some additional piece of code to driver.
this would work.


Title: Re: Multiple SPI chains from RPi
Post by: volosator on August 27, 2014, 05:30:15 PM
How is this appears in RPi exactly?
Does cgminer require any code change to work with them?


Title: Re: Multiple SPI chains from RPi
Post by: Taugeran on August 27, 2014, 05:34:47 PM
How is this appears in RPi exactly?
Does cgminer require any code change to work with them?

Yes it would require code changes


Title: Re: Multiple SPI chains from RPi
Post by: volosator on August 27, 2014, 07:24:49 PM
The idea is to use standard mining software with absolutely no modifications.


Title: Re: Multiple SPI chains from RPi
Post by: Taugeran on August 28, 2014, 04:30:33 AM
The idea is to use standard mining software with absolutely no modifications.


again ill ask: photograph of boards or identity of boards would be most helpful


Title: Re: Multiple SPI chains from RPi
Post by: volosator on August 28, 2014, 07:51:57 PM
Board called DNA1 - there is no pictures available - only schematics. It has 46 chips, 2 banks of 23 each.
Board size is 80x80mm, I can add more banks if only I can run more SPI chains from RPi.

This is homegrown DIY project.