Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Mining => Topic started by: rooflez on May 23, 2011, 07:54:13 AM



Title: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: rooflez on May 23, 2011, 07:54:13 AM
Can't figure out what I did wrong, I used the NewsLobster tutorial (http://www.newslobster.com/random/how-to-get-started-using-your-gpu-to-mine-for-bitcoins-on-windows), following the directions (somewhat) well.

What happens is that I run my bat file, I see a window pop up with the batch file's interior code, then a blank window, which immediately crashes stating "poclbm.exe has stopped working".

Code:
start /DC:\Bitcoin\poclbm_py2exe_20119428 poclbm.exe --user=user --pass=pass --device=0

Halp?


Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: timmmay on May 23, 2011, 10:10:35 AM
You haven't given it a pool URL to talk to.....

My batch looks like this:

start poclbm.exe -d0 --host=deepbit.net --port=8332 --user=user --pass=pass


Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: rooflez on May 23, 2011, 08:01:20 PM
I added a pool (and looked at proper syntax) and now I have this:

Code:
start /DC:\Bitcoin\poclbm_py2exe_20119428 poclbm.exe -d0  -odeepbit.net -p8332  --user=user --pass=pass

Now it starts up, has a blank screen for about 10 seconds, and then crashes.


Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: rooflez on May 23, 2011, 08:09:27 PM
Can anyone help?


Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: rooflez on May 23, 2011, 08:28:10 PM
Bump for help?


Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: grndzero on May 23, 2011, 08:40:59 PM
I added a pool (and looked at proper syntax) and now I have this:

Code:
start /DC:\Bitcoin\poclbm_py2exe_20119428 poclbm.exe -d0  -odeepbit.net -p8332  --user=user --pass=pass

Now it starts up, has a blank screen for about 10 seconds, and then crashes.

Does the directory C:\Bitcoin\poclbm_py2exe_20119428 exist and is poclbm.exe in it?

Did you create your own account at deepbit and put your own username and password in it, or are you literally using --user=user --pass=pass because that's not going to work.

Are sure sure your video card is actually device 0?

I think you need poclbm_py2exe_20110428 not poclbm_py2exe_20119428


Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: bobR on May 23, 2011, 08:47:28 PM
I added a pool (and looked at proper syntax) and now I have this:

Code:
start /DC:\Bitcoin\poclbm_py2exe_20119428 poclbm.exe -d0  -odeepbit.net -p8332  --user=user --pass=pass

Now it starts up, has a blank screen for about 10 seconds, and then crashes.

I beleive it's   -d 0 -o deepbit.net -p 8332


Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: rooflez on May 23, 2011, 08:53:52 PM

I beleive it's   -d 0 -o deepbit.net -p 8332

Changed it, same error.


Does the directory C:\Bitcoin\poclbm_py2exe_20119428 exist and is poclbm.exe in it?

Did you create your own account at deepbit and put your own username and password in it, or are you literally using --user=user --pass=pass because that's not going to work.

Are sure sure your video card is actually device 0?

I think you need poclbm_py2exe_20110428 not poclbm_py2exe_20119428
1. Yes
2.Yes
3. I only have 1 video card, but how do I check?


Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: grndzero on May 23, 2011, 09:11:08 PM
try

start /DC:\Bitcoin\poclbm_py2exe_20110428 poclbm.exe -d 0  -o deepbit.net -p 8332  --user=user --pass=pass
pause

in your bat file and see what it says


Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: rooflez on May 23, 2011, 09:24:59 PM
There isn't a directory called poclbm_py2exe_20110428 in that folder, doesn't work :(



Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: grndzero on May 23, 2011, 09:27:39 PM
There isn't a directory called poclbm_py2exe_20110428 in that folder, doesn't work :(



then change it to:

start /DC:\Bitcoin\poclbm_py2exe_20119428 poclbm.exe -d 0  -o deepbit.net -p 8332  --user=user --pass=pass
pause

and what does it say?


Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: rooflez on May 23, 2011, 09:40:47 PM
It displays the content of the batch file, opens a new window (poclbm.exe), where it shows the new window for about 5 seconds and crashes.


Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: grndzero on May 23, 2011, 09:51:51 PM
It displays the content of the batch file, opens a new window (poclbm.exe), where it shows the new window for about 5 seconds and crashes.

I don't mine on windows so if you're not getting error messages I don't know what to tell you.

Ask in the official poclbm thread here: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=1334.0


Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: rooflez on May 23, 2011, 09:56:48 PM
Could it be that I have an nVidia card?


Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: IlbiStarz on May 28, 2011, 11:13:20 AM
I have the same problem but it's AMD...


Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: timmmay on May 28, 2011, 01:55:43 PM
Try this:

1. Open up command prompt (Start - Run - cmd.exe)
2. cd \bitcoin (is this where poclbm.exe is? if not, go to the correct folder)
3. run poclbm.exe and it will output what devices it detects
4. post results here



Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: IlbiStarz on May 28, 2011, 04:26:25 PM
I did that and it just starts up and freezes like before.


Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: IlbiStarz on May 28, 2011, 05:06:44 PM
Got something to work!!!
Now when i run poclbm.exe, cmd shows up really quick and exits. It says something like "Wrong platform or more than one OpenCL platforms, choose one of the following,
1. AMD Accelerated Stream Processing.
2. ATI Stream.
But it closes to fast for me to do anything.


Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: IlbiStarz on May 28, 2011, 05:26:50 PM
NOOO it's not working again...
Any run of poclbm.exe makes it freeze.


Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: djex on May 28, 2011, 05:53:10 PM
Got something to work!!!
Now when i run poclbm.exe, cmd shows up really quick and exits. It says something like "Wrong platform or more than one OpenCL platforms, choose one of the following,
1. AMD Accelerated Stream Processing.
2. ATI Stream.
But it closes to fast for me to do anything.


Add in "-platform 1" without quotes to the command line.

For example: C:\Bitcoin\poclbm_py2exe_20119428\poclbm.exe -d 0 -platform 1  -o deepbit.net -p 8332  --user=your_user_name_here --pass=your_password_here


Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: IlbiStarz on May 28, 2011, 05:58:05 PM
Got something to work!!!
Now when i run poclbm.exe, cmd shows up really quick and exits. It says something like "Wrong platform or more than one OpenCL platforms, choose one of the following,
1. AMD Accelerated Stream Processing.
2. ATI Stream.
But it closes to fast for me to do anything.


Add in "-platform 1" without quotes to the command line.

For example: C:\Bitcoin\poclbm_py2exe_20119428\poclbm.exe -d 0 -platform 1  -o deepbit.net -p 8332  --user=your_user_name_here --pass=your_password_here

It was working for a few minutes, using platform -0. platform -1 only gave me 300mh/s on a 5850.
However, when I restarted my computer, it's not working again. I can't even run poclbm by itself without it going "it has stopped working".
This is really frustrating me...

Should I try Ubuntu? I heard it's harder to configure everything on there tho...


Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: IlbiStarz on May 28, 2011, 06:01:35 PM
..okay this is so weird.
Now it's not freezing again, but it's showing something like

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "poclbm.py", line 3, in <module>
File "pyopencl\_init_.pyo.", line 3, in <module>
---
---
Import Error: DLL load failed: the specified modeul could not be found.


Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: timmmay on May 28, 2011, 10:13:36 PM
Try removing your old ATI drivers and the current AMD drivers.  Reinstall the current drivers and try again.


Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: rooflez on May 29, 2011, 02:58:19 AM
Tried the platform thing, no luck.

Is it nVidia?


Title: Re: [Help]poclbm.exe stopped working?
Post by: rooflez on June 06, 2011, 03:18:58 AM
Bumping again for help.