Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Hardware => Topic started by: attentiondivided on March 06, 2015, 11:58:08 AM



Title: How to OverClock BitCrane T-110s
Post by: attentiondivided on March 06, 2015, 11:58:08 AM
I recently purchased a bitcrane t-110s from BitCrane and so far I love it

Since it didn't come with a user manual, or anything that let me have access, I have been emailing back and forth with Bitcrane support just to get ssh access credentials, and go through some of the settings.

To overclock the Bitcrane T-110s, all you have to do is change 2 settings inside of 1 file and restart the bitcrane.

Now you will need a SSH client, like BitVise or Putty. I use bitvise.

With your SSH client, type the IP of your miner, user the username and password below:
Code:
username: cubie
password: cubie


After you login, type this command to edit the pools.conf.json file.

Code:
sudo vi /usr/local/bin/page/config/pools.conf.json

User 'Insert' on you keyboard to edit the file in command line. You can change the line
Code:
{"mode":"economic","freq1":600,"voltage1":0,"freq2":675,"voltage2":0}
to
Code:
{"mode":"economic","freq1":600,"voltage1":0,"freq2":725,"voltage2":0}

When you are done changing that type this and hit enter:
Code:
:wq

Now that that is done, you are going to want to restart you Bitcrane by typing this:
Code:
sudo killall cgminer

And after your miner starts back up FULLY, THEN RUN THIS COMMAND one more time
Code:
sudo killall cgminer


This seems to do the trick. If you change it too much, the machine will just try to boot up but it will not. It will just keep restarting the ASIC that you changed.

Code:
ASIC 1 is FREQ1
ASIC 2 is FREQ2

I have a YouTube Video below, but its probably better to just follow my guide here. I got all of this info from Bitcrane and have tried it myself on my BitCrane T-110s and it looks like I'm getting around 1.4Th/s now. Not much better, but better.

Code:
Youtube Video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SoI42ICcAwY



Friendly Reminder: This post has been updated to fit the new confiuration of most Bitcrane T110 and T110s



Donate BTC If I Helped You Today
My Wallet Address: 1E6uanwNe3uNWqTUEwH621tJ7iN1Z2rKxs


Title: Re: How to OverClock BitCrane T-110s
Post by: RazorBack on May 14, 2015, 01:30:24 AM
So how high have you gone up on this for overclocking?  What has been your long term results with overclocking it.


Title: Re: How to OverClock BitCrane T-110s
Post by: ccoaston on July 31, 2015, 01:33:58 PM
I recently purchased a bitcrane t-110s from BitCrane and so far I love it

Since it didn't come with a user manual, or anything that let me have access, I have been emailing back and forth with Bitcrane support just to get ssh access credentials, and go through some of the settings.

To overclock the Bitcrane T-110s, all you have to do is change 2 settings inside of 1 file and restart the bitcrane.

Now you will need a SSH client, like BitVise or Putty. I use bitvise.

With your SSH client, type the IP of your miner, user the username and password below:
Code:
username: cubie
password: cubie


After you login, type this command to edit the mode file.

Code:
sudo vi /usr/local/bin/page/config/mode.conf.json

User 'Insert' on you keyboard to edit the file in command line. You can change the line
Code:
{"mode":"economic","freq1":600,"voltage1":0,"freq2":675,"voltage2":0}
to
Code:
{"mode":"economic","freq1":600,"voltage1":0,"freq2":725,"voltage2":0}

When you are done changing that type this and hit enter:
Code:
:wq

Now that that is done, you are going to want to restart you Bitcrane by typing this:
Code:
sudo killall cgminer

And after your miner starts back up FULLY, THEN RUN THIS COMMAND one more time
Code:
sudo killall cgminer


This seems to do the trick. If you change it too much, the machine will just try to boot up but it will not. It will just keep restarting the ASIC that you changed.

Code:
ASIC 1 is FREQ1
ASIC 2 is FREQ2

I have a YouTube Video below, but its probably better to just follow my guide here. I got all of this info from Bitcrane and have tried it myself on my BitCrane T-110s and it looks like I'm getting around 1.4Th/s now. Not much better, but better.

Code:
Youtube Video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SoI42ICcAwY

Donate Bitcoin To Me
14Pcphzk2bcGWDjpHbtZ5gDnHnBXiS9aKP


This file isn't there only.
sudo /usr/local/bin/page/config/mode.conf.jso­n"

This is what I have
cubie@Cubian:/usr/local/bin/page/config$ ls -a
.   addr.conf.json       ping.config.json  pools.conf.json
..  .addr.conf.json.swp  ping.conf.json    .pools.conf.json.swp
cubie@Cubian:/usr/local/bin/page/config$


Title: Re: How to OverClock BitCrane T-110s
Post by: ccoaston on July 31, 2015, 09:00:15 PM
How can I overclock my machine?

I don't have this file in the specified location
wanted to edit the mode.conf.jso­n, Where is it located??


Title: Re: How to OverClock BitCrane T-110s
Post by: ccoaston on August 02, 2015, 03:46:26 PM
Bump


Title: Re: How to OverClock BitCrane T-110s
Post by: ccoaston on August 03, 2015, 02:53:40 AM
If anyone needs the answer here it is. Bitcrane finally got back to me.

Please use pools.conf.json to change the frequency if you need. There is no mode.conf.jso­n in T-110S's image.
You can find this file in the following tracking path,
/usr/local/bin/page/config
Thanks & Regards,


Mark Cheung


Title: Re: How to OverClock BitCrane T-110s
Post by: attentiondivided on December 31, 2015, 04:32:15 PM
This is correct.

I apologize for my outdated video. I bought the t110-s when it was first released, and i was the first to overclock it.

When I overclocked mine, I was able to hit around 1.4 th/s but, I don't know about any long term effects on the hardware. I only overclocked it, let it run for a couple days or so, and then switched it back to the default settings

Please use the advice given by ccoaston.

Same Location
Different File.

Ill update my post in a second about this.

NEW Config File: pools.conf.json
odd, the mode.conf.json, was actually one of their first setups.


Title: Re: How to OverClock BitCrane T-110s
Post by: attentiondivided on December 31, 2015, 04:42:33 PM
So how high have you gone up on this for overclocking?  What has been your long term results with overclocking it.

around 1.3 to 1.4 th/s. I didn't  do any long term overclocking. I do know that at 1.1 th/s, default settings, the btc runs at a very high temp.
around 103c is about the average for each ASIC. But When I overclocked it,
the temp of both asic's went up to 108c.

The Bitcrane by default, has a safegaurd setting. If it even touches 110 C temp... it will shut down for 10 minutes, usually i have to flip the power switch off and wait 10 minutes, then turn it back on.

I hit 110c temps before once or twice.

As far as long term overclocking, you should consider a new powersupply for the asics. but don't go messing things up because if you bought yours from Bitcrane too, you still have your warranty ... I believe.