Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Mining => Topic started by: DarkKnightNomeD on May 27, 2011, 04:56:05 AM



Title: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: DarkKnightNomeD on May 27, 2011, 04:56:05 AM
I Built our first miner with  some Computer with Parts my Brother Ordered like 2 weeks ago

anyway he ordered 2 5850's like i told him

Gigabyte, I currently have 2 crossfire cables connected to each other, i mean, the ones that come with Each Computer, they are currently on, not sure if im supposed to put one or put both??

anyway

the first Video card works fine, getting 270+ mhashes NOT overclocked or anything, everything is base

anyway, the second card is giving a Unusual Behavior in OPEN CL

i have cata drivers 11.4

i also have a second monitor hooked up to the second card just in case

so what would be the problem

also its only seeming to read only 1 vid card


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: bcpokey on May 27, 2011, 04:59:31 AM
Your phrasing is very confusing. You have 2 5850s, does windows(?) detect them both or only 1? If it detects them both what do you mean "unusual behavior in openCL"?

As far as mining goes you don't need the crossfire cable btw.


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: DarkKnightNomeD on May 27, 2011, 05:01:42 AM
ok just found this out

its showing as DISABLED, maybe i gota go into BIOS


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: bitlackey on May 27, 2011, 05:05:22 AM
plugin a monitor to the 2nd card


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: DarkKnightNomeD on May 27, 2011, 05:08:13 AM
i do have a second monitor plugged into second card and its on


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: bitlackey on May 27, 2011, 05:27:04 AM
i do have a second monitor plugged into second card and its on
sorry I looked over that, did you set it up as an extended display?


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: DarkKnightNomeD on May 27, 2011, 05:31:31 AM
let me do that, ill reply in a sec


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: DarkKnightNomeD on May 27, 2011, 05:32:09 AM
yes i did, and its working


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: DarkKnightNomeD on May 27, 2011, 05:38:08 AM
ok this is fking wierd

i just noticed just now

in my ATI OVERDRIVE / Overclock settings, its showing it as 137 herts and 300 memory, its like Super underclocked


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: Nilarium on May 27, 2011, 05:43:15 AM
cards always use low freqency in 2d (windows)
its ok.


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: DarkKnightNomeD on May 27, 2011, 05:44:43 AM
noo i dont think so, usually the frequencys are 700 and 1200+

and its 150 and 300


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: DarkKnightNomeD on May 27, 2011, 05:56:22 AM
im starting to think i have the WRONG DRIVERS


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: sead on May 27, 2011, 06:10:51 AM
i am a mining newb too - but are you should not use crossfire on opencl/cal computations

fe.
http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=390&threadid=134757

happy computing


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: DarkKnightNomeD on May 27, 2011, 06:45:32 AM
i just removed the crossfire's

i just installed catalyst 11.5

for some FREAKING reason

my Clocking and Memory, will be normal 700 and 1200 whatever

then it will jump to 150 and 300 for no freaking reason


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: timmmay on May 27, 2011, 11:46:48 AM
i just removed the crossfire's

i just installed catalyst 11.5

for some FREAKING reason

my Clocking and Memory, will be normal 700 and 1200 whatever

then it will jump to 150 and 300 for no freaking reason

mine does this too when i'm not mining...no idea why

Do yourself a favour, download MSI Afterburner and use that to set the clock/fan settings.  Kill the CCC.exe process or your miner will crash often.


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: Chucksta on May 27, 2011, 12:30:05 PM
MSI afterburner FTW  :D


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: DarkKnightNomeD on May 27, 2011, 01:43:34 PM
i feel asleep last night

the problem i had last night was that the Computer would RESTART whlie Mining for 5 to 15 minutes


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: timmmay on May 27, 2011, 01:53:20 PM
i feel asleep last night

the problem i had last night was that the Computer would RESTART whlie Mining for 5 to 15 minutes

Use MSI Afterburner and keep an eye on the temps.  HWMonitor is good to monitor temps too.

What clock are the cards set at?

What temp are they running at?


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: Serge on May 27, 2011, 02:14:37 PM
i feel asleep last night

the problem i had last night was that the Computer would RESTART whlie Mining for 5 to 15 minutes

the issue maybe due to a single or a combination of following:
a) too much overclocking
b) overheating
c) not enough power


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: DarkKnightNomeD on May 27, 2011, 02:18:13 PM
i feel asleep last night

the problem i had last night was that the Computer would RESTART whlie Mining for 5 to 15 minutes

the issue maybe due to a single or a combination of following:
a) too much overclocking
b) overheating
c) not enough power


i just found this out, my second video card will not overclock infact that S.O.B. will not even Default Clock

its Underclocking itself, and i cant stop it

i used ati trays, i used msi afterburner, its staying at 157  cpu mhz and 300 memory mhz


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: Serge on May 27, 2011, 02:51:28 PM
people who said don't use crossfire - i'm not sure how they able to run dual cards on windows without crossfire, i wasn't able to run them both without it

- use single crossfire bridge between two cards ( i don't think it matters which connection out of two you use)
- in ati ccc enable crossfire
- do all tweaks in msi afterburner (i don't look at what ati ccc reports as current clock values as long as i know both my cards hashing at expected rates

sometimes when overclocking system can become unstable and even after reboots sometimes acts weird, to fix it i would just uninstall and install video drives again in device manager in control panel and start steps above all over

get both cards recognized and able to mine at default values, and keep an eye on gpu temps.  lowering mem clock will allow to bump gpu clock and keeping temps under control.  overclocking uses more power per cards so if you have low power supply overclocking may render system unstable too.


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: DarkKnightNomeD on May 27, 2011, 03:00:16 PM
i think IT IS CCC underclocking my second video card

i just installed 11.5 drivers only with cl 2.4

"Previous Drivers" on ati site, does not load 11.4 ccc and drivers only for me


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: orthzar on May 27, 2011, 03:08:49 PM
What wattage is your power supply rated at?   I recall that the more modern cards need in excess of 500 watts to function properly.

You might test each card separately to see if you got a bad card. For example, you might play a 3d game with only card 1 installed, then play with only card 2 installed, then play with both cards installed (and bridged?).


Good luck


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: DarkKnightNomeD on May 27, 2011, 03:23:32 PM
i think i just figured it out

i uninstalled all drivers, installed 11.5 catalyst drivers only, it comes with 2.4 for some odd reason

also video card number 1 is overheating i guess cuz its too close to video card number 2


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: timmmay on May 27, 2011, 10:10:12 PM
i just found this out, my second video card will not overclock infact that S.O.B. will not even Default Clock

its Underclocking itself, and i cant stop it

i used ati trays, i used msi afterburner, its staying at 157  cpu mhz and 300 memory mhz

swap the cards around on the motherboard and see if that helps


Title: Re: Will someone Help me Real Quick? first mining rig
Post by: pokermon919 on May 27, 2011, 10:34:06 PM
I've noticed the underclocking on my sapphire 5870 also. This was after I was able to clock beyond the range that ATI would allow. There was a thread that gave instructions to allow MSI Afterburner to clock beyond the locked ranges. It was a mod to the msi config file. That didn't work for me, but luckily I found a site about overclocking and copied them. I use AMD GPU Tool to set clocks, then use MSI Afterburner to set fan speed. With this method I was able to clock beyond the locked ranges which capped the core clock at 900mhz.

Currently my 5870 is Core=960 Mem =335, getting ~400mhash

Here is where I noticed the same thing as the OP, after clocking beyond the set range and restarting my comp the clocks I saved disappeared, and my gpu was way underclocked. This still applied even when I save the clock settings and even click the option in MSI to apply the clocks are startup. I've just given up and redo the clocks if I restart my comp, which hardly happens since I'll be mining 24/7.