Bitcoin Forum

Other => CPU/GPU Bitcoin mining hardware => Topic started by: lvlrdka22 on June 13, 2011, 07:00:15 PM



Title: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: lvlrdka22 on June 13, 2011, 07:00:15 PM
Warning: I do not take any responsibilities for any and all damages caused by running this program, including turning GPUs into paper weights.

Current version: http://www.mediafire.com/?p8dxf28j9qnorza

Run it from command line:
Code:
1. CD to wherever the program is located in.
2. Type "barelyclocked" to see current GPU information.
3. Type "barelyclocked gpu=? core=? memory=? vddc=? fan=?" to set the clocks for specific GPUs. Here, "gpu=?" refers to the number that's displayed for each GPU from line 2, not the device number. Fan speed is in percent, not RPM.
4. To reset (the core, memory, VDDC, and fan speed), type "barelyclocked gpu=? default". If you include any additional arguments, they will be ignored.

The GPU number argument must be the first argument if you're tweaking clocks/voltage, but core/memory/vddc arguments don't have to be there.
VDDC is automatically set to the voltage of the last performance state (the 3D one), if that argument is not present.

I have only tested it on my 5850s.

Sample:
http://i51.tinypic.com/2eyhwk9.png

Inb4omgitburnedmyhousedown.


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: brunoshady on June 14, 2011, 02:21:00 AM
nice work dude


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: huayra.agera on June 14, 2011, 06:42:52 AM
Hi! Great work! Testing it now. I hope you could integrate it with your GUI Frontend and have like sliders or even just boxes to apply clock settings.  :)


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: melco on June 14, 2011, 01:09:27 PM
Can't get it to work on 6950. It can get values but exits -1 when trying to set.
Will definitely donate if you will fix it.


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: huayra.agera on June 14, 2011, 01:34:42 PM
I know it's a bit asking much, but fan control would be great! Working well, tested on a 6850.  :) And a way to reset maybe? (command) Your tools will be perfect once integrated to your GUI.


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: lvlrdka22 on June 14, 2011, 07:46:37 PM
Hi! Great work! Testing it now. I hope you could integrate it with your GUI Frontend and have like sliders or even just boxes to apply clock settings.  :)
Maybe if I ever bother to switch to tabbed interface, I'll add it.

I know it's a bit asking much, but fan control would be great! Working well, tested on a 6850.  :) And a way to reset maybe? (command) Your tools will be perfect once integrated to your GUI.
That was easy. Fan control and reset to default added. Didn't really bother testing them rigorously. Ran it once and those commands did what they are supposed to do.


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: melco on June 15, 2011, 07:23:16 AM
Can't get it to work on 6950. It can get values but exits -1 when trying to set.
Will definitely donate if you will fix it.
I think it may be related to driver problem. Afterburner can't change RAM frequency. It remains 1250 in monitoring graphs after I decrease it in AB and apply. Not the latest driver nor Catalyst 10.2 works for me. Maybe it's because of 3*6950(unlocked) present in my system

Error looks like this:
http://img28.imageshack.us/img28/4371/barelyclocked.png (http://img28.imageshack.us/i/barelyclocked.png/)


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: melco on June 15, 2011, 10:10:51 AM
I found that I can set memory freq, fan speed but have problems setting core and vddc. Removed afterburner and CCC


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: melco on June 15, 2011, 03:34:07 PM
I found it was rejecting changes because of CCC overclocking limits. Have to apply this  (http://www.overclock.net/attachments/ati-drivers-overclocking-software/197671d1298832618-no-voltage-control-1st-card-only-oc.reg.txt)patch to fix things out


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: gmaxwell on June 15, 2011, 04:03:22 PM
Warning: I do not take any responsibilities for any and all damages caused by running this program, including turning GPUs into paper weights.

Current version: http://www.mediafire.com/?vb7ran5k54ydy92
Previous version: http://www.mediafire.com/?gcyq3s25u5ebb87


Where is the source?

This is very clearly a derivative of AMDOverdriveCtrl which is licensed under the GPLv2.



Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: lvlrdka22 on June 15, 2011, 07:36:07 PM
Warning: I do not take any responsibilities for any and all damages caused by running this program, including turning GPUs into paper weights.

Current version: http://www.mediafire.com/?vb7ran5k54ydy92
Previous version: http://www.mediafire.com/?gcyq3s25u5ebb87


Where is the source?

This is very clearly a derivative of AMDOverdriveCtrl which is licensed under the GPLv2.


It very clearly is not, if you bothered to download it. Would you be willing to bet 100 BTC?
Tell me, have you ever heard of ADL? If not, may I kindly suggest that you exit the thread?


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: melco on June 15, 2011, 07:59:47 PM
lvlrdka22, can you show how to use vddc option? Can't figure out.
Finaly program works for me very well after unlocking CCC limits


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: Xer0 on June 15, 2011, 09:41:04 PM
Does it set the cloks permanently, so i could set them in Windows but remove HD and mine in Linux?


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: lvlrdka22 on June 15, 2011, 11:04:39 PM
lvlrdka22, can you show how to use vddc option? Can't figure out.
Finaly program works for me very well after unlocking CCC limits
Reference model? If not, probably won't work through this/ADL.

Does it set the cloks permanently, so i could set them in Windows but remove HD and mine in Linux?
Look up RBE and BIOS modding/flashing.


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: melco on June 16, 2011, 06:12:06 AM
lvlrdka22, can you show how to use vddc option? Can't figure out.
Finaly program works for me very well after unlocking CCC limits
Reference model? If not, probably won't work through this/ADL.
Yes, Reference. Just an example of syntax plz.


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: lvlrdka22 on June 16, 2011, 08:34:38 AM
barelyclocked gpu=0 vddc=9000 (uber overclock that gives 3584864601674564 THashes/μs).
Unit is Voltage (1.0875 stock for 5850).


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: melco on June 16, 2011, 08:41:21 AM
C:\bc>BarelyClocked.exe gpu=0 vddc=1150
Number of active GPUs found: 1.
GPU #0 (ID 12308224): 3 performance levels detected.
 Core: 900 MHz. Memory: 350 MHz. VDDC: 1.1 V.
 Core: 700 MHz. Memory: 350 MHz. VDDC: 1.1 V.
 Core: 900 MHz. Memory: 350 MHz. VDDC: 1.1 V.
 Temperature: 87C.
 Fan speed: 2505 RPM (40%).

Configuring settings for GPU #0.
Setting VDDC to 1150 MHz.
Failed to commit clock/voltage changes. Error: -1


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: lvlrdka22 on June 16, 2011, 08:55:52 AM
I hope you realized that at stock, VDDC was 1.1 V. You were trying to set it to 1150 V.
The setting VDDC to xx MHz is just a text bug.


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: melco on June 16, 2011, 09:16:57 AM
C:\bc>BarelyClocked.exe gpu=0 vddc=1.1
Number of active GPUs found: 1.
GPU #0 (ID 12308224): 3 performance levels detected.
 Core: 900 MHz. Memory: 350 MHz. VDDC: 1.1 V.
 Core: 900 MHz. Memory: 350 MHz. VDDC: 1.1 V.
 Core: 900 MHz. Memory: 350 MHz. VDDC: 1.1 V.
 Temperature: 77C.
 Fan speed: 2884 RPM (45%).

Configuring settings for GPU #0.
vddc=1.1 is an invalid argument, skipping.

P.S. it works for vddc=1 but how to switch it back?!? :)))


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: melco on June 16, 2011, 09:46:57 AM
Found it. You try to cast parameter from vddc which is 1.1 to number. Then you multiply it by 1000. Better set in mV instead ov V and remove *1000.
So I will set voltage to 1100mV instead of 1.1V


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: lvlrdka22 on June 16, 2011, 05:28:36 PM
There. I actually checked the damn thing now to make sure it works. Sorry, forgot that stringisdigit only checks for whole numbers.


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: Tobin on June 19, 2011, 08:10:46 AM
Hi,

thanks for your great tool, this is just what I need.
However, I have the problem that on my HD 5830 (Sapphire xtreme) I cannot change core speed and vddc:
Code:
Number of active GPUs found: 1.
GPU #0 (ID 44931072): 3 performance levels detected.
 Core: 157 MHz. Memory: 300 MHz. VDDC: 0.95 V.
 Core: 600 MHz. Memory: 900 MHz. VDDC: 1.063 V.
 Core: 855 MHz. Memory: 340 MHz. VDDC: 1.163 V.
 Temperature: 75.5C.
 Fan speed: 2740 RPM (66%).

Configuring settings for GPU #0.
Setting core to 860 MHz.
Failed to commit clock/voltage changes. Error: -1

I can change the fan speed. Do you have any idea what is going wrong?


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: ned123 on July 12, 2011, 07:29:22 AM
I own a VTX3D 6950 (non reference). VGA Bios is the same as Powercolor and Club3D non reference 6950's. Being not reference means it probably won't work or there is a hope?

Do you have any idea why the tool "changes" parameters but only fan and core really changes.
When I test with just barelyclocked.exe it prints correct changed parameters even voltage and memory. Fan is obvious (sound) and core change is verified with Mhps speed, temp and GPUz. But even it prints changed parameters in all 3 states, VDDC and memory in fact stays the same (verified with heat and GPUz).

In fact I have a problem with memory clock. Only Afterburner changes memory at all, Trixx cannot change memory clock at all. Even Afterburner cannot stick with memory settings and after reboot I have to manually change mem clock in (infamous) 4 step :) Apply OC on startup option doesn't help.

BTW: When it could just change memory clock (downclock) it would be a very useful tool to me (probably not just me :) )
Thanks in advance!


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: Xanderus on August 05, 2011, 02:28:04 PM
Can this tool change voltage on Sapphire 5850 Xtreme card? So far what I found only one was able to do it - Sapphire TRIXX.


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: Axez D. Nyde on August 15, 2011, 05:19:22 PM
(uber overclock that gives 3584864601674564 THashes/μs).

über is German for over. Overclocking translates to Übertakten.
So IMO 'über overclocking' is 'double doppeltgemoppelt'.

I very much like your work though, and don't take me seriously.


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: iopq on August 18, 2011, 03:03:03 AM
I don't want it to change all of them, can I change all three separately? Or just the last one?


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: leveer on August 20, 2011, 12:47:37 AM
Is there a way to allow barelyclocked to clock above the BIOS settings, like Afterburner does? I can overclock my Sapphire 5830s to 925 Mhz with Afterburner, but get an error with anything above 875 Mhz with barelyclocked.


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: Jazkal on August 20, 2011, 06:43:45 PM
Can I get a copy of your NomadMemory.au3 include file?


Title: Re: Barely Clocked: Barebone Command Line Clock Speed/Voltage Tweaking
Post by: niooron on March 18, 2012, 04:45:50 PM
Awesome software, much better than trixx or afterburner.