Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Mining software (miners) => Topic started by: Vuxil on April 03, 2013, 04:44:13 AM



Title: Need help with Xubuntu + CGminer (edit: still unresolved)
Post by: Vuxil on April 03, 2013, 04:44:13 AM
First of all, I'm running 2 Gigabyte AMD Radeon HD 7850 1GB (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B009LTUC90/ref=pe_175190_21431760_M3T1_ST1_dp_1)

Rest of my setup is 2GB of RAM, and Xubuntu running off of a flashdrive

I followed the steps at https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Gw7YPYgMgNNU42skibULbJJUx_suP_CpjSEdSi8_z9U/edit# to get ATI drivers and cgminer set up on an Xubuntu install with no problems.

I wrote a bash script to start CGIMiner, and it does in the following manner:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
export DISPLAY=:0
export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1
cd /home/moneygenerator/cgminer*
./cgminer -o http://ppcpool.bitparking.com:20098 -u user -p pass --api-listen --api-network -I 14 --auto-fan --temp-target 77 --gpu-engine 1150 --gpu-memclock 800

However, I am only getting ~375mh\s? Any ideas?

Here is the CGMiner output. It looks like one of the GPUs is not working that much?:

https://i.imgur.com/MD9Gjxr.png


Title: Re: Need help with Xubuntu + CGminer
Post by: Vuxil on April 03, 2013, 09:21:58 AM
Got slightly better results and changed my cgminer parameters. Any help would be appreciated


Title: Re: Need help with Xubuntu + CGminer
Post by: PatMan on April 03, 2013, 11:39:12 AM
Here's an excellent GPU comparison chart that should help you with your card settings, hope it helps..... ;)

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison#AMD_.28ATI.29


Title: Re: Need help with Xubuntu + CGminer
Post by: Forrie on April 03, 2013, 12:23:21 PM
Can I suggest pulling one of the cards and seeing what the hashrate is for one card?
I had a similar problem with one card producing the expected hashrate but two cards combined producing about the same as one... I solved it by using a spare box I had lying around so I am sorry I am not of more help, but at least you will know if it is the cards or something else.
Cheers Forrie


Title: Re: Need help with Xubuntu + CGminer
Post by: Vuxil on April 03, 2013, 05:14:09 PM
Here's an excellent GPU comparison chart that should help you with your card settings, hope it helps..... ;)

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison#AMD_.28ATI.29

I have my gpu and memory set to what's suggested in this guide already, and no help. For whatever reason my cards are stuck outputting half each of what they should be according to that guide...and I dont have a spare PC to throw the other card in

If I try to press G and change card settings during mining, it sells me the driver reports success but nothing actually changes. One card is actually running at the proper clock speeds, the other one is essentially off (300 mhz gpu, 150mhz RAM)

Crossfire is not enabled (afaik, cable for it was not connected)


Title: Re: Need help with Xubuntu + CGminer (edit: still unresolved)
Post by: Forrie on April 05, 2013, 03:09:38 AM
Is your power supply sufficient?


Title: Re: Need help with Xubuntu + CGminer (edit: still unresolved)
Post by: Vuxil on April 05, 2013, 03:58:36 AM
Is your power supply sufficient?

Yea, we figured out it's something Linux-specific. Someone else was having the same issue, so discussion picked up in his thread. Anyone reading this thread looking for help can follow the discussion here https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=164825.0


Title: Re: Need help with Xubuntu + CGminer (edit: still unresolved)
Post by: induktor on April 05, 2013, 04:19:10 AM
Hello
I have exactly these cards, but for now in windows, I will switch to linux to reduce the 10W the hard drive is using, booting off flash drive.

Did you try dummyplug? I have it on from day one, just in case, if not there is something called ULPS that is the auto power save of the card, if this is activated and no monitor attached the card won't start, I don't know how to disable ULPS in linux but it is a very good chance that it's your problem.

what do you think?


Title: Re: Need help with Xubuntu + CGminer (edit: still unresolved)
Post by: c789 on April 06, 2013, 06:10:58 AM
I had a problem similar to this (see this post https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=168343.0 ). Fortunately I was able to fix it by stopping cgminer, plugging a monitor into a video card (play around and see which slot works for you), and starting cgminer again.

I'm going to Radio Shack tomorrow to get resistors to make a dummy plug http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=11 so that I don't have to keep hauling my monitor around, and I'll post back on my original post with my findings.


Title: Re: Need help with Xubuntu + CGminer (edit: still unresolved)
Post by: wzl on April 06, 2013, 05:48:29 PM
Here's what I'd try

- make sure X is using both cards
- upgrade to latest cgminer
- figure out cgminer command-line args to disable one GPU, try running, disable other GPU, try running, see what happens, may be informative. (-d flag)




Title: Re: Need help with Xubuntu + CGminer (edit: still unresolved)
Post by: gnar1ta$ on April 07, 2013, 01:31:32 AM
I've sold my rigs but I had multiple rigs with multiple 79xx cards with Xubuntu.  That guide in OP didn't work for me.  Here is what I used, all from root terminal, hope it helps (I was using 12.4 driver)...

Clean old installs:
Code:
/usr/share/ati/fglrx-uninstall.sh --force
apt-get remove --purge fglrx*
sync
reboot

Install new driver (use defaults when prompted):
Code:
wget http://www2.ati.com/drivers/linux/amd-driver-installer-12-4-x86.x86_64.run
chmod 755 amd-driver-installer-12-4-x86.x86_64.run
chmod +x amd-driver-installer-12-4-x86.x86_64.run
./amd-driver-installer-12-4-x86.x86_64.run
aticonfig -f --initial --adapter=all
sync
reboot

Check cgminer is seeing all the devices:
Code:
cd <cgminer directory>
export DISPLAY=:0
export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1
./cgminer --ndevs

I would also check top to make sure only one instance of cgminer is launching.