Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Hardware => Topic started by: afterthedark on May 23, 2013, 07:39:19 PM



Title: [SOLVED] Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: afterthedark on May 23, 2013, 07:39:19 PM
Hi,

I got my Avalon Batch #2 delivered. (France)

Unfortunately, the PSU was completely dead on arrival (Enermax GX750)

I picked up a Corsair GS800 (which is listed as approved PSU on the wiki) at the local shop. Unfortunately (again, im being lucky) Corsair released a "2013 Edition" with has fewer options than the original GS800: 2 connectors are missing.

So I recabled my Avalon but I don't have a connector for the "EPS_12V_2" since this PSU has only one "CPU cable".. so i left EPS_12V_2 empty...

Cabled:
ATX
PCIE_12V_1
PCIE_12V_2
EPS_12V_1

Not cabled:
EPS_12V_2

The Avalon started on the new PSU (which was a HUGE relief) and managed to mine during around 10 minutes... then it rebooted. I don't know if it's related to the missing EPS_12V_2 plug.

Is this bad ? Is there a risk of overloading the other rails ?

Firmware: 20130419

Any advices welcome.


Title: Re: Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: candoo on May 23, 2013, 07:48:13 PM
Where do you live? I will instantly buy your Avalon - no more worrys for you :)

*leave me a PN!


Title: Re: Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: wrenchmonkey on May 23, 2013, 07:52:04 PM
Hi,

I got my Avalon Batch #2 delivered. (France)

Unfortunately, the PSU was completely dead on arrival (Enermax GX750)

I picked up a Corsair GS800 (which is listed as approved PSU on the wiki) at the local shop. Unfortunately (again, im being lucky) Corsair released a "2013 Edition" with has fewer options than the original GS800: 2 connectors are missing.

So I recabled my Avalon but I don't have a connector for the "EPS_12V_2" since this PSU has only one "CPU cable".. so i left EPS_12V_2 empty...

Cabled:
ATX
PCIE_12V_1
PCIE_12V_2
EPS_12V_1

Not cabled:
EPS_12V_2

The Avalon started on the new PSU (which was a HUGE relief) and managed to mine during around 10 minutes... then it rebooted. I don't know if it's related to the missing EPS_12V_2 plug.

Is this bad ? Is there a risk of overloading the other rails ?

Firmware: 20130419

Any advices welcome.

Random rebooting like that is HIGHLY likely to be cause by not supplying power to all the necessary components. I think you're on the right path. You should be able to buy/make an adapter cable that can pull the power off of a PCIe power connector, if exchanging the PSU isn't an option.


Title: Re: Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: cedivad on May 23, 2013, 07:56:10 PM
Uhm... This order is a little late to be in the first 20 test batch, maybe they started shipping for real?


Title: Re: Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: BenTuras on May 23, 2013, 08:18:31 PM
Are you using wireless or wired ethernet connection ? I also had the rebooting issue, till I switched to wireless. It looks much more stable when connected wireless.


Title: Re: Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: dchou on May 23, 2013, 08:20:41 PM
Looks like that SMT line is operational.


Title: Re: Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: afterthedark on May 23, 2013, 08:27:01 PM
Are you using wireless or wired ethernet connection ? I also had the rebooting issue, till I switched to wireless. It looks much more stable when connected wireless.

I'm using wired.

I disconnected 1 module and it mined for 5 minutes then the hashrate went to 0, but the box didn't reboot.

I disconnected 2 modules (so 1 module left) and now it has been stable and mining at ~22GH/s for 25 minutes. That's still 10 times better than my previous GPU rig.

It seems the EPS_12v_2 connector is required to run with more than 1 module.

So my quest is now a "in stock" PSU at a local dealer with 2 PCI-E and 2 EPS (CPU) plugs. So far I found an OCZ ZX 850W in stock.


Title: Re: Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: greaterninja on May 23, 2013, 08:41:46 PM
Uhm... This order is a little late to be in the first 20 test batch, maybe they started shipping for real?

yes, this has been confirmed since yesterday they are shipping past +20 mark now.


Title: Re: Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: afterthedark on May 23, 2013, 08:57:50 PM
After around 45minutes, mining stopped:

[2013-05-23 20:49:36] Accepted 06b6c8ec Diff 38/7 AVA 0                     
 [2013-05-23 20:49:37] Accepted 1af1d115 Diff 9/7 AVA 0                     
 [2013-05-23 20:49:38] Accepted 052fbf91 Diff 49/7 AVA 0                     
 [2013-05-23 20:49:38] Accepted 17b10fd1 Diff 10/7 AVA 0                     
 [2013-05-23 20:50:31] Avalon: Timeout on select in avalon_get_reset                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:31] Avalon: Reset failed! not an Avalon? (0: 00 00 00 02)                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:31] Avalon: Goto idle mode                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:31] AVA0: FPGA controller messed up, 0 wrong results                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:33] Avalon: Reset failed! not an Avalon? (0: 00 00 00 02)                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:36] Avalon: Reset failed! not an Avalon? (0: 7f 47 75 cd)                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:36] Avalon: Goto idle mode                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:36] AVA0: FPGA controller messed up, 6 wrong results                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:37] Avalon: Reset failed! not an Avalon? (0: 00 00 00 02)                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:40] Avalon: Reset failed! not an Avalon? (0: 90 d6 28 a1)                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:41] Avalon: Goto idle mode                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:41] AVA0: FPGA controller messed up, 5 wrong results                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:42] Avalon: Reset failed! not an Avalon? (0: 00 00 00 02)                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:45] Avalon: Reset failed! not an Avalon? (0: c4 d7 eb f8)                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:45] Avalon: Goto idle mode                    3.8/m         
 [2013-05-23 20:50:45] AVA0: FPGA controller messed up, 2 wrong results                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:47] Avalon: Reset failed! not an Avalon? (0: 2a 0a 11 49)                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:50] Avalon: Reset failed! not an Avalon? (0: c6 64 e2 00)                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:50] Avalon: Goto idle mode                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:50] AVA0: FPGA controller messed up, 1 wrong results                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:52] Avalon: Reset failed! not an Avalon? (0: 00 00 00 02)                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:54] Avalon: Reset failed! not an Avalon? (0: 8d 2b 31 ed)                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:55] Avalon: Goto idle mode                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:55] AVA0: FPGA controller messed up, 3 wrong results                   
 [2013-05-23 20:50:56] Avalon: Reset failed! not an Avalon? (0: 00 00 00 02)                   

[ 3304.340000] ftdi_sio ttyUSB0: failed to get modem status: -71
[ 3304.340000] usb 1-1: clear tt 1 (8030) error -71
[ 3304.350000] ftdi_sio ttyUSB0: failed to get modem status: -71
[ 3304.360000] usb 1-1: clear tt 1 (8030) error -71
[ 3304.370000] ftdi_sio ttyUSB0: failed to get modem status: -71
[ 3304.380000] usb 1-1: clear tt 1 (8030) error -71
[ 3304.460000] ftdi_sio ttyUSB0: failed to get modem status: -71
[ 3304.470000] usb 1-1: clear tt 1 (8030) error -71
[ 3304.480000] ftdi_sio ttyUSB0: failed to get modem status: -71
[ 3304.480000] usb 1-1: clear tt 1 (8030) error -71
[ 3304.490000] ftdi_sio ttyUSB0: failed to get modem status: -71
[ 3304.500000] usb 1-1: clear tt 1 (8030) error -71
[ 3304.590000] ftdi_sio ttyUSB0: failed to get modem status: -71
[ 3304.590000] usb 1-1: clear tt 1 (8030) error -71
[ 3304.590000] usb 1-1: clear tt 1 (8030) error -71
[ 3304.600000] usb 1-1.1: USB disconnect, device number 3
[ 3304.600000] ftdi_sio ttyUSB0: FTDI USB Serial Device converter now disconnected from ttyUSB0
[ 3304.610000] ftdi_sio 1-1.1:1.0: device disconnected
[ 3304.620000] usb-serial ttyUSB0: failed to get modem status: -143
[ 3304.630000] usb 1-1: clear tt 1 (8030) error -71
[ 3304.800000] usb 1-1: reset high-speed USB device number 2 using ehci-platform
[ 3305.250000] usb 1-1.1: new full-speed USB device number 4 using ehci-platform
[ 3305.390000] ftdi_sio 1-1.1:1.0: FTDI USB Serial Device converter detected
[ 3305.390000] usb 1-1.1: Detected FT232RL
[ 3305.390000] usb 1-1.1: Number of endpoints 2
[ 3305.400000] usb 1-1.1: Endpoint 1 MaxPacketSize 16384
[ 3305.400000] usb 1-1.1: Endpoint 2 MaxPacketSize 16384
[ 3305.410000] usb 1-1.1: Setting MaxPacketSize 64
[ 3305.460000] usb 1-1.1: FTDI USB Serial Device converter now attached to ttyUSB1


I'm feeling special.


Title: Re: Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: SolarSilver on May 23, 2013, 09:07:03 PM
After around 45minutes, mining stopped:

Hey,

can you have a look if the web interface listed the values for the temp and fans all to 0

like in this post here?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=156323.msg2059696#msg2059696

http://i.imgur.com/IhOShh8.png


Title: Re: Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: uhoh on May 23, 2013, 09:08:28 PM
Can you not use another PSU for now to power the EPS_2 and test your theory (assuming of course you have any old PSUs laying around)


Title: Re: Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: wrenchmonkey on May 23, 2013, 09:11:50 PM
Can you not use another PSU for now to power the EPS_2 and test your theory (assuming of course you have any old PSUs laying around)

Technically, you can, but it's not advisable, especially unless it's a high-quality PSU.


Title: Re: Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: afterthedark on May 23, 2013, 10:13:37 PM
After around 45minutes, mining stopped:

Hey,

can you have a look if the web interface listed the values for the temp and fans all to 0

like in this post here?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=156323.msg2059696#msg2059696

http://i.imgur.com/IhOShh8.png

I have reviewed all this thread and beside the dead PSU which is not related, the stability issues are 100% the same.. same kernel messages, same cgminer messages

I have upgraded to beta firmware 20130519 because it can't be much worse...


Title: Re: Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: fpgaminer on May 24, 2013, 01:00:46 AM
Quote
So I recabled my Avalon but I don't have a connector for the "EPS_12V_2" since this PSU has only one "CPU cable".. so i left EPS_12V_2 empty...
I plan to do some maintenance on my farm later, so I can check then, but I distinctly recall EPS_12V_2 not being connected on my Avalons.

The errors you mention:

Code:
[ 3304.340000] ftdi_sio ttyUSB0: failed to get modem status: -71
[ 3304.340000] usb 1-1: clear tt 1 (8030) error -71

Those are the same errors one of my Avalons was spitting out.  I narrowed it down to a bad TP-Link.  I have that unit running off a RaspberryPi with no issues now.

So, I would suggest plugging your Avalon into a PC and running cgminer on there, to test and see if your TP-Link is busted like mine seemed to be.


Title: Re: Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: xiangfu on May 25, 2013, 03:42:50 AM
Hi

This is an AP9331(the cpu of 703n) bug. I have document it here:(Why there is a USB-HUB inside )
  https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon#FAQ
  more info here: https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?id=39956

But it not happen on all 703n. if the Avalon have this issue.(this should be test before Avalon ship out) people can try those:
  1. Try different 703n. you can easy to buy them. and it's very cheap.
  2. Add another usb-hub inside. <-- ONLY For Fpga controller 1.5
  3. Replace 703n with other device. like RaspberryPi. cheap PC. then you have to handle the cgminer/monitor etc.
  4. Replace your fpga controller also MAY fix that.

Cherish your life, stay away from mining.
Xiangfu

Quote
So I recabled my Avalon but I don't have a connector for the "EPS_12V_2" since this PSU has only one "CPU cable".. so i left EPS_12V_2 empty...
I plan to do some maintenance on my farm later, so I can check then, but I distinctly recall EPS_12V_2 not being connected on my Avalons.

The errors you mention:

Code:
[ 3304.340000] ftdi_sio ttyUSB0: failed to get modem status: -71
[ 3304.340000] usb 1-1: clear tt 1 (8030) error -71

Those are the same errors one of my Avalons was spitting out.  I narrowed it down to a bad TP-Link.  I have that unit running off a RaspberryPi with no issues now.

So, I would suggest plugging your Avalon into a PC and running cgminer on there, to test and see if your TP-Link is busted like mine seemed to be.


Title: Re: Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: farproc on May 25, 2013, 05:52:08 AM
Cherish your life, stay away from mining.
Xiangfu
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D


Title: Re: [SOLVED] Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: afterthedark on May 25, 2013, 12:39:36 PM
Problem solved.

I replaced again the PSU this time with a OCZ ZX 850W (as a reminder: original Enermax GX750 was DOA, my first replacement Corsair GS800 2013 Edition couldn't handle the load with 3 modules)

The Avalon just did a 65GH/s mining sprint of 14h without any reboot or weird error messages in System log.

For the USB errors, thanks to the people that suggested solutions (fpgaminer, xiangfu, ...), if it get real bad I have a raspi lying around that I will use to replace the TP-Link.



Title: Re: Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: abracadabra on May 25, 2013, 05:38:33 PM
Hi

This is an AP9331(the cpu of 703n) bug. I have document it here:(Why there is a USB-HUB inside )
  https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon#FAQ
  more info here: https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?id=39956

But it not happen on all 703n. if the Avalon have this issue.(this should be test before Avalon ship out) people can try those:
  1. Try different 703n. you can easy to buy them. and it's very cheap.
  2. Add another usb-hub inside. <-- ONLY For Fpga controller 1.5
  3. Replace 703n with other device. like RaspberryPi. cheap PC. then you have to handle the cgminer/monitor etc.
  4. Replace your fpga controller also MAY fix that.

Cherish your life, stay away from mining.
Xiangfu


xiangfu,  my avalon batch #2 does not have a  USB hub between the router and the v1.5 fpga controller.
should I add one?


Title: Re: [SOLVED] Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: greaterninja on May 25, 2013, 07:39:02 PM


The Avalon just did a 65GH/s mining sprint of 14h without any reboot or weird error messages in System log.


I set it to "300 Extreme" under chip speed under cgiminer config got 71.5 Gh/s

nice


Title: Re: [SOLVED] Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: monkee on May 25, 2013, 08:57:15 PM
did you hook up EPS_12v_2? or leave it disconnected with the new psu?


Title: Re: Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: ProfMac on May 25, 2013, 09:01:13 PM
Uhm... This order is a little late to be in the first 20 test batch, maybe they started shipping for real?

yes, this has been confirmed since yesterday they are shipping past +20 mark now.

I feel a great stirring of hope.  But ... source?



Title: Re: [SOLVED] Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: afterthedark on May 26, 2013, 03:48:56 PM
did you hook up EPS_12v_2? or leave it disconnected with the new psu?

I connected EPS_12v_2 with the new PSU. Apparently this isn't required but it might help if going to 4 modules.


Title: Re: [SOLVED] Avalon batch 2 delivered, dead PSU, beware of GS800 2013 edition
Post by: monkee on May 26, 2013, 05:21:37 PM
did you hook up EPS_12v_2? or leave it disconnected with the new psu?

I connected EPS_12v_2 with the new PSU. Apparently this isn't required but it might help if going to 4 modules.

I saw this on the Avalon wiki, it only mentions 1x unless they didn't update it for 4 modules

The PSU Spec
155mm recommend, MAX: 170mm
For 3 module units: 650W, 48A 12V, at least. recommend for a 20% margin.
For 4 module units: 750W, 60A 12V, at least. recommend for a 20% margin.
Plugs:
1X ATX 24PIN
1X EPS 12V (8PIN)
2X PCIE 12V (8PIN)