Bitcoin Forum

Other => Beginners & Help => Topic started by: i Donk on June 27, 2011, 06:18:20 PM



Title: Question about Mining
Post by: i Donk on June 27, 2011, 06:18:20 PM
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the forum's and new to bitcoins.  I've done a good amount of research about the system over the last few days, and finally downloaded and installed the software last night.  The program says I've got 8 connections and 120k blocks so far (I assume these are the "community blocks"). 

I was wondering if there's anything I need to do with the software to optimize my mining?  Are there any settings or anything I need to adjust?  or is it as simple as running the program and forgetting about it?  Also, where will I see the progress of the block that i'm actually downloading, or will that become clear to me once I download all the community blocks?

Thanks for the help and I hope my questions make sense, this is all new to me.


Title: Re: Question about Mining
Post by: gusto88 on June 27, 2011, 06:23:16 PM
Since Bitcoin 0.3.23 the client does not mine bitcoins. Please read the Miner Beginner's Guide (http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=9430.0) and download one of the specialized clients. Also, do not register at deepbit, because it is growing to strong and has already more than 50% of the mining capacity.


Title: Re: Question about Mining
Post by: Valen on June 27, 2011, 06:35:17 PM
good advice, i started out with GUI miner in that guide just yesterday. it seems the easiest way to get started


Title: Re: Question about Mining
Post by: i Donk on June 27, 2011, 07:05:48 PM
Thanks for the replies guys.

I'm now running GUIMiner with a Bitclock account. Should I be good to go for now as far as mining bitcoins?  I plan to do a lot more research and figure out more advanced uses for the systems, but am I ok for now on a basic level?  Also, is there any reason to continue running the original Bitcoin program?

Thanks again for the help!


Title: Re: Question about Mining
Post by: i Donk on June 27, 2011, 07:13:43 PM
I actually switched over to BitcoinPool because Bitclockers was having trouble connecting, if that makes a difference.


Title: Re: Question about Mining
Post by: Valen on June 27, 2011, 07:34:08 PM
pretty much, if you have it up and running and everything.

it took me a little while to figure out how to "register new worker" and how that works but once i saw how that works it was really nice. i'm using slush's pool with the idea that it would have less downtime.


it seems there is a lot more to learn though, like setting up ways for it to get on backup pools automatically if one fails, and how to run multiple gpu/miners etc but i can take my time learning that part.


Title: Re: Question about Mining
Post by: Valen on June 27, 2011, 07:38:38 PM
oh and i don't think there is a need to run the original bitcoin program but i leave it running in the notification area for now. it's set to auto hide so i don't have to look at it