Bitcoin Forum

Other => Beginners & Help => Topic started by: curiousone on July 02, 2011, 11:01:59 PM



Title: 5830 card
Post by: curiousone on July 02, 2011, 11:01:59 PM
OK, finally got a powerful card for mining..

I'm getting 194 on GUI miner on win7 without any attempts to optimise..

So, how can I optimise this and make go even faster?

Thanks


Title: Re: 5830 card
Post by: Chroma on July 02, 2011, 11:18:02 PM
That sounds kinda low for a 5830. I don't have one, but I know it can do ~275 when overclocked.
These two sites might help you find the best settings for you:
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison (https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison)
http://www.reddit.com/r/mtred/comments/huw93/if_you_have_a_radeon_5830_post_your_settings_and/ (http://www.reddit.com/r/mtred/comments/huw93/if_you_have_a_radeon_5830_post_your_settings_and/)


Title: Re: 5830 card
Post by: curiousone on July 02, 2011, 11:30:31 PM
Thanks.  I've now used TRIXX to overclock to 950 and the megahashes are way up!  Whats the absolute maximum I can overclock this too without it being damaged?


Title: Re: 5830 card
Post by: Anibalayl on July 02, 2011, 11:43:36 PM
with phoenix I do 290 Mhash


Title: Re: 5830 card
Post by: Gamerate on July 02, 2011, 11:47:18 PM
Btw do any card can be really damaged by software overclocking?
I was always sure they just frezze...

My 5830 do 280 with standard over clock but I going to try push it harder... :)


Title: Re: 5830 card
Post by: Chroma on July 02, 2011, 11:51:27 PM
Btw do any card can be really damaged by software overclocking?
I was always sure they just frezze...

My 5830 do 280 with standard over clock but I going to try push it harder... :)
You can definitely kill a card by increasing the voltage too much, but just increasing the clock speed should be safe yes.


Title: Re: 5830 card
Post by: terroh8er on July 03, 2011, 12:09:22 AM
Are you using -v -w128 flags? That increases my MH/s by 40-50. If you're concerned about damaging the card, downclock the memory to 500-600 to lower the heat output and increase the fan speed to 50-60%. This keeps the temperature on my 5850 in the mid-60s, which isn't much more than what it would be idle.


Title: Re: 5830 card
Post by: Gamerate on July 03, 2011, 12:12:47 AM
Just set core to 990 (was crashed on 1000)
Seems to work fine - 312 Mh/s

Btw - WORKSIZE = 256 works better for me that 128 at lest in Mh/s number


Title: Re: 5830 card
Post by: curiousone on July 03, 2011, 08:39:25 AM
Cool, -v -w128 flags make it much faster as well! :)

What do they do/mean?


And also, I have just read about the modified version of polcbm which claims to be much more efficient, is this true?  Do I have to switch pool to use this?

Thanks


Title: Re: 5830 card
Post by: saykor on July 03, 2011, 09:07:14 AM
OK, finally got a powerful card for mining..

I'm getting 194 on GUI miner on win7 without any attempts to optimise..

So, how can I optimise this and make go even faster?

Thanks

I get 300 with same card in win7 x64.

1) I clock it on 960. download last version of MSIAfterburner and search in google for MSIAfterburner.cfg that will allow you to clock more than 900.
2) here is my setting: -k phatk DEVICE=0 VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=12 WORKSIZE=256
3) search in the forum have a patch that increase with 3-5%. But i cannot find the link now so you need to search and find it for yourself.
4) second patch is http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=25135.0 i suppose it include patch in point 3.

Now you have all that you need to make a max bitcoins with your card.

Be happy :)

I have 4 cards.
3 on one mining pc and 1 on my webserver.
4 * 300 = 1200 = around 26 bitcoin per month on this difficult


Title: Re: 5830 card
Post by: xtoro on July 03, 2011, 09:16:51 AM
I always get "no such option: -w" whenever I try to enter it as an extra flag....


Title: Re: 5830 card
Post by: curiousone on July 03, 2011, 11:33:47 AM
Will I get better megahash if I use poclbm?  Also, it deepbit the same as all other pools, or is a different one better?


Title: Re: 5830 card
Post by: mazmorbid on July 03, 2011, 11:48:39 AM
I am using Phoenix with the flags -k phatk VECTORS BFI_INT WORKSIZE=256 AGGRESSION=12 FASTLOOPS=false -a 7, seems to work best for me, gets me 450Mh/s out of a 5870.


Title: Re: 5830 card
Post by: Diapolo on July 03, 2011, 12:19:45 PM
With a 5830 @ 1000 MHz Core / 350 MHz Mem and -k phatk AGGRESSION=12 BFI_INT FASTLOOP=false VECTORS WORKSIZE=256 I get 319,71 MHash/sec!

Dia


Title: Re: 5830 card
Post by: xtoro on July 03, 2011, 01:43:06 PM
I always get "no such option: -w" whenever I try to enter it as an extra flag....

Ahh, nevermind!  It was WORKLOAD= not -w...

Using "-k poclbm VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=11 WORKLOAD=128" works much better :p

I find I get better Mh/s with a workload of 128 than 256.

I also found that I have to run my overclock on the top 5830 lower than the bottom one so that it doesn't get too hot.  My top card runs at 870Mhz and my bottom card at 965Mhz.  This way, my top card runs at ~74*C and the bottom at ~70*C.  I get around 490-500Mh/s.

I know they're well below their max temps, but I'm going to play it safe until I get my new CoolerMaster case which should be here tomorrow.  My current case has crappy airflow.

Yesterday I had them both cranked much higher running in the high 70's *C and I was pulling ~590Mh/s.  I'll be pushing even harder with the new case :)

Both cards are 5830 Xtremes


Title: Re: 5830 card
Post by: Caerid on July 03, 2011, 02:45:36 PM
I have my 5830 clocked at 980mhz
With the new guiminer and polcbm with the flags -v -w256 I'm able to get 315Mh/s. I vaguely remember reading that -w256 produces better results if your memory clock is low if not then -w128 flag was better.


Title: Re: 5830 card
Post by: lowlevel on July 08, 2011, 07:17:49 AM
I get 265-267 Mhashes/sec out of the box with no overclocking on Sapphire Radeon HD 5830's with phoenix 1.48.
Mild overclock at 960mhz, memory clocks lowered, voltage left at stock, fans at 80% and I'm getting 297 Mhashes/sec.

My buddy has the same card and he's pushing 307 solid, 980mhz I think...  and some voltage tweaking.
I didn't want to go there personally,  RMA'ing burned out video cards isn't fun. (Been there a few times with nvidia cards)

-lowlevel