Bitcoin Forum

Other => Beginners & Help => Topic started by: totallynotme on August 17, 2013, 10:28:01 PM



Title: What's up with JSON RPC?
Post by: totallynotme on August 17, 2013, 10:28:01 PM
I know this is in the wrong forum, I'm not allowed to post in other forums so feel free to move this to the appropriate forum.


Anyways, I'm trying to connect to my bitcoind which is using SSL only on a server separate to the application connecting to it. (I am hosting the php code on a different server for security reasons)


Anyways, It works fine if bitcoind is on localhost, however, as soon as i move it off to a different server and plug in the rpc user/pass/address over ssl, i get the following errors:

Code:
Warning:  fopen(https://...@server.com:8332/) [function.fopen]: failed to open stream: Connection refused in /home/server/public_html/jsonRPCClient.php on line 132



Fatal error:  Uncaught exception 'Exception' with message 'Unable to connect to https://rpcuser:rpcpassword@server.com:8332/' in /home/server/public_html/jsonRPCClient.php:140
Stack trace:
#0 /home/server/public_html/myaccount.php(42): jsonRPCClient->__call('getbalance', Array)
#1 /home/server/public_html/myaccount.php(42): jsonRPCClient->getbalance('1285089715', 6)
#2 {main}
  thrown in /home/server/public_html/jsonRPCClient.php on line 140


Title: Re: What's up with JSON RPC?
Post by: totallynotme on August 18, 2013, 03:31:01 PM
Anyone got any insight on this?


Title: Re: What's up with JSON RPC?
Post by: coinlock on August 18, 2013, 07:18:28 PM
Hi,


I think it may be because your bitcoind client is not listening for JSON-RPC connections except on localhost.

From the manpage for the default settings

rpcallowip='192.168.1.*'
              By  default,  only  RPC  connections  from  localhost are
              allowed. Specify as many *rpcallowip=*  settings  as  you
              like  to  allow connections from other hosts (and you may
              use * as a wildcard character)


So for security you should probably set rpcallowip=yourserverip

You could also set it to * just to test. :)

good luck.