Bitcoin Forum

Bitcoin => Bitcoin Technical Support => Topic started by: BitMofo on July 16, 2011, 06:56:38 PM



Title: Withdrawing bitcoin from Britcoin
Post by: BitMofo on July 16, 2011, 06:56:38 PM
Hey all,

I withdrew 0.5 bitcoins from the Britcoin exchange about an hour ago. On the site it says it has been validated and finished. However my bitcoin account is still not credited... How long should I expect it to take?
I have checked the address and it was entered correctly.

Thanks!


Title: Re: Withdrawing bitcoin from Britcoin
Post by: ableorange on July 16, 2011, 08:22:52 PM
In your client make sure the network (block chain) is up to date. Sometimes can take some time I think the current block chain is 136603 once you teach that it should clear.


Title: Re: Withdrawing bitcoin from Britcoin
Post by: spruce on July 16, 2011, 08:25:50 PM
http://blockexplorer.com/address/1GDGhnQFFzCQ2CvtKr4pDRW4J5Wo3yk9Xp

And you can see the transaction in block explorer. Just replace the address at the end with your own.


Title: Re: Withdrawing bitcoin from Britcoin
Post by: spruce on August 02, 2011, 05:36:45 PM
If I try to send bitcoins to an invalid public address (for example, changing one character from upper case to lower case) using the client, it tells me it's an invalid address. This is good.

What happens if I enter an invalid address at Britcoin on the withdraw screen? Will it act similarly, i.e. refuse the transaction and tell me it's invalid? I don't want to experiment because the withdraw amount has to be at least .5 BTC, I believe, and I'm not willing to risk it. :)


Title: Re: Withdrawing bitcoin from Britcoin
Post by: willphase on August 02, 2011, 10:33:36 PM
If I try to send bitcoins to an invalid public address (for example, changing one character from upper case to lower case) using the client, it tells me it's an invalid address. This is good.

What happens if I enter an invalid address at Britcoin on the withdraw screen? Will it act similarly, i.e. refuse the transaction and tell me it's invalid? I don't want to experiment because the withdraw amount has to be at least .5 BTC, I believe, and I'm not willing to risk it. :)

britcoin talks to a bitcoind to actually talk to the network.  If britcoin attempts to construct a transaction to an address that is invalid (i.e. the checksum doesn't match) then it will get an error back from bitcoind and should pass this error onto the user.

You can check this by looking at the britcoin source (https://github.com/dooglus/intersango) (since it's open source).

in the meantime, check out the FAQ (https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/FAQ#I_sent_some_bitcoins_and_they_haven.27t_arrived_yet.21_Where_are_they.3F).

Will


Title: Re: Withdrawing bitcoin from Britcoin
Post by: spruce on August 03, 2011, 12:16:03 PM
If I try to send bitcoins to an invalid public address (for example, changing one character from upper case to lower case) using the client, it tells me it's an invalid address. This is good.

What happens if I enter an invalid address at Britcoin on the withdraw screen? Will it act similarly, i.e. refuse the transaction and tell me it's invalid? I don't want to experiment because the withdraw amount has to be at least .5 BTC, I believe, and I'm not willing to risk it. :)

britcoin talks to a bitcoind to actually talk to the network.  If britcoin attempts to construct a transaction to an address that is invalid (i.e. the checksum doesn't match) then it will get an error back from bitcoind and should pass this error onto the user.

You can check this by looking at the britcoin source (https://github.com/dooglus/intersango) (since it's open source).

in the meantime, check out the FAQ (https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/FAQ#I_sent_some_bitcoins_and_they_haven.27t_arrived_yet.21_Where_are_they.3F).

Will

Thanks very much, Will.

I'm not a coder, but this is pretty straightforward in terms of answering my question:

Code:
function bitcoin_withdraw($uid, $amount, $curr_type)
{
    $addy = post('address');
    $bitcoin = connect_bitcoin();
    $validaddy = $bitcoin->validateaddress($addy);
    if (!$validaddy['isvalid'])
        throw new Problem('Bitcoin says no', 'That address you supplied was invalid.');
    syslog(LOG_NOTICE, "address=$addy");
    endlog();