Bitcoin Forum

Alternate cryptocurrencies => Altcoin Discussion => Topic started by: skeeterskeeter on November 02, 2013, 08:59:59 PM



Title: Setting up CGMiner with an Nvidia and AMD GPU installed, specifically GPU map
Post by: skeeterskeeter on November 02, 2013, 08:59:59 PM
I am trying to setup my GPU's so that I can have a crappy little Nvidia 610GT do my video output while my 7950 does some mining.
I think that I need to do is use the gpu-map argument of CGMiner but I am not sure how to use it.

Here is my original list of arguments for just my 7950
Code:
F:\cgminer.exe --scrypt -o URL -u USER -p PASS -I 13 -w 256 --thread-concurrency 22400 -g 1 --auto-fan --auto-gpu --temp-target 79

This is the output produced running the -n switch
http://anonymouse.org/cgi-bin/anon-www.cgi/http://anonymouse.org/cgi-bin/anon-www.cgi/http://anonymouse.org/cgi-bin/anon-www.cgi/http://img820.imageshack.us/img820/6889/kc79.png

Here is the README section for --gpu-map
Quote
--gpu-map <arg>    
Map OpenCL to ADL device order manually, paired CSV (e.g. 1:0,2:1 maps OpenCL 1 to ADL 0, 2 to 1)

I'm not sure what exactly this means.
I also see the -device option, could I possibly ignore the 610GT in CGMiner?

EDIT:

If I run with my original arguments and the
Code:
-gpu-platform 1
argument I can start mining on my 7950 but I cannot get the temprature and fan speed to show up. Which is still a result of the hardware monitoring issue/gpu-map issue. I also cannot view the temperature in GPU-Z either.

Does this mean that --auto-gpu and --auto-fan are not working while I am mining and the fan is just set to full blast?
And how can I see the temperature of the card?



Title: Re: Setting up CGMiner with an Nvidia and AMD GPU installed, specifically GPU map
Post by: Trance on February 05, 2014, 08:44:10 PM
I'm also having the same issue


Title: Re: Setting up CGMiner with an Nvidia and AMD GPU installed, specifically GPU map
Post by: eddilicious on February 06, 2014, 05:22:09 AM
I am also having this issue. using a NVidia for display, the temperature is gone, tried all catalyst and SDK versions, no solution. Before reading this thread, I was thinking of flashing bios or mother board compatibility issues.


Title: Re: Setting up CGMiner with an Nvidia and AMD GPU installed, specifically GPU map
Post by: BrewCrewFan on February 06, 2014, 07:05:38 AM
you can single out the device via the -d flag in your .bat file


So it would be something like:

F:\cgminer.exe --scrypt -o URL -u USER -p PASS -I 13 -w 256 --thread-concurrency 22400 -g 1 --auto-fan --auto-gpu --temp-target 79 -d 1

you need to figure out which device # your ATI card is... i almost bet its going to be -d 1 ...if not then try -d 0


Title: Re: Setting up CGMiner with an Nvidia and AMD GPU installed, specifically GPU map
Post by: AlienBoy on April 02, 2014, 06:35:53 AM

And how can I see the temperature of the card?


I encountered the same problem, I'm running on Win7 and have two displays connected to NVIDIA card and no display to AMD. Seems that Win7 assumes there is no need to have signal output through AMD card and somehow causes the AMD APP not returning info of fan speed/temp.

Here's my workaround:
  • Go to Control Panel -> Display -> Screen Resolution
  • Hit "Detect" button -> you will see a ghost display showed up (not connected)
  • Click on the ghost display -> under "Multiple displays" drop down, select "Try to connect anyway on : VGA" -> apply settings
  • Again, under "Multiple displays" drop down, select Extend these displays -> apply settings
  • Now you have a hidden desktop on the ghost display
  • Run cgminer normally, you should get your stats readings

Hope that helps!