Bitcoin Forum

Alternate cryptocurrencies => Mining (Altcoins) => Topic started by: fiorex on February 11, 2014, 02:32:38 PM



Title: optimizing config for TOXIC R9 280x
Post by: fiorex on February 11, 2014, 02:32:38 PM
Hi all, i assembled a pc for mining, and i bought a 280x TOXIC, this is my actually config file of cgminer
Code:
"no-submit-stale" : true,
"scrypt" : true,
"auto-fan" : true,
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"gpu-Engine" : "0-1150",
"threads-concurrency" : "24576",
"gpu-fan": "0-87",
"gpu-memclock" : "1600",
"intensity" : "13",
"temp-target" : "75",
"temp-overheat" : "85",
"temp-cutoff" : "90",
"worksize" : "256",
"lookup-gap" : "2",

and i obtain only 600k/s... what can i do to improve my performance?
Thanks to all


Title: Re: optimizing config for TOXIC R9 280x
Post by: fiorex on February 11, 2014, 06:20:56 PM
Anyone can help me?
Thanks


Title: Re: optimizing config for TOXIC R9 280x
Post by: crazyates on February 11, 2014, 09:40:08 PM
Try these:

Code:
"no-submit-stale" : true,
"scrypt" : true,
"gpu-threads" : "2",
"gpu-Engine" : "1040",
"threads-concurrency" : "8193",
"gpu-fan": "80",
"gpu-memclock" : "1500",
"intensity" : "13",
"worksize" : "256",
"lookup-gap" : "2",

A few pointers:

Do not use the 14.1 drivers. Us the 13.12 drivers instead.
Don't use temp-target or any other temp monitoring software. Don't run GPU-z. Just set the fan, and go.
Keep your TC @ 8191-8193, and use 2 threads. I find 8193 works the best.
Keep your memory at 1500. OCing your memory is only worth it if you can reach speeds of >1800, which your toxic card might do, but most cards wont.
Start at 1040 core, and bump it up by 5MHz until your hashrate drops. Then back your OC down, and run those settings.
See if The Stilt has a modified BIOS for your card. This will adjust the RAM timings, allowing you to OC higher before the hashrate drops off.
Download and use SGMiner 4.1.0. This will allow you to use the Zuikkis kernel. (don't mess with xI, tho. I:13 is still the best for these cards). Again, this should allow you to OC more before dropping off.

Our GB 280x Rev 2 moved from 710 to 745khs using all of these steps.


Title: Re: optimizing config for TOXIC R9 280x
Post by: fiorex on February 12, 2014, 04:40:18 PM
thanks for the reply, i installed the 13.12 driver and amd app sdk.. i changed my config with yours and i installed sgminer... but my khash is already 560... Why?
Thanks


Title: Re: optimizing config for TOXIC R9 280x
Post by: nfuse on February 12, 2014, 08:03:05 PM
just use this and you will have between 700 and 750 kh/s

"no-submit-stale" : true,
"scrypt" : true,
"gpu-threads" : "2",
"gpu-Engine" : "1090",
"threads-concurrency" : "8192",
"gpu-fan": "80",
"gpu-memclock" : "1500",
"intensity" : "13",
"worksize" : "256",
"lookup-gap" : "2",

or for cgminer (easyer for me ;) with trixx setting speed for mem and clock @ core 1090 and 1500 mem

cgminer --scrypt -o url:port -u username -p password  --thread-concurrency 8192 --worksize 256 -g 2 -I 13 --lookup-gap 2 --shaders 2048 -s 1 --expiry 1 --queue 0 --no-submit-stale



Title: Re: optimizing config for TOXIC R9 280x
Post by: crazyates on February 12, 2014, 08:45:15 PM
thanks for the reply, i installed the 13.12 driver and amd app sdk.. i changed my config with yours and i installed sgminer... but my khash is already 560... Why?
Thanks
When you're in cgminer, press "G". How many threads does it show running? One or two?


Title: Re: optimizing config for TOXIC R9 280x
Post by: bitwho on February 12, 2014, 09:45:59 PM
anyone has any optimum settings?  Please post your configurations


Title: Re: optimizing config for TOXIC R9 280x
Post by: bitwho on February 13, 2014, 12:19:35 AM
bump


Title: Re: optimizing config for TOXIC R9 280x
Post by: crazyates on February 13, 2014, 04:28:32 AM
anyone has any optimum settings?  Please post your configurations
You have two people telling you the same thing.

TC of 8192, but make sure you use 2 threads, not the standard 1. Use "--gpu-threads 2" or "-g 2" in your command, or add " "gpu-threads" : "2", " to your config file.


Title: Re: optimizing config for TOXIC R9 280x
Post by: retek on February 13, 2014, 11:59:37 AM
I can confirmi these are the best settings: with 1500 mem clock, you can undervolt it too.
I'm succesfully using bfgminer.


Title: Re: optimizing config for TOXIC R9 280x
Post by: fiorex on February 26, 2014, 01:28:16 AM
Finally i've got 765 kh/s with my 280x... I undervolt it at 1.1V from 1.256... Seems to be ok but this morning i see hw:17 in sgminer...
Why? Anyone van help me?
Thanks!!


Title: Re: optimizing config for TOXIC R9 280x
Post by: skleven on February 26, 2014, 03:28:16 PM
My Toxic is mining at a little over 800kh/s. Kept it simple. Full voltage, e:1130 m:1850. i13  ;)


Title: Re: optimizing config for TOXIC R9 280x
Post by: fiorex on February 26, 2014, 03:31:10 PM
My Toxic is mining at a little over 800kh/s. Kept it simple. Full voltage, e:1130 m:1850. i13  ;)
But your kh/watt is not too convenient!


Title: Re: optimizing config for TOXIC R9 280x
Post by: skleven on February 26, 2014, 03:40:33 PM
My Toxic is mining at a little over 800kh/s. Kept it simple. Full voltage, e:1130 m:1850. i13  ;)
But your kh/watt is not too convenient!

Pay a flat rate on electricity, so it`s not in any way an issue.


Title: Re: optimizing config for TOXIC R9 280x
Post by: fiorex on February 28, 2014, 11:25:09 AM
You're right! But are you an idea why my card give me error insidie sgminer?!?
Thanks!


Title: Re: optimizing config for TOXIC R9 280x
Post by: skleven on February 28, 2014, 07:08:34 PM
You're right! But are you an idea why my card give me error insidie sgminer?!?
Thanks!

Sorry. Can`t help you with that. I only use cgminer.  :-\


Title: Re: optimizing config for TOXIC R9 280x
Post by: fiorex on February 28, 2014, 07:40:00 PM
This is same programs!


Title: Re: optimizing config for TOXIC R9 280x
Post by: skleven on March 02, 2014, 12:26:42 AM
Here is mine: cgminer.exe --scrypt  -o stratum+tcp://stratum-us.doge.hashfaster.com:3339 -u XXXXX -p XXXXX -I 13 --scrypt --worksize 256 -g 2 --thread-concurrency 8192

The rest i tune in cgminer (3.4.2) because i run different cards on the same rig.

AMD driver 13.11


Title: Re: optimizing config for TOXIC R9 280x
Post by: Minerist on March 02, 2014, 10:12:47 PM
OP looks like a troll to me  ???